We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta
Ranked #4 of 456 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

With its centrally located in prestigious Thamrin street with two upscale malls within walking distance, this hotel is truly little gem and a 5 stars in service. This is one of the original hotels in the area; however they did a complete renovation back in 2008-2009 to be more competitive and in-line with the rest of 5 stars hotels in the area. And they did a great job in doing that. The 47 sqm room felt a lot bigger even with all the furniture in it. It has modern touch and very well decorated. The bedding and comforter would not let you out of the bed – they’re so comfy. The location of the toilet that’s far from the shower and bathtub a little bit strange for me, though.

But overall we had a fabulous stay at this hotel. When we were there, we got upgraded to a deluxe room on the 26th floor overlooking the famous HI roundabout. What a nice view to look at after dark with all the sparkling lights.

Fresh towel and welcome drinks were offered while checking in – very handy especially after a long flight. All staffs seemed ready to lend a hand. From doormen, concierge, to securities, they all willing to help and greet you with smile.

The lobby, however is very small and they don’t have enough chairs or sofas. So if you wanna meet up with friends you need to go upstairs just outside the MO bar.

The hotel offers the most impressive and extensive breakfast buffet. It’s one the best in Jakarta. I believe that MO is only hotel in Jakarta offers steak ala minute for breakfast and that is something else. And not to mention the Mandarin cake shop where you can order mascarpone or Hazelnut Daquois for your afternoon tea. They are right when they say ‘try to resist’ – just can’t.

If you stay there on the weekends, they will have a shuttle from the hotel to Grand Indonesia or Plaza Indonesia malls vice versa. And the shuttle is Mercedes Benz Silver Bird taxi. Fancy, eh …?

This is definitely one of our favorite hotels in Jakarta and already made a plan to go back next year. Keep up the great work MO!

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room oon the higher floor and overlooking the HI roundabout to really enjoy Jakarta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelWithStyle_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    906
    221
    27
    9
    9
See reviews for
138
152
89
698
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

.. enough said :) .. Plus I can't really fault the Mandarin on the traffic situation around the roundabout that they are close to - but a little caution: The Friday afternoon traffic can be terrible. We were in a simple deluxe room but the bathroom facilities were very modern, the toilet articles of a good brand, breakfast selection very extensive!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaniceOng2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

i held one of the biggest moments in my life, wedding in this hotel! from holy matrimony until wedding reception. it was the best decision to choose this hotel! the marketing (Mr. Azumar) is really helpful! he is someone whom you can count on during hectic time during wedding preparation. everything was possible for him! ask him anything and he will try his best to fulfil it! you can sit back, relax and enjoy your big day! thank you so much
the foods are really delicious especially the chinese cuisine. the room suite is simply the best! spacious, very clean and modern, large bathrooms with aqua di parma amenities!
the location is really close to the shopping centers, they have free shuttle bus too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsCorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

To whom it may concern,

I would like to start off this review as one that I do take lightly in writing. I treat articles that I write as a burden on my limited time hence when I do take the time out to write one, it is with the utmost sincerity.

Let me start off with the fact that The Mandarin Oriental really knows how to treat its guests. From the minute I stepped off the plane, a Mercedes E-Class was there to whisk me away. There was bottled water and wet towels to refresh me along the way. Little did I know that it was necessary given that I was stuck in the infamous Jakarta jams for 2.5 hours.

However, the minute after I stepped out of the car, there was a veritable army of concierge personnel, bag boys and door openers. I felt like I was the only person that they had seen for years with their attention. I noticed that they greeted me by my name and not just my surname which meant that all of them knew who I was. Not that I was anyone important. Impressive.

Check-in was impeccably done in my suite; which was a free upgrade from a standard room that I had booked. Room was huge with all the amenities necessary for a business traveller such as faultless wi-fi (which applied throughout the hotel), bedside charging points, bottled waters at different points of the room and different types of hangers for my jackets and shirts.

Given that I was hardly in my room due to endless meetings, room service was always on time. My last night there, I decided to indulge in a Wagyu burger with foie gras and I was in meat heaven. When I forgot to order a beverage to accompany my meal, the server immediately went out to get me a fresh juice and he returned within 10 minutes. And as a perk, although I would have been happy to pay for it, he said that it was on the house.

With all these small gestures, you have now guaranteed a returning customer to your brilliant hotel. And if this service applies to all Mandarin Oriental hotels around the world, well, you've just pretty much guaranteed me to consider a stay at your hotel chain.

If I could provide you with one suggestion, it is to have a pillow menu. Nothing screams class and understanding your customers' sleep habits like having a pillow menu.

Lastly, I would like to thank your staff and servers for my amazing experience. And of course, to the management, for providing a wonderful training program to bring your staff up this hard-to-beat level of service.

Regards
Gurmit

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gurmitsingh76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris 10e
Level Contributor
69 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel is modern, the rooms are big, well decorated and very functional. The breakfast is diversified and good quality. The staff is very careful and efficient. The Mandarin Oriental Jakarta is comparable with a palace. I have been to this hotel twice over the last few years and the quality is constant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChardonnayParis10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great Hotel .

Stayed in a few hotels in Jakarta and I have to say that my stay in Mandarin Oriental was the best so far. Nice large rooms, great service, good breakfast.

One negative. With those room rates, internet should be included.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dubai_UAE_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Frequently stay in excellent hotels but this one ranks near the top in terms of service and value. Great breakfast outlay (best banana bread in the world), excellent business club buffet and drinks, and perfect spacious room and amenities. And the spa, especially the Royal Javanese massage, was special. The concierge staff was extremely helpful in arranging flight and hotels to Manado on Sulawesi and other trips to Indonesian islands. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manning W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Raffles Jakarta
#1 of 456 in Jakarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#2 of 456 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Menteng
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
#10 of 456 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
#11 of 456 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Menteng
Grand Hyatt Jakarta
Grand Hyatt Jakarta
#13 of 456 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta
Address: Jln. M.H. Thamrin 81 | P.O Box 3392, Jakarta 10310, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#1 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
#4 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the warmth of Indonesian hospitality and the levels of service for which Mandarin Oriental is renowned, Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta offers exemplary personalised service in luxurious surroundings. Located in the heart of the city, the hotel is an oasis of 21st-century luxury with 272 spacious guest rooms, including 24 suites and a variety of award-winning restaurants and bar concepts, which become the meeting place of choice for hotel guests and the local community. The state-of-the-art meeting and banqueting facilities also provide the best venues for both business and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Mandarin Jakarta
Jakarta Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing