We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DREADFUL OLD TIRED HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Convention Center
Ranked #109 of 463 Hotels in Jakarta
Jakarta
1 review
“DREADFUL OLD TIRED HOTEL”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

DON'T Stay at this hotel unless you want to ruin your holiday.

1. 1st, keep in mind that we are an advantage plus member, expecting an exclusive member treatment.

2. arrived 1.30 at the hotel. but can only enter the room at 5pm. uncomfortable queing and complicated check in just to be told that the room isn't ready. (3.5hours waiting!!!)


3. wrong room, booked for king bed room but given twin bed room (wait again...)

4. old and tired room. two (from 5 we booked) of the rooms are leaking from the airconditioner. the repairman came in the middle of the night tried to fixed it but didn't work out.

5. airconditioner is not working properly.

6. in conclusion : ruined holiday, wasted by queing and complaining

7. we want all of our money and TIME back.

o yeah, the hotel did an unsincere apology on twitter and send us a fruit basket AFTER we demand them SEVERAL times.

what kind of service is this??, can't believe that this hotel is a member of accor international.
such a shame!

Room Tip: check in AFTER 5pm do not book room below than deluxe ocean. in fact DO NOT book at all at this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ratna r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MarCom, Marketing Communications Manager at Mercure Convention Center, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Ratna r,

Warmest greetings from Mercure Convention Center, Ancol - Jakarta!

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are concerned and deeply apologetic to find out the inconvenient situation you have experienced during your stay with us. We have taken notes all the comments given and this surely will be followed up accordingly by Front Office Team for their thorough improvement. We truly apologize for the unpleasant experience you had.

Once again thank you for taking your time to post your constructive feedback towards your stay with us and for the chance given to us to be better in the future.


Kindest Regards,


Gloria Vera Kristie
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    330
    310
    103
    77
See reviews for
553
110
37
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Could not upgrade room from online. Charging for an upgrade is quite ridiculous. Chose for direct request at the hotel from ocean view tower room. Requested non smoking at the lobby, got room 501 at first, then was changed to 408. Room was ok, but the view was terrible. Sea view was blocked by a giant tree. The aircon smells bad (smoking room). The worst was the tap water smells so bad. Made the whole bathroom smells bad.

Breakfast was good. I think this was the only good thing from this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for level 7 above for a better sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ary Tri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MarCom, Marketing Communications Manager at Mercure Convention Center, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Arytp,

Warmest greetings from Mercure Convention Center, Ancol - Jakarta!

Thank you for taking your valuable time and sharing your comments on the TripAdvisor.

We are concerned and apologetic to find out the inconvenience you've encountered during your recent stay, including the annoying situation with the unpleasant smell of overall room. We have conveyed your feedback to our respective teams for their immediate follow up and action.

Once again thank you for sharing with us, and we hope we could welcome you back again under better circumstances.


Kindest Regards,


Gloria Vera Kristie
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

located in gated area of Ancol, you have to pay entrance fee each time you enter ancol, however hotel guests will receive free passes if they want to go outside.

there are 2 pools and 2 water slides, great fun if you have children. We were upgraded to ocean-view room, and view was amazing.

breakfast 130,000
buffet lunch 230,000

very nice food selection.

there is not much to do around (except for parks). Atlantis Water Park is 5 minutes walk.
not many restaurants around.

if you are woman make sure that you take swimsuit that will cover your body as there are plenty muslim women swimming in muslim swimwear.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iwona Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MarCom, Marketing Communications Manager at Mercure Convention Center, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Iwona Z,

Warmest greetings from Mercure Convention Center, Ancol - Jakarta!

Thank you for your kind feedback during your stay with us. We are very happy to see the results given, and learned that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We will share the result with the team who will surely be more motivated in delivering a better service even more.

Once again thank you and truly look forward to seeing you again on the next visit.


Sincerely yours,


Gloria Vera Kristie
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed here for four days to attend a conference. As the conference took place at the hotel itself, location was not an issue, but this would likely be more problematic for travelers needing to go to frequently to more central parts of Jakarta.

As several reviewers have noted, the rooms are rather dark, and particularly the bathrooms could benefit from an upgrade. That said, there were many positive surprises during my stay. Firstly, the bed was very comfortable and the breakfast buffet was great, which made for a good start on the day. Secondly, the hotel has a nice garden, a kids centre and an excellent swimming pool, which even includes an impressive water slide. You would not expect this in a hotel calling itself 'conference centre', but there it was. Thirdly, the staff went out of their way to assist with any request, and the staff at the transportation desk were particularly efficient. Fourth, the wifi was fast, free (at least in my room) and reliable.

All in all, this was not a bad place to stay, even though the room gave a rather disappointing first impression.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aibnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MarCom, Marketing Communications Manager at Mercure Convention Center, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Aibnyc,

Warmest greetings from Mercure Convention Center, Ancol - Jakarta!

Thank you so much for your kind comments on TripAdvisor and we are pleased to read that you had such a positive impression of our hotel on your recent stay. Your comments motivate our staff to deliver a better service even more.

Our apology for the room condition and we understand your concern. Our Engineering Team is working on it for finding good lighting solutions thoroughly.

Once again thank you for the kind comment and we hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again at our property.

Sincerely yours,

Gloria Vera Kristie
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is my first time stayed at mercure ancol, beacuse this hotel has good location and near the MEIS ancol. But it was very dissapointing.
1. the first of all was no smile from all staff.
2. the room was very outdated. not enough light inside the room. so, by the time at night you have to walk around your room in the dark.
3. the bathroom was dissapointing. shower didn't work properly, toilet didn't flush very well, the bathtub crakced, the sink was dirty by the first time i got in to the room and also lots of something like mosquito flying around in the bathroom and in bedroom (esp. bathroom). Rust everywhere.
4. The bed linen was not neatly. a bit smelly.
5. is this hotel did not provide minibar in the room? because no minibar in my room and the fridge was empty.
6. Bath Towel was a total dissapointing. small, looks very old and the color was faded. i was stayed with 2 kids. when i asked for an extra towel, their answer was now they are doing a green action for the environment, and only can give 2 towel each room. but they can change it when it got wet.
7. when i called for a room service, the staff was talking with his friend while he was on the phone with me?!?! That was totally unacceptable.
8. Express taxi in this hotel was a total dissaster. if you go somewhere inside Ancol from Mercure using this taxi, it will cost you 25.000 rupiah. meanwhile from the same spot where you go, to go back to the hotel only cost you 10.000 rupiah using other taxi. And seems the concierge staff team up with the taxi driver to cost you 25.000 rupiah.

And at the end of our stay, i was checking out at front office. also at that time the reception phone was ringing. He didn't serve me, but answering the phone! without noticing me in front of him. so i have to wait more time for him answering the phone first.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nogenmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MarCom, Marketing Communications Manager at Mercure Convention Center, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Nogenmania,

Warmest greetings from Mercure Convention Center, Ancol - Jakarta!

Thank you for the information given and please accept our deepest apology for the inconvenient situation you have experienced during your stay with us. We have taken notes in regards to the staff’s behavioral performance, bedroom and bathroom condition and cleanliness you’ve encountered. We have made sure to share your feedback with all team concerned for their review and evaluation, especially on the staff performance. Assessment is continuously reviewed for their service development and quality improvement to our guests.

Kindly inform you, too, that our hotel is successively doing renovations in all areas, including the guestrooms and its facilities, and we do hope you could enjoy the new room on your next trip here. Once again thank you so much for your valuable review and hopefully could welcome you and your family back to our property.

Sincerely yours,

Gloria Vera Kristie
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Pademangan
Putri Duyung Ancol
Putri Duyung Ancol
#216 of 463 in Jakarta
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pademangan
Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square
Penjaringan
Ozone Hotel
Ozone Hotel
#244 of 463 in Jakarta
43 reviews
Mercure Jakarta Kota
#79 of 463 in Jakarta
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Convention Center

Property: Mercure Convention Center
Address: Jl. Pantai Indah | Ancol Jakarta Baycity, Jakarta 14430, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jakarta
#58 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#75 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Convention Center is the International hotel in Jakarta that offer travellers a tranquil overlooking beachfront setting and the comfortable of holiday ambiance with sunset over the open sea. Located on the exciting Ancol Dreamland Park, Mercure Convention Center being an iconic seaside destination boasting such an attractions for the Fantasy World, Oceanarium, Arts & Crafts, Jet Ski, Skylift cable car and many more. The hotel is only 20-minute drive from the International airport and 15 minutes from Jakarta business district. There is no greater or more private address to host events with stature. Whether large or small meetings, business or social event or intimate wedding arrangement, our dedicated team caters every element necessary for memorable date and sustained up to 2,000 seating capacities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Convention Center Ancol Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Mercure Hotel Jakarta
Accor Convention Centre Ancol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing