We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pampered comfort in Jakarta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dharmawangsa Jakarta
Ranked #13 of 465 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Katy, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pampered comfort in Jakarta”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Dharmawangsa is a wonderful oasis in Jakarta. The hotel and grounds are lovely and the rooms are very nice. The food was very good, and the chocolate martini's are "to die for". The pool area is very well kept and a great way to spend a relaxing afternoon.

The service is over-the-top luxurious, and reinforces the overall feeling of luxury and pampering. The butler service is great! Yet the hotel is very reasonably priced, even for an upgraded room (which I recommend).

I'd definitely stay here again and would recommend it to friends and associates.

Room Tip: Pay for an upgraded room near the pool. The rooms in the wings get a bit of street traffic. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    65
    21
    3
    6
See reviews for
39
49
35
218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The Dharmawangsa is in a residential neighborhood in South Jakarta and has been around since the late 1990s but they have been able to maintain it quite well. It used to be an old mint ( where they printed money) before it was converted to its present use. Security is quite tight and there aren't a lot of walk-ins. No huge crowds here. If you're after a "happening place," this isn't the place for you. No nighttime entertainment here, maybe except for quiet drinks at the bar. The Dharmawangsa appeals to people who want a serene and quiet place throughout the day.

The hotel's exteriors and interiors reflect an understated elegant, old world charm and one feels that things are where they should be. Indonesisan architecture and antiques and a floral scent are prevalent throughout the hotel. A large, beautiful pool is set in a lush garden at the back. Unobtrusive and friendly service from the staff. You don't see much of the other guests maybe except at the restaurant. The breakfast spread has Western, Indonesian and Chinese offerings. I like the choice of fresh tropical fruit juices, especially the melon juice.

The rooms and bathrooms are huge by any standard. They're even bigger than so called suites in some hotels. Room amenities are very good and thoughtful. The room thermostat needed some work though. I tried setting it to 21 degrees Celsius but it won't go above 18 degrees. Room rates are a little steep for Asia but still reasonable.

The Dharmawangsa is a quiet civilized sanctuary in busy Jakarta.

Room Tip: Choose a room wih a view of the backyard and pool. Nice to wake up to the chirping of birds. For t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marianojohntan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were not staying here, but wanted to try out the hotel Library Bar. It had enormously high ceilings with a whole wall of unsurprisingly, books.
We had a Gin & Tonic, a Coffee Cocktail, a beer and glass of wine. The service was incredible and very polished.
Next time we will stay here. The front entrance security and armed guards were most impressive and reassuring.
Cost was Rupiah 937,000

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I had stayed at The Dharmawangsa 10 years ago, and was looking forward to a couple of nights in its huge rooms and immense bathrooms stocked with nice-smelling lotions and potions artfully displayed in antique silver and glass sugar shakers and perfume bottles. So I was a bit disappointed at the disposable bottles in our bathroom (albeit filled with nice smelling lotions and potions). The marble showers, curtains and bed skirts are beginning to look a little tired, and the towels and bathrobes may be white but they sure aren't that fluffy anymore. And having to pay for Internet connection is REALLY penny-pinching in this day and age when every coffee shop offers it free!

Despite that, the pools and gardens are magnificent, and the breakfast has everything you could wish for (except bacon!), including the chef at the omelette station who got my eggs just right! All the staff were very helpful and professional.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The grounds of this hotel are very well done. Lots of foliage and a nice nature feel. You almost forget it's Jakarta until you snap back to reality with the sounds of traffic all around you. I arrived here exhausted from a late night flight out of Perth to Singapore, a wait at Singapore and then into Jakarta by early morning. The room was nice but outside my window there was some kind of painting and construction going on. I couldn't get any kind of rest due to the banging.

The next morning I asked about a change and by the time I got back from the office they had me in a huge suite. That room put my first one to shame with large, heavy wooden doors opening to a bathroom the size of my first bedroom. This must have been a deluxe suite. The staff apologized for the construction and the noise quite well with this upgrade.

When I logged on to the wifi with my phone and computer it billed me for both but the staff graciously took that off at the end without my even asking.

Even though there are metal detectors and guards with automatic weapons at the gates, there's never any sense of fear. Most times we never even had to go through the metal detector.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rezker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We treated ourselves to a weekend getawy at this hotel although we only live twenty minutes away. It has always been a place we admired and would like to stay as we had dined there often and enjoyed it. The grounds are lovely and the rooms are spacious. We all got a good nights sleep and enjoyed the facilities (pool, tennis court, playgorund) the hotel had to offer. The lounge area is a special place and you can easily 'waste' an afternoon away sipping the chocolate martini's and nibbling the delicious snacks. You also feel very safe within the hotel grounds. Unfortunately the stay did not start or end well - upon check in we did not get rooms side by side as specifically requested and promised - when checking out the rate which was quoted in writing was not what was charged. These administrative gliches were worked out but distracted from a very relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: The hotel often hosts large weddign and parties. Try to get a room at the back (overlooks the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Impressive from the first moment. Extremely attentive service - from the moment you check in .. Impressive and well appointed rooms - I've stayed twice. The last time I had a 2 room suite that was super, this time a junior suite, but still really special. Great restaurant options.. and really good spa service. I had been wanting a deep hydrating facial for months and the one I received was amazing. The pool area is very pretty and the grounds are impeccably kept. You will be safe as well which is very important. The hotel is gated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#7 of 465 in Jakarta
314 reviews
Raffles Jakarta
#1 of 465 in Jakarta
419 reviews
Tanah Abang
Fairmont Jakarta
Fairmont Jakarta
#4 of 465 in Jakarta
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
#16 of 465 in Jakarta
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dharmawangsa Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dharmawangsa Jakarta

Property: The Dharmawangsa Jakarta
Address: Jl. Brawijaya Raya 26, Jakarta 12160, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Kebayoran Baru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#11 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#12 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#12 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
#12 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dharmawangsa Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dharmawangsa Jakarta, a luxurious 5-star hotel, is set in a peaceful prestigious oasis of serenity and timeless architectural design which exemplifies the Indonesian aspiration to be thoroughly modern yet distinct at the same time. You will discover our luxurious 100-rooms hotel, set on a 4.2 hectares of land, located strategically in an upscale leafy area in Kebayoran Baru, South Jakarta. It is 5 km to the Central Business District, the nearest five-star hotel from the new Central Business District (TB Simatupang), and 35 km from the Soekarno-Hatta International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dharmawangsa Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dharmawangsa Hotel Jakarta
Dharmawangsa Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing