We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dharmawangsa - Time for Renovation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dharmawangsa Jakarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dharmawangsa Jakarta
Ranked #14 of 453 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dharmawangsa - Time for Renovation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

I have been staying at the Dharmawangsa Hotel since 1998 and I noticed that during my last visit the rooms are getting old. We also got brown water coming out from the bathtube tap. I think it is time for this hotel to undergo a renovation. The hotel also should install wifi in the common areas. The restaurant doesnt have any wifi coverage.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerkwijk1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    62
    21
    3
    6
See reviews for
37
47
35
207
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We recently spent three nights here during a business trip. The Dharmawangsa was a haven of peace and quiet in the middle of a hectic city. Service was outstanding, especially our personal butler. Rooms were enormous and luxurious, although I believe we had an upgraded suite. Bar and meal facilities, and countless places to have a cup of tea/coffee, divine pool area, just wish we had more time to unwind and actullay enjoy the facilities. Irritants...free wifi should be a prerequisite for ALL international hotels, would be such a small but necessary inclusion a everyone relys on communication now.

Room Tip: We had a room ovelooking the pool, and while we rarely used our small verandah, the option was there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 60gbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel is a sanctuary of Javanese culture nestled in the heart of Jakarta. The services are excellent and the facilities are top of the class. Hotel room is very spacious and very well furnished. The hotel's restaurant served outstanding cuisine.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with view to the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rendyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I found that Dharmawangsa is one of the great hotels but not the best yet. The building and the room are fantastic but there are factors that makes the hotel is not comfortable enough for business travellers.
"My expectations of how good a hotel for travellers nowadays " must have free WiFi in all rooms and having great food taste for basic menu,
You can imagine while the location is a bit secluded but the food and drink were so.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellab0ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I've stayed at the Dharma 5 times in the last 3 years, on busy trips. Yes it's a haven of piece and quiet in a hectic city. Yes the restaurant food is outstanding (try the laksa please). And yet I can't quite warm to the place.

- Low level lighting everywhere. Even in the rooms. You can't seem to get a bright light to work under anywhere.
- The internal decor. All marble and dark wood. It's... gloomy at night.
- The prices. USD200 for a basic room, ++? And that's after negotiating them down?

It just doesn't feel good value. And I have a company paying for it. I'm afraid I'm going to be looking for something else in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dundonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is a jewel in the heart of Jakarta. The decor is grand and traditional. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Right from the airport pickup to the hotel coffee shop to the laundry, the service has been impeccable. The hotel has a large well-equipped gym with a squash court and two pools. The room was probably the most spacious across any hotel that I have stayed in so far. Rooms are quiet but accessible, thanks to good location and design.
Being vegetarians, my colleagues and I were a bit apprehensive about food options. But the hotel coffee shop staff put our concerns to rest. We had the most amazing local and international vegetarian food ! Special mention about coffee shop staff Tommy who made our meal even more enjoyable.
Definitely coming back here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rekha0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Eventhough, im living here in Jakarta... i love to have a weekend escape to more remote places in Jakarta and Dharmawangsa hotel has been one of my most favorite places to spend my quite time!

There's a lot of positive experience that i've encountered in this hotel. Firstly, I LOVE the pool very much! It's very relaxing and very environmentally friendly. In other hand they also have a very nice restaurant to have lunch in, where you can get a very green garden view. Secondly, the staffs there is very friendly and they really provide a 5 star service for their costumers! Lastly, this experience is like finding a resort heaven in the middle of the buzzling metropolitan city.

This will definitely be the place where i'll spend my weekends.

Room Tip: try your best to book the room with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evangelistarach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#2 of 453 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Raffles Jakarta
#1 of 453 in Jakarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Menteng
Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Melia Jakarta
#15 of 453 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dharmawangsa Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dharmawangsa Jakarta

Property: The Dharmawangsa Jakarta
Address: Jln. Brawijaya Raya 26, Jakarta 12160, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Kebayoran Baru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#11 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#12 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#13 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#14 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dharmawangsa Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dharmawangsa Jakarta, a luxurious 5-star hotel, is set in a peaceful prestigious oasis of serenity and timeless architectural design which exemplifies the Indonesian aspiration to be thoroughly modern yet distinct at the same time. You will discover our luxurious 100-rooms hotel, set on a 4.2 hectares of land, located strategically in an upscale leafy area in Kebayoran Baru, South Jakarta. It is 5 km to the Central Business District, the nearest five-star hotel from the new Central Business District (TB Simatupang), and 35 km from the Soekarno-Hatta International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Dharmawangsa Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dharmawangsa Hotel Jakarta
Dharmawangsa Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing