We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Ranked #16 of 465 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Stayed recently for 4D3N as a family holiday during the Lebaran holiday week. Check-in was fast and was taken up to the Horizon Lounge on Level 23. Was hoping to score a free upgrade (booked a Horizon club room) but no luck. Room was on Level 25 and had a view of the pool and facing south. Furnishing quality was good although looked rather dated. Had some difficulties operating the LCD TV but otherwise everything worked properly and bathroom was spotless.

For the duration of the stay, the family and I used the Horizon Lounge facilities substantially and found the staff to be very warm and helpful. Snacks and drinks that were served throughout the day was good. Cocktail hours provided a great alternative to a heavy dinner at one of the hotel's restaurants and best part was that food and drinks were complimentary if staying at Horizon floor rooms. Breakfast at the Lounge was such a peaceful and relaxing experience as compared to breakfast at Satoo. While Satoo had more variety, food quality is comparable between those 2 places.

The swimming pool was inviting and lots of families used this facility. The only gripe would be the inadequate number of loungers or deck chairs. The management should also consider putting up a sail to provide shade as what is currently done at the Shangri-La Golden Sands Hotel in Penang as this will allow a longer swimming time out of the tropical sun.

Interaction with the hotel staff was a joy and pleasure. All went out of their way to ensure my family and I were comfortable and taken care off. The ladies at the Horizon Lounge reception are worth special mention and all are a credit to the Shangri-La brand.

Hotel is sited off the main road of Jl. Sudirman and it's easy enough to get to nearby malls (of which there are plenty). We stayed during the Lebaran holidays so traffic was non-existent. Usually it will be quite a hassle getting in and out of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliK75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    403
    81
    31
    16
See reviews for
196
113
95
913
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Having previously read the reviews on Tripadvisor, I think they must have been written by the hotel staff ! My recent one night stay was in a room that was tired, outdated, and offerred less amenities than your average 3 star hotel ! On top, after a long flight from overseas and arriving late at night I was unceremoniously dumped in a room next to the elevator, which provided constant noise and vibration throughout the night. Yes, I moved on to a different hotel next day.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel, as this one is hiding behind the success of it's brand in other countries...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank exectraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Excellent hotel for business, good also for leisure travellers. Rooms are well equipped and spacious. Service overall is excellent. Nice gym and spa, outside swimming pool and garden. Security is tight, they will stop and search every single car or taxi, which I think is very wise. Taxi are available, however avoid pick hours as u might end up waiting long time, Jakarta traffic is terrible.

Room Tip: Opt for Horizon club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxgerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I really loved this hotel. I found that Jakarta isn't really a place you just walk around, so it's good to have a lot of options where you're staying. There are a lot of restaurants, the pool is fabulous as is breakfast, and happy hour in the Horizon Lounge is great. The people there were great and security was very tight there. I felt very safe while I was there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedSavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

If I could give a half rating I would, since this hotel really meets every expectation I would have of a business hotel and the fact that they have free in room internet really makes it almost the perfect business hotel in Jakarta.

Enough has been said of the breakfast and I would agree that it is probably amongst the better ones in Indonesia.

The gym was being refurbishedand it was still probably the best and most complete hotel gym I have been to so far and I dare say rivals FitnessFirst even.

The only real issue I have is of the rooms itself and that they are somewhat old( this opinion probably somewhat swayed by my stays in 2 practically new hotels just before this) Like somebody said earlier despite the age they probably still have amongst the best most complete rooms in Jakarta.

Room Tip: Wake up for Breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heenja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
288 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The Shangri-La chain of hotels is always comfortable and reliable and the same is true of their property in Jakarta.

I travel to Jakarta quite often and mostly stay at the Shangri-La. Their rooms are comfortable, facilities like the pool are quite good and the food options are excellent. The Shang Palace serves some of the best chinese food I have had, Rosso serves fairly good Italian food, the lobby lounge is a great place to relax and meet people in the evening and the Satoo cafe has a smorgasbord of options, making you wish you didnt have to rush for a meeting but had all the time in the world to sample everything on offer. In particular I love their mango birscher muesli and never fail to have it when I'm staying there!

The staff are very charming and helpful and always have a smile on their faces. The hotel is also conveniently located from some of the best malls in the city - 20 mins by cab, given normal traffic. But then again there is nothing normal about traffic in Jakarta.

One of the best Shangri-La properties I have stayed at!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Excellent hotel, security careful, service perfect, rooms well equipped, good restaurants, nice swimming pools. I suggests to take the rooms with The horizon club admission enclosed. You can have a complimetary quiet breakfast in the club as well a very rich buffet with drinks during evening (again complimentary)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GR58Roma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#7 of 465 in Jakarta
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Raffles Jakarta
#1 of 465 in Jakarta
419 reviews
Menteng
Grand Hyatt Jakarta
Grand Hyatt Jakarta
#18 of 465 in Jakarta
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Address: Jl Jend Sudiman Kav. 1 | Kota BNI, Jakarta 10220, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Tanah Abang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#9 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#12 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#15 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
#15 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 618
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of best in the category of Luxury Hotels by 2012 Trip Advisor's Travelers Choice Award, Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta is strategically located in the centre of Jakarta’s Sudirman business district. The hotel is an established luxurious oasis that offers easy access to the very best of Jakarta, easily accessed within 45 minutes away from Soekarno-Hatta International Airport. The hotel comprises 661 guest rooms, including 40 suites, 118 Horizon Club rooms and 60 interconnecting rooms.All rooms give an access to spectacular city views.Embark upon an international culinary adventure at SATOO’s open-kitchen buffet, savour the stylish Italian dishes at Rosso or taste authentic Cantonese cuisine at Shang Palace. Sample sushi and Japanese flavours at Nishimura or indulge in New York-style oversized steaks, pizza and burgers at B.A.T.S.Get toned and energised in our fully equipped state-of-the-art fitness centre, which hosts the highest standard facilities, from the latest high-tech exercise equipment, a multi-purpose workout studio and a convenient lounge bar to the outdoor tennis courts and swimming pool surrounded by a lush garden oasis. Featuring one of the most luxurious private spas in the city, the spa facilities at Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri La Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing