We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel conveniently located in Jakarta” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alila Jakarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alila Jakarta
Ranked #25 of 453 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good hotel conveniently located in Jakarta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Nice and clean hotel with comfortable beds in Jakarta. Good basis to go and visit some of the museums and the old harbour area in the north of Jakarta.
Great views from the top floors (ask for a room at the top of the hotel).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FreekAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, General Manager at Alila Jakarta, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear FreekAmsterdam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your brief feedback during your recent stay with us.

Being centrally located to the nearby "kota area" where the museums and old harbour district are located, requires us to have comfortable beds to allow for a good rest after a busy day of sightseeing. I am happy to know you enjoyed our comfortable rooms and clean facilities.

Wishing you happy journeys and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,



Andrew Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    354
    87
    21
    9
See reviews for
103
180
102
269
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
271 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

This hotel is very near Freedom Square. Good size rooms minimalist modern design with minibar, free wifi, large outdoor pool, spa & reasonable rates. One problem - lots of stairs without any hand railings to go to pool & to restaurant for breakfast. Buffet lots of choice, western & Indonesia, which is very tasty but barely warm. Delicious orange juice. Staff all very friendly & accommodating especially front desk when we checked in, a real contrast to the attitude of the Friday front desk clerk who didn't know how to smile. We had to prod her to get the information we wanted. Food in Chinese restaurant in ground level was OK but quite unlike any we had before. Blue Bird taxi stand right across the street. Hawker stands all along the street. Not much choice at one opposite the hotel - only pork satay & pork rib soup. Much better was next one along, right past small deli store. Specializing in Chinese & seafood, it was a delicious meal though we don't know what we ate, there was no english menu and nobody could translate it.

Room Tip: Take room at the back. Hotel faces a mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Masca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, General Manager at Alila Jakarta, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Masca,

Thank you for taking the time for your sharing your feedback during your recent stay with us.

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the facilities and serivces, however do apologise for the my staff who did not smile. I have addressed the matter to my entire Team and ensure that it will not happen again.

Once again, thank you and wishing you happy journeys. Look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards,



Andrew Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

This hotel is well designed and the service is quite nice. Located in central of Jakarta, you can take public transportation (e.g Transjakarta) to deliver you to tourist spots near this area, such as Monumen Nasional (Monas), Jakarta Cathedral, and so on.

Downstairs, near the hotel, you could find several stalls selling many kinds of food, and I have two recommendations:
1. Martabak 65 A (the price is not-that-cheap, around Rp 100,000, and the specialties is Toblerone flavor or Nutella flavor)
2. Bubur Kwang Tung (1 plate can be served for 2 or 3 person, my favorite is Chicken Porridge-Bubur Ayam, but the specialties is Crab Porridge-Bubur Kepiting)

Have a nice stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaMelania1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, General Manager at Alila Jakarta, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear MariaMelania1234,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding the central location & the services on your recent stay with us.

Alila Jakarta is centrally located and positioned in a well known area for its local culinary scene. We look forward to your next stay with us to enjoy the many attractions surrounding our location.

Best regards,



Andrew Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Modern styled hotel with 5 star customer service at 4 star price point.

Without a doubt, if you are able to, you should pay a little extra for a room that allows access to the executive lounge. Especially if you planning to host any meetings or will be generally working from the hotel, it's far more comfortable and pleasant place than sitting in your room. Also very suitable for killing time before or after checkin/checkout.

The rooms are slightly above average size (have stayed in normal and suite), with a decent work desk and plenty of power plugs. The wifi coverage is ok, sometimes low signal at some locations in the room, but never had any problems to connect.

Bathroom stocked with a reasonable set of amenities, especially like the Bali soaps they use.The suite room, of course, has by far a better bathroom, but if traveling solo the regular bathroom is fine. Having said that I do find the regular room shower (over bath) a little on the cramped side, and the shower head is mounted quite low (by western standards anyways).

For the bed conscious, its medium soft firmness, plenty of pillows supplied.

Tried the spa out - very nice, relaxing, extremely professional - more of a pampering style than an actual hard style massage, but that may be the type that I chose.

The gym is very decent, plenty of quality equipment in good condition. It gets quite busy in the afternoons. Wish the AC was a little colder though!

Location is always subjective. if you are wishing to access the Gajah Mada part of the town, this is a great location. Even to get back to Menteng is not far, but of course how long depends on the traffic. If you need to head to areas like Kemang or generally south during daytime hours, perhaps consider another location.

Finally, I would like to say thanks to Dhika and his team in the lounge - they are always smiling and extremely helpful in sorting out those little things that happen (like realising at 5pm that you have forgotten to extend your stay by one more night).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jg161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, General Manager at Alila Jakarta, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear jg161,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experiences with the facilities and my team during your recent stay with us.

As we pride ourselves in "customer service", I will share your compliments to Dhika and his team at the lounge as the due dilligence in training and leading his team by example has reaped rewards in guest satisfaction and compliments from our valued guests like yourself.

Once again, Thank you for sharing your positive points & tips regarding the facilities / location. We look forward to welcoming you on your return visit in the near future.

Best regards,



Andrew Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is a lovely hotel and an oasis of calm in busy Jakarta. We had an executive room and access to the exec lounge. Nice views from room over the Masjid nearby. Lovely pool to relax by after a hot humid day trawling the streets and battling the traffic.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMP070866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, General Manager at Alila Jakarta, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear AMP070866,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience during your recent stay with us.

It makes me proud to know that our product, facilities and services contributed to your enjoyable stay, especially the pool after a long day trawling the streets and battling the traffic.

Once again, thank you for choosing Alila Jakarta during your trip to Jakarta.

Best regards,



Andrew Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Ar some stage a massage ceases to be an extravagance.. and though the Alila ones are more expensive than others, the surrounding and skill of the service providers justifies the end. Then wander up to the executive suite for some good views. Jakarta looks entirely different!

Room Tip: Few other high rise buildings in the area so the top rooms have great views One side faces the swimm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tassielychee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, General Manager at Alila Jakarta, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Tassielychee,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Spa Alila and the view from your executive suite during your recent stay with us.

It makes me happy to know you enjoyed our Spa Alila environment and the massage by our Balinese trained therapist. Spa Alila was recently renovated and our goal of overall guest satisfaction was achieved by your experience with us.

Jakarta does lend a different perspective from our higher floors and should you require a room on a high floor on your next stay, please contact us directly. We look forward to welcoming you on your next stay.

Best regards,



Andrew Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We planned to spend our night for new year's eve in this hotel considering this hotel is located near the city center and have a reasonable price for the holiday. The room we choose was on 21st floor and the view was amazing. We can clearly see Jakarta city light at night and the fireworks was wonderful. Bedroom was also nice, clean, and big. Bathroom was also good but the toilet flush sometimes didn't work properly.

Unfortunately, everything change in the morning. The breakfast was a disaster!!
Since almost every one in the hotel stayed up very late last night, the crowd for breakfast come at around 9 am. We came to breakfast area hoping to get a seat but we were told by the hotel staff to wait. So we wait. 15 minutes later, the line was very long and people start to get unrest because they can't get any seat even though there were some empty tables. The Hotel staff seem confused and don't know what to do. They just running around the area cleaning the dishes on the table and bringing some food but nobody pointed us to the table!! So what is the point of waiting in the line?? Eventually, the security (finally some initiative after observing about 10 minutes from the hotel staff) arranging us a table (dirty table, they haven't clear our table yet). After that incident, their "system" to get hotel residence wait in the line and asked their room number and wait for their table was broken. Yaay!

They really should put someone experienced in charge at breakfast area to arranging people to get a table. Very bad score for breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor and big window. You won't regret it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miftah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, General Manager at Alila Jakarta, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Miftah F,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences during your recent stay with us.

The breakfast was as you have explained, everyone who stayed out for the New Year's festivities decided to have breakfast at the same time and it was unavoidable. As you will know, patience does not exists when there is a rush. However, this matter has been addressed as your comments have been taken very seriously and we apologise for your inconvenience during the breakfast rush.

Overall, I am happy to hear you had enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you as our guest again the the future.

Best regards,



Andrew Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Tanah Abang
Kosenda Hotel
Kosenda Hotel
#17 of 453 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Gran Melia Jakarta
#15 of 453 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro
Sawah Besar
Hotel Borobudur Jakarta
Hotel Borobudur Jakarta
#22 of 453 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alila Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Jakarta

Property: Alila Jakarta
Address: Jl. Pecenongan 7-17, Jakarta 10120, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#21 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#25 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
#38 Business Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Alila Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conceived as a haven of relaxation and contemporary style, Alila Jakarta offers a cool, modern retreat for young urbanites and executives. The clean, modern lines of our stylish Jakarta hotel embrace an abstract-minimalist interior combining functional office space and chic living areas. Executives are well served by the business centre and a choice of ten meeting rooms with capacities for up to 500 people. Aside from modern business facilities, our elegant hotel in Jakarta offers a range of leisure services. Dine and entertain in its vibrant restaurants and cafe. Relax with natural spa treatments at Spa Alila. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Alila Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Alila Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing