We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,131)
Filter reviews
1,131 results
Traveler rating
388
507
178
38
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
388
507
178
38
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslebanese restaurantal nafouratiga puluhla brasseriemiddle eastern restaurantthe club loungespg platinuman older hotelbit datedbusiness tripbusiness hotelbusiness districtjunior suitebreakfast buffetcentral locationcoffee shophotel staff
Filter
Updating list...
654 - 659 of 1,131 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Due to the flood, we were not able to reach our hotel at Thamrin. Checked into Le Meridien as it was in the dry strip. Service from each & every staff we encountered were excellent, even at 4am when we checked in.

The suite room however needs major renovation. It is too old, stucked in the 80's. It is not in line with the Le Meridien image I expected. I find the lobby toilet modern & I can't help but think why can't they do up their room & bathroom just like the lobby?

Tried their Lebanese restaurant, service attentive & we did enjoy our meal. Service is great but room was a major letdown.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mulberry79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isrin_virgasari, Manager at Le Meridien Jakarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Mulberry79,

Thank you for choosing Le Meridien Jakarta for your recent stay and sharing your input and concern at Tripadvisor.com. We apologize for the unpleasant experience during your stay with us. Regarding the bathroom and suite room at main building; I am glad to inform you that gradually over the next 2 years we will be redesigning and renovating our older rooms. For your next stay, may I suggest you to book club room at Tower Building. We hope we have another opportunity to welcome you back to Le Meridien Jakarta.

Best regards,
Isrin Virgasari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Le Meridien is like an old friend: reliable, consistent, and.... well, aging. I have been coming off and on to Jakarta for business (is there any other reason to come to Jakarta?) for over 7 years, and while I have tried several other places during that time, I keep returning to Le Meridien. All the staff have the infectious Indonesian smile and grace, and are most welcoming. The food is nicely influenced by the French association, and the buffets at breakfast and dinner are well stocked with a multitude of options. I have stayed in both the regular rooms and the Club Level rooms, and both are good value for the money. Further, it does pay to be a Starwood Frequent Sleeper as there are a few added perks.

As for the "aging" part, the facilities have been criticized on this site for being old. That is in fact somewhat true. Despite nice efforts over the years to "put on more make up", the rooms are from a slightly different era and like old friends, you can only dress them up so much. They/We are still old! I find them most adequate. They are most certainly NOT Restoration Hardware slick and shiny, but when combined with the very nice Indonesian cultural elements in the lobby and elsewhere, this hotel has a smaller hotel charm that is not found in other chain properties. Also, the hotel is not too big such that the place does not seem too crowded. (They could probably eliminate the sculpture of the bald eagle with a fish in its talons in the lobby, which has a distinctive Elk's Lodge #467 feeling to it!) Depending on the room's location, you get a great view of an abandoned high rise construction site, which has been unchanged since I have been coming here. But again, you don't come to Jakarta for the views and since there is no work being done on the place, it does not offer any loud distractions. There are plenty of other things throughout Jakarta that do, including the calls to prayer. Wherever you stay, and have problems with outside noise, be sure to bring ear plugs.

I am a regular user of both the gym and pool. The gym has new equipment and is thus most acceptable. And as an avid swimmer, the 20 meter pool is at the lower limit of a good 2000 meter morning workout. I am not a night owl so have had no experience with the night club in the basement. Though I have eaten at the Middle Eastern restaurant in the hotel (which is very good) and been impressed with the occasional belly dancer.

If you have a big business expense account and corporate arrangements at other chains, you will probably want to stay at those properties. Le Meridien on the other hand, is nicely priced for the smaller budgeted business traveler, and well situated on the perimeter of the central business zone (thereby offering a dodge, if required, of the 3 passenger rule). Also, being perceived as French, that is NOT American, it avoids one other cautionary stigmatism; namely, it is not a "target".

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PWS312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isrin_virgasari, Manager at Le Meridien Jakarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear PWS312,

I would like to extend my sincere gratitude for taking the time to give your wonderful review upon your stay in Trip Advisor. We are proud having you as our loyal guest and your feedback are greatly valued. It is an honored to be able to give our best service and distinctive experience to you while you were staying with us. We are very pleased that you have had a great time. We have conveyed your review to our associates who were also very proud to be able to provide delightful service to you. We also appreciate your comments on areas we can improve. Once again, thank you for your visit and comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Isrin Virgasari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Rooms are spacious and clean, as are bathrooms. Public areas are a little dated but staff are most helpful and friendly and go out of their way to be of assistance. The hotel is centrally located and convenient for those doing business in the city.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, Club Floor is recommended. Delicious breakfasts and pre-dinner drinks and snacks included in room rate.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zojanahage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isrin_virgasari, Manager at Le Meridien Jakarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Zojanahage,

Thank you for taking your valuable time in writing your real feeling about the service and facilities. We are so exciting to know that our guest has a great time at Le Meridien Jakarta especially at Club Lounge. We also appreciate your comments on areas we can improve, your feedback is very important to us and allows us to learn from your experience. We are much look forward to welcoming you back to Le Meridien Jakarta on future visits.

Best regards,
Isrin Virgasari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I've been staying at this hotel during the flood in Jakarta , but the location of this hotel very save from the flood and crazy traffic jam in Jakarta .

Located at the enter of business district area in Jakarta , not far from everywhere , central , south , west and every where .

the interior is very Indonesia , in many way !!! the room was ok , the bathroom was ok too . the food hmmm YUMMY !!!

i do really really recomended this hotel very much ! the best location , the best room , the best food , the staff are nice and friendly , the atmosphere of Indonesia in every where , everything . the rate was so reasonable ! will be back again , i promise :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruffiole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isrin_virgasari, Manager at Le Meridien Jakarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Ruffiole,

Thank you for your great feedback of your recent stay at Le Meridien Jakarta. We are very pleased that you have had a great time during your staying with us and it’s always great to hear that you enjoyed our service and facilities especially the interior which very Indonesia. Your review helps to boost our associates' confidence and willingness to always improve their sincere service. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Isrin Virgasari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I've been staying for 7 years (4 - 8 stays per year) and I don't mind this hotel despite it having a tired feel. My last stay was early january 2013.

The deluxe rooms in the tower are the better ones to book, they've been recently refurbished and are a bit more modern.

This is an old hotel so don't book here if you are looking for something swanky. But I do like the homey feel that the Le Mer has and the staff definitely make it - they are great and so willing to help.

The executive lounge on Level 20 of the tower is excellent and one of the better ones amongst the SPG hotels that I visit, comfortable, good wifi, spacious and a good selection of snacks and drinks. It also has a really nice view.

The hotel is currently undergoing a few renovations which might cause some disruption. In reality management ought to embark on large scale renovations to ensure that this continues to be a popular hotel in a prime location.

Room Tip: Worth paying the little extra to get into the deluxe rooms in the tower.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benwMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isrin_virgasari, Manager at Le Meridien Jakarta, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear benwMelbourne,

Thank you for your kind words about our service and facilities at Le Meridien Jakarta. We are proud having you as our loyal guest and your feedbacks are greatly valued. It is an honored to be able to give our best service and distinctive experience to you while you were staying with us. Yes Sir, you are correct! Le Meridien Jakarta is actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable. I am glad to inform you that gradually over the next 2 years we will be redesigning and renovating our superior rooms. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Isrin Virgasari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews