We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad but it should have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Jakarta Kota
Ranked #88 of 461 Hotels in Jakarta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not bad but it should have been better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very courteous, but their English was limited, which would have been fine except we are talking about first point of contact at the front desk.
The room was clean, bed great, spacious room.
But tap leaked, basin blocked, towels had minor holes.
We had problems with the room safe and concierge was friendly but nothing happened, it was not fixed on our return.
Breakfast was plentiful with great variety, location was also great.
All in all would stay again but except a bit less.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vixyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure J, Director of Sales at Mercure Jakarta Kota, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Sir or Madams,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mercure Jakarta Kota, and it was our great pleasure to have you as our guest.

We do apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Your input and comments are precious to us, and thank you for your kind contribution which will allow us to keep on upgrading our services as customer’s satisfaction has always been our priority.

We will share your comments with our team especially and we sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. You can rest assure that this is neither standards nor typical services provided to our customer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Jakarta Kota and allow us to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Sincerely,


Elis Ujiantuti
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    212
    124
    33
    16
See reviews for
61
69
131
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banjamasin
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

breakfast menu same whole year round. Porridge was cold where it should be hot. Lack of varieties also. Suggest to improve on porridge and have salted eggs, tauhu, beancurds, even salted fish. Pastry adequate.


  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Keoh Seng Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure J, Director of Sales at Mercure Jakarta Kota, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Mr. Keoh Seng Y,

Thank you for staying with Mercure Jakarta Kota and it was our great pleasure to have you as our guest.

We do apologize for the experience you had during your recent stay. Please rest assured that we are following up your comment with all department concern related with breakfast variety and quality.

Your input and comments are precious to us, and thank you for your kind contribution which will allow us to keep on upgrading our services. Customer’s satisfaction has always been the priority set for us.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at Mercure Jakarta Kota and allow us to have the opportunity to serve you better near in the future.


Sincerely,


Elis Ujiantuti
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Came her by mistake at 10PM as there are two Mercure hotels in same street. Decided to stay after 13hr flight wanted a hot shower.

Check in: very friendly & fast check in.
Elevator: short walk, clean fast up to 12th flr.
Room: simple, clean, enough space for two, nice big window with city view. Yes room in need for renovation.
Internet: easy set up, reasonable fast.
Bed and pillow: not bad
Room cleanness: reasonable
Bathroom: bit old and in need for renovation. Shower: very low so need to hold in hand, plenty hot water.

Breakfast: very very nice traditional Indonesian breakfast! what a surprise. I have stayed in many hotels in Jakarta but this is absolutely the best traditional Indonesian breakfast around!
Try the Gado Gado, the soto Betawi, the cracker assortment, the Mung bean + black sticky rice porridge + coconut milk and add palm sugar, YUMMI!

Dear Mercure Management; compliments for the excellent service and great traditional Indonesian food, please continue to keep this tradition.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gotcha4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure J, Director of Sales at Mercure Jakarta Kota, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Sir or Madams,

Thank you for choosing Mercure Jakarta Kota Hotel and it was our great pleasure to have you staying with us.

Please accept our sincerest gratitude for your generous review on our hotel. We value your feedbacks, since our customer’s satisfaction had always been the priority set for the Management and team of Mercure Jakarta Kota.

Thank you for your willingness to recommend us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.


Sincerely,


Elis Ujiantuti
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Room to Old and carpet was dirty. mercure Kotaa less competitive with existing from another new hotels. Price to high and facilty in the room to Old. I think that room really need renovation. All staff very kindly

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure J, Director of Sales at Mercure Jakarta Kota, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Mr. Jeffrey,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mercure Jakarta Kota.

We do apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay and we assure serious action will be taken from your comment related with condition of room. You can rest assure that this is neither standards nor typical services provided to our customer.

As our commitment to continuously improve the quality of hotel product, kindly be informed currently we are doing maintenance project in all hotel facilities including guest rooms floor by floor. And we are expecting by mid of 2014 all the project are done and ready to meet the guest satisfaction

Your input and comments are precious to us, and thank you for your kind contribution which will allow us to keep on upgrading our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Mercure Jakarta Kota Hotel and allow us to have the opportunity to serve you better in the near future!

Sincerely,


Elis Ujiantuti
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have bad experience from one of your housekeeping staff. I have a card into the connection socket because of the fridge. I have a lot of foods and milk that was inside the fridge. one of your housekeeping staff named Aji ( the receptionist told me) has removed my card without my permission. And he was also caught lie to me telling me that my mom was removing the card. I found that he was lying because the card was in housekeeping and my mom will not remove the card as she knew that there were a lot of foods and milk on the fridge that needed to be cold.
my son has stomached as he was drinking the warm milk due to the fridge was no power.
i also have to put some of the food on the rubbish bin because the food was getting off.
I know that your company tried to save the electricity bill. And i didn't intend to waste it. It was very rude to remove someone else's property and damaged someone else's property ie my food and milk.
my suggestion was that if you want to save some power, may be you have to consider that the fridge's electricity power connect to different socket that if you take it off the card from the main socket, the fridge was still on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure J, Director of Sales at Mercure Jakarta Kota, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Ms. Grace

It was our pleasure to have you staying at Mercure Jakarta Kota and we wish to thank you for your confidence in our services.

We do apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay and we assure serious action in housekeeping department will be taken from every element related to your experience. You can rest assure that this is neither standards nor typical services provided to our customer.

Your comments are precious to us, and thank you for your kind contribution which will allow us to keep on upgrading our services. Customer’s satisfaction has always been the priority set for Mercure Jakarta Kota.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Mercure Jakarta Kota and allow us to have the opportunity to serve you better in the near future.

Sincerely,


Elis Ujiantuti
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Gambir
Grand Mercure Jakarta Harmoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Jakarta Sabang
#35 of 461 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Sawah Besar
Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Jakarta Kota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Jakarta Kota

Property: Mercure Jakarta Kota
Address: Jl. Hayam Wuruk No. 123, Glodok, Jakarta 11160, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#65 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Jakarta Kota 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Jakarta Kota is located in Chinatown, close to Jakarta's CBD. 5 minute walk from the GLODOK Electronic mall and BATAVIA. 2 km from the MANGGA DUA shopping centre, 2 km from the Presidential Palace, and also located on the Jakarta Busway, with buses running directly to the CBD (5 km). 243 air-conditioned smoking and non-smoking rooms available. The hotel has 2 restaurants, a lounge bar and 4 meeting rooms for seminars and conferences (500 people). FREE WIFI in all rooms and hotel public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Jakarta Kota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Jakarta Kota Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing