We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brand new experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Jakarta Kota

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Jakarta Kota
Ranked #83 of 453 Hotels in Jakarta
Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Brand new experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed during a biz trip, very adequate and liked it cause everything was brand new! The gym was fairly good but pity they only had a men's spa. The jacuzzi n pool was amazing though. Breakfast was not bad too, loved the porridge!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Janntx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure J, Director of Sales at Mercure Jakarta Kota, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Madams,

Thank you for choosing Mercure Jakarta Kota and it was our great pleasure to have you as our guest.

Please accept our sincerest gratitude for your generous review on our hotel. We value your feedbacks, since our customer’s satisfaction had always been the priority set for the management and team Mercure Jakarta Kota.

For guest convenience, Mercure Jakarta Kota is providing spa and massage at 3rd floor for man and woman.

Once again thank you and looking forward to welcoming you again at Mercure Jakarta Kota.


Sincerely,


Elis Ujiantuti
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    211
    124
    33
    16
See reviews for
60
68
130
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

The location of the hotel is pretty good, with the rapid transit bus station right across the street. The check-in staff and bell captain were nice and friendly. The only trouble I had was that check-out was slow with 3 or 4 people ahead of me, as there was only one person at the front desk, who failed to keep track of the order in which the guests arrived for check-out (in fact, I had a guest cutting the line, and I did report this to the check-out lady). Finally, the bell captain who helped me with my left luggage and got a cab for me was really courteous and efficient and, thus, deserves my utmost compliments.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ping60637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure J, Director of Sales at Mercure Jakarta Kota, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Sir or Madams,


Thank you for choosing Mercure Jakarta Kota and it was our great pleasure to have you as our guest.

We do apologize for the experience you had during your recent stay. Please rest assured that we are following up your comment and input with the Front Office department.

At the same time, we are truly delighted to learn that you have an enjoyable stay with us and we are grateful for your commendations towards the hotel location.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Mercure Jakarta Kota and allow us to have the opportunity to serve you better in the near future.


Sincerely,


Elis Ujiantuti
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novo Hamburgo, RS
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The reception and the hotel lobby looks very impressive at first look. The breakfast is good, having two sides (one with local food and other with ocidental food) which I liked.

The room is quite smelly. I didnt like it...

Also the area is very poor and dusty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure J, Director of Sales at Mercure Jakarta Kota, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Bruno

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mercure Jakarta Kota, and it was our great pleasure to have you as our guest.

We do apologize for inconvenience caused during your stay and we will share your comments with our team especially in regard the guest room condition was below expectation. We sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff to continuously improve the quality of our services. You can rest assure that this is neither standards nor typical services provided to our customer.

Your input and comments are precious to us, and thank you for your kind contribution which will allow us to keep on upgrading our services. We look forward to welcome you again at Mercure Jakarta Kota.


Sincerely,


Elis Ujiantuti
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jakarta hotels

The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

My gf and I stayed in Mercure Jakarta Kota on 4 different occasions in one month and even though most of this time we were helped by the same person during check-in and general questions she stayed very distant and uncaring even though clearly from her facial expression she recognized us. The staff lacks initiative, one of the bell boys was very openly disgruntled about the tip I gave him (apparently he thought his service - for which he gets paid - was worth more then what I gave him). On the first day of Ied we wanted to go to Central Park for shopping. The congierge however was very reluctant to arrange a taxi for us. He said that there are no taxis on Ied available. On my suggestion of calling any of the dozens taxi companies in Jakarta he refused. It took the front desk manager (?) to persuade him, but even that took a fierce debate between them two. Very unprofessional to fight in front of the guest! On our last evening in the country we ordered room service. The room service was really late and made us chase to the airport with our taxi. It took my 4 phone calls to the front desk (of which they hang up on me 3 times!) and a threat to complain to their manager to have them come up to our room with the food. For a 4* hotel I expect better!

That all said the hotel and its location are quite nice. During our different stays we've slept in the Superior double room, the Deluxe double room and the Executive double room. Of these the Executive is the nicest in room size (but what's up with the giant pillar in almost the middle of the room!?) but the bathroom size and facilities is the same as the one in the Deluxe room. In all three rooms the TV signal of most (international) channels was of bad quality. The first time we had a mechanic come up to fix it. Very nice man and very helpful. He fixed it for us but actually told us it's a problem in the entire hotel and needs to be fixed by the general management. Although the service of the room service was bad, the food itself is of good quality and nothing to complain about it! The hotel swimming pool is also quite nice and we enjoyed several hours over there. Breakfast is excellent, although what I can't wrap my head around is that the cooks who prepare eggs and pancakes for you speak and understand very terrible English. They work for a European hotel brand and serve guests who come from all over the world! Other than that the breakfast is of high quality and plenty of choice in both Indonesian as well as European and American breakfast. I loved the extra touch of the local woman offering her own made food products. Laundry service is excellent (albeit expensive). Hotel bar where I had a business meeting was bad. The staff disappeared several times so that at one point when the meeting was finished we just left since nobody was there. It seems that gave them a wake up call since they found me at the elevator wanting to go back to my room.

Location of the hotel is excellent! Yes, Hayam Wuruk is a very busy street but don't forget that it's Jakarta, master in traffic jams. Not the hotel's fault! In front of the hotel is a bus stop with buses bringing you to Kota Tua (including the train station) or Grand Indonesia shopping mall. Within 10 minutes you're in the very heart of the city. Since it's one of the main streets in Central Jakarta there are plenty of taxis (except during Ied ;)) for if you don't want to take the bus.

Would I stay here again next time? Yes! The hotel has atmosphere and quality rooms with relatively modern furniture and all the services you can expect in a hotel of this category. However, the staff definitely needs to become more Western minded in their customer service. For me it's unacceptable to stay in a 4* European brand hotel and get inefficient, typical Indonesian mindset service. If you do something about this, dear management, next time I'll hope to write a more positive review!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view towards Monas
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveltheworld8187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure J, Director of Sales at Mercure Jakarta Kota, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Remco,

First of all thank you for your trust to choose Mercure Jakarta Kota Hotel for your accommodation and it always be our pleasure to have you staying with us.

We do apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay and we assure serious action will be taken from your input and you can rest assure that this is neither standards nor typical services provided to our customer.

Your input and comments are precious to us, and thank you for your kind contribution which will allow us to keep on upgrading our services and customer’s satisfaction has always been the priority set for us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Jakarta Kota and allow us to have the opportunity to serve you better in the near future.


Sincerely,


Elis Ujiantuti
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Always a pleasure staying at this hotel. Staff are friendly, room was clean, bathroom was clean too. Stayed in the Deluxe room. Breakfast was superb, loved the cinnamon roll and chocolate croissant. breakfast menu choices are pretty good, wish they do the pasta more often.

Room Tip: Go for corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HM5888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure J, Director of Sales at Mercure Jakarta Kota, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for choosing Mercure Jakarta Kota and it always been our great pleasure to have you as our guest.

On behalf of staff and management Mercure Jakarta Kota, we would like to express our gratitude for taking your time to share your great experience during stay.

Your input and comments are precious for us, and once again thank you for your kind contribution which will allow us to keep on upgrading our product and services. Customer’s satisfaction has always been the priority set for us.

We look forward having the pleasure to welcoming you again at Mercure Jakarta Kota.

Sincerely,


Elis Ujiantuti
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is seriously not a business hotel, it has disgusting bathrooms, seedy location, in chinatown, only place that shows value, is probably the lobby, to entice people into thinking all is good!
Spa has seedy reputation, food quality and choice cater mainly for Chinese market, nothing else worked, coffee was bad, omelette was just badly scrambled egg, croisants were either burnt or rockhard baked on premise the morning?
traffic around Glodok is heavy most hours of any day, unless your business meetings are in Glodok only, avoid this hotel as business destination!
the best part of this stay, was the checkout, too glad to leave!

The bathrooms were probably the worse! who knows what bad germs and karma brews here?
filthy bathroom, with dirty shower curtain hanging in bath, that has grime stains that look like they have been there since the hotel was built...

Room Tip: Rather check into another hotel, closer to central business district, like in Central Park, or Senay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karlsenekal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure J, Director of Sales at Mercure Jakarta Kota, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Mr. Karl,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mercure Jakarta Kota.

We do apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay and we assure serious action will be taken from your comment related with bathroom cleanliness and breakfast quality. You can rest assure that this is neither standards nor typical services provided to our customer.

Your input and comments are precious to us, and thank you for your kind contribution which will allow us to keep on upgrading our services. Customer’s satisfaction has always been the priority set for us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Jakarta Kota and allow us to have the opportunity to serve you better in the near future!


Sincerely,


Elis Ujiantuti
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Was not impressed at all with the hotel, rooms were very basic and the bathrooms disgusting! The hotel restaurant had a limited menu and you cant find a good place close by. Not recommended for a business hotel unless your business is in china town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JacCapitec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure J, Director of Sales at Mercure Jakarta Kota, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying with Mercure Jakarta Kota Hotel.

We do apologize for the bad experience that you had during your stay especially in regards the bathroom room cleanliness and variation of menu that below your expectation.

Your input and comments are precious for us, and we believe that this feedback will serve as an encouragement for us to continuously improve the quality of product and services.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Mercure Jakarta Kota Hotel and allow us to have the opportunity to serve you better in the near future.


Best regards,

Elis Ujiantuti
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Gambir
Grand Mercure Jakarta Harmoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sawah Besar
Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar
Mercure Jakarta Sabang
#33 of 453 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Jakarta Kota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Jakarta Kota

Property: Mercure Jakarta Kota
Address: Jl. Hayam Wuruk No. 123, Glodok, Jakarta 11160, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#62 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Jakarta Kota 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Jakarta Kota is located in Chinatown, close to Jakarta's CBD. 5 minute walk from the GLODOK Electronic mall and BATAVIA. 2 km from the MANGGA DUA shopping centre, 2 km from the Presidential Palace, and also located on the Jakarta Busway, with buses running directly to the CBD (5 km). 243 air-conditioned smoking and non-smoking rooms available. The hotel has 2 restaurants, a lounge bar and 4 meeting rooms for seminars and conferences (500 people). FREE WIFI in all rooms and hotel public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Jakarta Kota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Jakarta Kota Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing