We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room but great value”
Review of Rumah Shinta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rumah Shinta
Ranked #16 of 341 Jakarta B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Rumah Shinta is one of the most affordable hostels in Jakarta yet quality is not sacrificed. I got a single room which, although really small, had all the basic stuff that i needed. Breakfast and the dining area were fantastic! Staff were really helpful and approachable. They helped me especially with directions. Location was good. It's a short walk to the nearest bus shelter and since it is located along the highway, getting a taxi or a tuktuk was not a problem. I wish wifi reached the rooms though so that I didn't have to go near the dining area to browse the net. Also, I wish there were other English channels on the cable tv.Single room amenities: A/C, cable tv, H/C shower and bidet, towel, toiletries, breakfast, unlimited mineral water, safety deposit box, foldable desk

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emirsicangco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Rumah Shinta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 60 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

Nice hotel. My friend and I had stayed in this hotel for only one night yet it was a memorable time for us. We had a late checked in around 9pm. The room is small but it was very comfortable for us. The staff were very helpful and very friendly as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rynna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in a single room - room was small with attached bathroom but it was sufficient for me. Breakfast provided and wifi was available although it was not working for few hours or else inconsistent signal.

The hotel is near to the shopping places in Mangga Dua - approximately 5-10mins walk to Pasar Pagi Mangga Dua, ITC Mangga Dua, Mangga Dua Mall.

Staff were friendly and very helpful. Will come to stay again if my travel brings me to Jakarta.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacqps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I had booked online and I first got disapointed to see that the prices they charge on booking websites and directly with them are different ! I ended paying more , it was the first time ever I saw that. I always book online because it is normally cheaper . Then , I got taken to my room ...or should I say closet ! if you have claustrophobia, don't not stay there . It's litterally a bed , enough space to stand next to it and a TV on the wall (only 2 english spealing chanels). The ensuite bathroom is also small but clean . you can tell the furniture is new though. the hotel in general was clean and the staff always greeted me and tried to help (their english is alright, but don't expect long conversation).

the location isn't too bad . It's on a massive road with no pavment, so a bit dangerous . but it's only 15 min walk from Fatahillah square where you have a train and bus station (if you don't get run over..) . there are a couple of museum in this square too to go and visit. Overwise, if you don't want to use the public transport (I found it confusing), the staff of the hotel got me taxis very easily .

there is free WiFi which always worked fine for me . Free breakfast : toasts with butter and jam ,tea or coffee, and hot dishes (I didn't try, I'm too used to continental breakfast).

to sum up : clean place with staff willing to help and very polite. But the room was very small, and they charge more if you pre book online .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karendurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

the rooms and bathrooms are clean. but for a single room is too small. and locations are in areas prone to flooding.
but for those of you who like shopping this is the perfect location. close to shopping, mangga dua. and close to the old city center and the city station.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank destasurfboards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Like everyone said, this is a bit small but the hostel is really clean and very importantly cheap which makes up tfor the value. Security is pretty high here and the people are friendly and helpful (had some problem with my flight). Breakfast was pretty decent and really good and location is great :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YammRemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Accepts credit cards. Requires large deposit on check-in. Has hot water and A/C. Excellent, friendly staff--the manager, Mr. Toto speaks good English. Night-time security guard. 150,000 rupiah per night for a single room. The single room is extremely small, but comfortable as a base. Room was very clean. Has an elevator. Geared towards seasoned backpackers, people who don't need many amenities. Close to Kota train station and TransJakarta busway. Neighborhood is poor and shabby. No close convenient internet cafes/restaurants. Breakfast is essentially toast. If basic, baseline comfort at a good price is what you're after, this is a good choice...but don't expect any frills..

Room Tip: The single rooms are as small as prison cells...that said, the bed is comfortable, the water hot, an...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CBrandt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Cordex Hotel Ancol
#203 of 464 in Jakarta
10 reviews
favehotel LTC Glodok
#111 of 464 in Jakarta
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sawah Besar
Ibis Jakarta Mangga Dua Hotel
Sawah Besar
Le Grandeur Mangga Dua
Le Grandeur Mangga Dua
#102 of 464 in Jakarta
282 reviews
Sawah Besar
D'Primahotel ITC Mangga Dua 2
D'Primahotel ITC Mangga Dua 2
#222 of 464 in Jakarta
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumah Shinta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Shinta

Address: Jln. Mangga Dua Raya No. 41, Jakarta 11110, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 341 B&Bs / Inns in Jakarta
Price Range: $13 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rumah Shinta 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rumah Shinta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing