We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mandarin Oriental Jakarta
Nearby Hotels
$111
$98
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$98
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$318
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,083
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$42
$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$131
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,379)
Filter reviews
1,379 results
Traveler rating
1,077
252
30
10
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,077
252
30
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscinnamon restaurantwalk in closetthe club loungechinese restaurantluxury hotelexcellent hotelother hotelsbusiness triprain showergrand indonesiarooms are largegreat roombreakfast buffetbusiness hotelsuperior roomwelcome drinkfront office
Filter
Updating list...
1,132 - 1,137 of 1,379 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2010

The service was terrible. The room I got was a totally different room I had asked at the time of reservation: Very noisy room in front of the big symbolic fountain in the center of Jakarta. If you look for a nice and quiet room, this is not the place for you. All the staff here pretend they do understand your needs, but in fact they do not.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AlisTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Regular travelers to Jakarta will know it, but the Mandarin Oriental is open again after a two year refit. And what a refit, I used to stay at the MO a decade ago and it was a great hotel then but getting tired. More recently exclusively at the Shangri-la, but the MO is going to give the Shangri-la a run for its money.

The rooms are just outstanding, and they seem to have a policy of upgrading to a suite if there is one vacant. My rooms so far have been stunning. Obviously everything is quite new but even so, after almost a year of opening it still feels like it opened yesterday.

The MO is not the biggest hotel in Jakarta so I imagine as word spreads it may become hard to get the room you want, but that surely is what every hotel manager wants.

The MO experience starts at the front gate. The security manager has done a fantastic job working out how to secure this hotel which sits right on the main Hotel Indonesia circle, usually a traffic and perhaps a potential security risk. I was fortunate to be able to discuss the security measures with him, they are truly first class. You can feel as safe here as anywhere.

You are greeted by very smart young men and women who know their business, quicly profile you, check the car, inside, outside, underneath and ontop before you have even said Selemat Pagi, and then up to the main arrival. A clever positioning of the xray machine allows for easy access and baggage handling by the concierge team, and then you are in the lobby, its a smallish lobby by 5 star standards but its very comfortable, The lighting gives is a very comfortable almost European feel. Check in is handled in the quickest possible time and then off to the room. All of this in about 10 minutes. That is real customer service anywhere.

As I said above, the rooms are a delight. The only complaint I would have is that the desks seem to be placed right infront of the aircon outlet so it can get a little cool if you spend too much time working in your room. So get out and enjoy Jakarta.

The main cafe has an excellent buffet for the three main meals as well as a la carte. One of the best breakfast spreads in Jakarta, not as big as Satoo at the Shang, but the offerings are really enough and you will not be able to sample everything that is for sure. The coffee served in the cafe is the best hotel coffee in Jakarta.

The other restaurants in the MO have always had world class ratings and I dont expect this has changed, although we tend to eat out for lunch and dinner so have not had the chance to try them. I can say the room service menu is very extensive and the quality was excellent.

The MO is also famous for the MO-bar. Its a funky little bar that really hots up on ladies night by all reports. Be warned though its really loud so you wont be able to have a converstaion with anyone and still speak the next day. We sat just outside overlooking the lobby to enjoy a cold beer and be able to talk to each other. SAw lots of others doing the same. The rest of the week its a lot more sedate.

Traffic access has always been a concern for the hotels around the Hotel Indonesia circle (Hyatt, Kempinski, MO and Niko). The MO is without doubt the easiest to get in and out, even with Jakarta's famous 3 in 1 lanes in peak hours. Again they worked out the quickest way to get you out of the hotel depending which way you want to go and what time of the day it is. Top marks team MO!

So now the hardest choice is Shangri-la of MO. May have to share my time with 50% at each.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aegisint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

This hotel is first class. I had a standard room which was newly refurbished and huge with a walk in wardrobe a 42 inch plasma screen large king bed and luxusurious bathroom.

Just excellent all round. In addition the service was first class. Thank you to all the staff who were so friendly and helpful, even the security guards were an absolute pleasure to deal with.

I didnt try the resteraunt of an evening but breakfast and lunch was again of a very high standard.

The location is good too right in the centre of Jakarta and ideal for the malls where there is pleanty of good food and shopping.

If you are coming to Jakarta, dont chance anywhere else!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graemeboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

This hotel is located in Downtown Jakarta and is very nice. It is not quite as good as some of the other Mandarin Oriental hotels but is still top quality.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice but not as good as you would expect from Mandarin. The restaurant was very good with excellent service.

The only negative was the high level of security. I understand the need for it, considering the previous security issues in Jakarta. However, it does constantly remind you that the city has had some very serious attacks on western hotels in the recent past.

If you have to visit Jakarta, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sookie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

My stay started perfectly with a refreshing cold towel and refreshing drink on arrival for the check-in process.

Staff efficiently processed my arrival and handed me the electronic key tag to an upgraded room. On opening the door I was delighted to see a spacious room, enormous bathroom (shower with bench, large tub, 2 sinks), separate WC room, walk in robe and large bedroom + sitting area.

Room was equipped with a good sized work desk (lamp and wifi internet available), large flatscreen TV wall mounted (50" size), AV options to plug in laptop or media player. Lounge seating for 4 + a coffee table with a several pieces of fresh fruit provided with hotel compliments.

Bed was wonderful - great linens, comfortable pillows and one of the best nights rest I'd had in weeks. In fact, I struggled to wake in the morning!

I also used the gym, which is well equipped with modern cardio equipment, weights and attendants that are eager to help if asked. Change facilities included lockers, sauna and steamroom. Outside is a pleasant pool and outdoor chairs.

Room service had a good range of international food. I did have some poor experience with the wine list (my selection wasn't available by the glass, and no logical alternative/replacement was offered by the glass, even though there were clearly full bottle options stocked). Overall a small hiccup.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MangoRacin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews