We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Jakarta
Ranked #38 of 456 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Liyang, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Due to its convenient location, it comes to my most frequently stayed hotel in Jakata. I did have good experience in the single room, while this time the twin-bed room is a different story. The bathtub outlet is rusty and there are scraches all over, the outlets beside the table are not working at all, the window of the room is dirty...

I'll it has outstanding breakfast buffet and very good restaurant, but the room facilities are definitely need to be improved.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adonis0418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isrin_virgasari, Manager at Le Meridien Jakarta, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear adonis0418,

Thank you for the great feedback you have provided. We are proud having you as our loyal guest and your feedbacks are greatly valued. We really appreciate your comments about hotel's location, foods and restaurant. Thank you for your input and concern about some room facilities, we apologize for the unpleasant experience during your stay with us. i'm pleased to inform you that gradually over the next 2 years we will be redesigning and renovating our older rooms. Le Meridien Jakarta is actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable. We hope we have another opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Isrin Virgasari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    450
    168
    35
    18
See reviews for
84
70
93
610
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

The room was worn out, rumpled, old carpet, mould in places in the bathroom, the base of one half of the king-sized bed was clearly broken, and generally tired decorations. In addition, the place is crawling with women plying their trade in the oldest profession. My wife joined me on this trip (a rare thing) but left after one night, upset with the condition & clientele of the hotel. Definitely not up to Le Meridien standards.

Room Tip: Make sure you're not overlooking the abandoned construction site next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HKEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isrin_virgasari, Manager at Le Meridien Jakarta, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear HKEddie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Le Meridien Jakarta. We also appreciate you let us know where we can improve and I already forwarded to management for review your comments. Pleased to inform you that gradually over the next 2 years we will be redesigning and renovating our older rooms.Thank you for allowing us to learn from your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Le Meridien Jakarta.

Kind regards,
Isrin Virgasari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel is centrally located but that means its in the heart of the jam if you leave/ come back at the wrong time of the day. The rooms and corridors need refreshing and the odd angles seem to be a waste. The spa experience was so so. All the therapy rooms are singles only as a warning to future guests.

On the bright side the reception staff were top notch and about the only thing worthy of the Le Merdien branding.

Here's hoping for change.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linlaupeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isrin_virgasari, Manager at Le Meridien Jakarta, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear linlaupeh,

Thank you for your input and concern, we really appreciate your positive comments about our location and top services from our reception staff. Also Thank you for bringing to our attention the issue with hotel facilities which not meet your expectation and allowing us to learn from your experience. Your comments will give us an opportunity to review our processes to ensure we don't inconvenience our guest in the future. We hope we have another opportunity to welcome you back to Le Meridien Jakarta.

Best regards,
Isrin Virgasari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
117 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Service is good as usual. I booked on spg.com and check in was prompt which is a real boon after a whole day of meetings. The Internet is free but connection is slow at times which is common in this country. The bed is comfortable and had wonderfully soft pillows. I liked the 24 hour gym which is well equipped. Only down side is the the hotel is feeling old. The doors look scratched and worn, shower head was looking crusty, wood work fading and carpet looking in need of a refresh.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dustbusters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isrin_virgasari, Manager at Le Meridien Jakarta, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Dustbusters,

It is really great to hear from you and we do thank you for your review of Le Meridien Jakarta.
We really appreciate your comments about our services, check-in process, internet access and 24 hour gym. Also Thank you for bringing to our attention the issue with room and some, some facilities need to be updated and allowing us to learn from your experience. I am pleased to inform you that gradually over the next 2 years we will be redesigning and renovating our older rooms. We hope we have another opportunity to welcome you back to Le Meridien Jakarta.

Best regards,
Isrin Virgasari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I have stayed here 3 times in the last month, the hotel is fine, however, I expect more from a Le Meridien, for example the one in Bangkok is OUTSTANDING. This hotel is convenient to get around Jakarta, they have a helpful and kind staff. The hotel food in the 3 restaurants is really very good. The rooms are a bit tired and could use some new features added, however, they do have the Westin style bed that is comfortable and full of pillows. I will continue to come here is there is good value for money, the food is good, and it is very clean and quiet.

Room Tip: The rooms are older, but try to get on the SPG Floors they are in better shape. The Bar Downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHSBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isrin_virgasari, Manager at Le Meridien Jakarta, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear CHSBangkok,

We would like to thank you for your comments during your stay with us and always support Le Meridien Jakarta. We are very pleased that you have had a great time, enjoyed our foods and signature Le Meridien Bed. We really appreciate your positive comments about our location, kind staff and cleanliness. Regarding the guestroom; I am glad to inform you that gradually over the next 2 years we will be redesigning and renovating our older rooms. We are much look forward to welcoming you back to Le Meridien Jakarta in the near future.

Best regards,
Isrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I would describe this hotel as "a proper 4 star business hotel". However it neither plays on a 5 star level, nor has anything to do with the Le Meridien brand. As mentioned by other guests, this hotel is in desperate need of a rennovation.
It's located centrally. The service was quite good; the rooms tidy and clean. Really nice are the bar at the lobby "Le Rendevouz" with live music in the evening and the lebanese restaurant "Al Nafoura". Especially the last one ist truely outstanding in terms of atmosphere, food and service!
The bar / club "Tiga Puluh" seems to be a left-over of the 80's. Really dodgy place with more freelancers than guests. This place belongs into a red-light district, not into a "5 star hotel".

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Danieltravelus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isrin_virgasari, Manager at Le Meridien Jakarta, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Daniel B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Le Meridien Jakarta. We really appreciate your comments about our services and food. We also appreciate your comments on areas we can improve, your feedback is very important to us and allows us to learn from your experience. We hope we have another opportunity to welcome you back to Le Meridien Jakarta.

Best regards,
Isrin Virgasari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed at this a couple of months and I stayed again in Feb 2013. Loved the hospitality and the service. The club "Tiga Puluh" is in a class of itself. The restaurant with open air spaces is amazing. Would love to come back any time I visit jakarta.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjaypkothari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isrin_virgasari, Manager at Le Meridien Jakarta, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Sanjaypkothari,

Thank you for taking your valuable time in writing your real feeling about hospitality and the service. We are so exciting to know that our guest has a great time at Le Meridien Jakarta.
We are much look forward to welcoming you back on future visits.

Best Regards,
Isrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Century Park Hotel
#43 of 456 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Menteng
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
#42 of 456 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Crowne Plaza Hotel Jakarta
#121 of 456 in Jakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sawah Besar
Hotel Borobudur Jakarta
Hotel Borobudur Jakarta
#23 of 456 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Tanah Abang
The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta
Tanah Abang
AYANA Midplaza JAKARTA
AYANA Midplaza JAKARTA
#36 of 456 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Jakarta

Property: Le Meridien Jakarta
Address: Jln. Jendral Sudirman, Jakarta 10220, Indonesia (Formerly Le Meridien Jakarta)
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Tanah Abang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#26 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#29 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#36 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Jakarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Jakarta sits at the heart of the city’s golden triangle.Offering 396 rooms, the hotel exemplifies intimate luxury in a chic Javanese inspired environment. The hotel features an all-day dining restaurant, specialty restaurants serving delicious Lebanese and Japanese Cuisine, two bars—and a world class spa and fitness centre with Asian massage treatments, sauna and whirlpool. The fully renovated main ballroom, called SasonoMulyo, is thoughtfully designed and luxuriously appointed with a capacity up to 1000 guests—an ideal venue for wedding celebrations, corporate events and large-scale functions. A full range of audio, visual equipment and High Speed Internet Access is provided in 10 other meeting venues designed for 10 to 150 persons.Le Méridien Jakarta also features a penthouse suite featuring a 100-year old, handcrafted Kudus House; an intricately carved structure made from teak wood. Le MeridienClub encompasses the top four floors of the hotel tower, and the Club Lounge is on the 20th floor, providing spectacular views of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Jakarta Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing