We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis Amidst The Bustle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta
Ranked #8 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“An Oasis Amidst The Bustle”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed at the MO in Jakarta for four nights on a recent business trip. The hotel is an oasis amidst the sometimes chaotic city that is Jakarta - everything seems to functions well in the hotel. From check-in to check-out, the staff of the hotel had been ever cheerful, ever friendly and ever helpful. Which helps relieve the stress of facing the daily traffic jams. The rooms are large and well maintained although I find the mattress a tad softer than I normally like.

The other slight negative that I came up with was the weak wifi signal at the gym, especially at the treadmills. Perhaps the hotel can look into this. Other than that, I'm still wondering why MO does not have a proper loyalty program?

Breakfast at the Cinnamon is a joy. Plentiful choice and ever helpful staff despite some times grumpy guests. Given the frequent massive jams, perhaps more dining choices?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_James06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    938
    229
    28
    10
    10
See reviews for
147
160
92
721
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
İstanbul
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

It is quite difficult to find something wrong with Mandarin Oriental Hotel. Everything in this hotel is planned for the comfort of the quest. Starting from the welcoming to the check in and all other services you get in the hotel is very well planned and always with a smiling face. The rooms are very spacious. The bathroom is amazing. The bed is extremely comfortable and a real king size. I suggest you to use their SPA after along flight. It really helps you to recover. The only thing you should be aware of Mandarin Hotel is that it is just in the center of the city (although it seems to be a big advantage) which means you experience a huge traffic during the whole day. The traffic in Jakarta is one of the worst in the world especially during the rush hours and due to its central position Mandarin Hotel is effected on this a lot. Be sure that you reserve around two hours to reach to the airport from the hotel if you have an afternoon flight.

Room Tip: Higher floors (above 20) are very quite even at the heavy traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Exceptionally poor service. I wanted to view the rooms but the night duty manager Mayo refused to accommodate my request. He said the available rooms were "dirty", and hotel rules and regulations did not allow him to show me any. Interestingly, he kept a distance while he got his subordinate to relay the message until I sought clarification directly from him. Overall, rather shoddy professionalism. This Mandarin, even though it has been refurbished, is a shadow of its former self.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giorgio_armani1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor,
I need more stars to review this hotel.

As a newly wed, i wish that every bride can be as happy as i was on my wedding day. Mandarin Oriental Jakarta has been very attentive to my needs and took initiatives that make the wedding planning much easier.

Special thanks to Mr. Azumar, the world needs more Wedding Manager like him :)
He always makes time for my husband and I. No matter how busy he was.
He was very pleasant to talk to, whenever we were talking with him we forgot the stressful nature of wedding planning. On top of that, he always found a way out to our problems.
Not to mention, he always present on our wedding day to make sure that everything goes well... it really took the stress away from us.

We recommend all the wed-to-be couples who are looking for a perfect wedding celebration to go to Mandarin Oriental Jakarta!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astrid_Ernest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is probably the best hotel I've stayed in. The staff are amazing. They couldn't be more friendly or helpful. I was made to feel like a VIP. The rooms are quite large, including sofa, and a huge bathroom. Facilities and restaurants are all very good. It's located on probably the busiest street in Jakarta, with non-stop traffic jams, however I didn't find the traffic noise a problem. I was on the 14th floor and could just hear the traffic, but it didn't affect my sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gr64Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Very nice hotel - clean and big room, good customer service. The location is good as well. Highly recommended for ur stay in Jakarta as i feel that it's hard to get good hotel in Jakarta. For the hectic scene outside, i always feel at home when back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnnss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Held my wedding in MO, it is the most intimate wedding venue with the most beautiful recently renovated interiors and almost perfect service. My assigned Wedding and Social Event Manager - Mr. Azumar, he is very professional in attending to our needs, he won't over promising but he will always try to accommodate all our requests - from free vallet for our guests car, providing changing rooms for prewed and on wedding day, and many more. Thank you MO and Mr. Azumar. PS: I really love the Butterflies beddings!! I hope I can have them as a special token for an unforgettable day of our life.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angeline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Raffles Jakarta
#1 of 464 in Jakarta
455 reviews
Menteng
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#5 of 464 in Jakarta
327 reviews
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
#16 of 464 in Jakarta
1,468 reviews
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta
Address: Jln. M.H. Thamrin 81 | P.O Box 3392, Jakarta 10310, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#1 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#1 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#8 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#8 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the warmth of Indonesian hospitality and the levels of service for which Mandarin Oriental is renowned, Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta offers exemplary personalised service in luxurious surroundings. Located in the heart of the city, the hotel is an oasis of 21st-century luxury with 272 spacious guest rooms, including 24 suites and a variety of award-winning restaurants and bar concepts, which become the meeting place of choice for hotel guests and the local community. The state-of-the-art meeting and banqueting facilities also provide the best venues for both business and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Mandarin Jakarta
Jakarta Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing