We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad...”
Review of Rumah Shinta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rumah Shinta
Ranked #12 of 380 Jakarta B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Accepts credit cards. Requires large deposit on check-in. Has hot water and A/C. Excellent, friendly staff--the manager, Mr. Toto speaks good English. Night-time security guard. 150,000 rupiah per night for a single room. The single room is extremely small, but comfortable as a base. Room was very clean. Has an elevator. Geared towards seasoned backpackers, people who don't need many amenities. Close to Kota train station and TransJakarta busway. Neighborhood is poor and shabby. No close convenient internet cafes/restaurants. Breakfast is essentially toast. If basic, baseline comfort at a good price is what you're after, this is a good choice...but don't expect any frills..

Room Tip: The single rooms are as small as prison cells...that said, the bed is comfortable, the water hot, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CBrandt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 63 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Expensive for a small room, pictures and infos doesn't tell much about the shady area. Overall it's average, it's good for one or two days.

Room is really small, very small toilet and it's too close to the bed. Tv and wifi available but no storage to put your things.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarinahA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I paid about USD205 (included breakfast) for 5 nights stay initially for 4 person in a family room, the room is quite small but its okay, comfortable and clean. Limited choice of tea and coffee, toasted bread and nasi uduk which is quite delicious, staff are friendly and helpful. Its only walk away from Pasar Pagi Mangga 2 and Mangga Square, value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AinaRahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at here. The room is so small. This is only hotel that charged us for extra person (we are 3 persons booked room for 2). 75k rupiah per night for extra person. So, the room become expensive for a small room. The highest deposit rate, 500k rupiah. The location is great. Near the Mangga Dua ITC, Mall and everything. Next to the main road. Easy to get public transport. The staffs always greet you with smile. Nice looking staffs. The breakfast also good, mostly local food for a main dish. You can rent a shuttle van with driver to bring you around. Overall, I like this hotel because its location. WIFI available in the room!

Very near to Mangga Dua Square, Pasar Pagi Mangga Dua, Mangga Dua ITC. Every night, dont forget to go the night market, walked 5 minutes (PASAR PECAH KULIT)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mytravellicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed in Rumah Shinta for 1 day only, the hotel is quite far from airport but there is bus which can drop you directly there. My flight landed at 1 am so i decided to wait at the airport and reached the hotel at 0830 am but to my surprise their check in time was 2 pm, the receptionist there was nice she offered me breakfast and kept my bag in storeactually whole of their Staff is quite helpful

I booked a single room which was clean but it was ultra small actually i have never seen such a small room the have electronic card lock. washroom was also very small and the shower was right in front of the door (the door opened and closed like a curtain because there was no space for a traditional door) so it got messy when i took shower.
They have a electronic locker ,TV and wifi (slow and works only in lobby) which is not bad considering the rate of room.The immediate locality of the hotel is quite shady.
from 2nd day i stayed in Jalan Jaksa Unfortunately there is not much written on trip advisor about that area but its a cheap and nice place for travellers.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ikkarus-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

It's located at Jalan Mangga Dua, a very busy street we thought, due to the heavy traffic and bad air to breathe. But once you step into the hotel lobby, everything changes. This hotel is clean, well decorated, and nice to stay. With 6 of us, we booked 2 rooms, one is double room and another 4 person room. The double room was really small, with smaller inch tv and room size, just nice to walk only. But the air condition is really powerful. the 4 person room is quite spacious, but the air condition location is not strategic, so another 2 person which is at the air cond "blind spot" cant really feel the air at night. One tiny bad thing is the toilet door cannot lock which i dunno why. But it does no harm to us. There is a convenient shop nearby within 2-3mins walking distance that you can get basics things or snacks. The hotel breakfast is also not too bad, though the selection is quite few. one day we had very good rendang rice in the morning. The staff are friendly enough to help us whenever we need it.
We can easily get a cab or van to go to other places, very convenient. Actually a few places are just walking distance, but due to the smoke from the vehicles all around, we prefer taking a cab than walking.

Room Tip: preferable smaller room with better air condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank y_elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent 3 nights here at the end of our trip to Indonesia & got a cheap deal. The hotel was clean & staff were friendly. Breakfast was self service - toast, butter, jam, nutella & peanut butter to make yourself & a hot dish (varied daily) to help yourself too. For the price we paid we thought the breakfast was fine. The room was small, but perfectly adequate as we didn't spend much of our time in it. We arrived at Gambir station & took a taxi from there but the driver didn't know the hotel so we took it to Kota station & walked from there. There was a water cooler on each floor which meant we didn't have to buy bottled water & carry it back with us. Though there is a small supermarket just along the road to buy other drinks, snacks etc.
A downside of the location is that it's on a noisy, busy road & there's not much if you want to eat out in the evening nearby. We did eat in Mangga Dua Mall on the first night but things close quite early & unless you want Pizza Hut or KFC you may be disappointed as the food court stalls shut even earlier than the big chains. Also on arrival we were asked for a deposit of 500K RP. We could pay this by credit card. They said we'd get this back on check out in cash but as we were flying out of the country we didn't need this cash. In the end they said we could pay this in dollars (luckily we had plenty of those) & get the dollars back on checkout. But it's good to know this so that you can be prepared for this when you check in. .

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
#17 of 471 in Jakarta
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Ascott Jakarta
#36 of 471 in Jakarta
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumah Shinta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Shinta

Address: Jln. Mangga Dua Raya No. 41, Jakarta 11110, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 380 B&Bs / Inns in Jakarta
Price Range: $13 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rumah Shinta 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, HostelWorld, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Rumah Shinta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing