We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, big room, excellent location and staffs”
Review of Avissa Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Avissa Suites
Ranked #125 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value for money, big room, excellent location and staffs”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have been staying at Avissa Suites since it opened in middle of 2011 and it just keeps getting better. At first it was a hidden gem and the more we talked about it the more we realized how many of our friends also stay there regularly.
Best money to value. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. No issues so far. My only complaint would be the taxi during morning kinda hard to get. Overall we enjoyed the hotel so much we will go back. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Suites room no 302 is spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eka Handaya W, Guest Relations Manager at Avissa Suites, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Michael T,

Thank you for your loyalty staying at Avissa Suites. We are constantly improving our service towards our customers and we are currently in the process of adding new facilities for the added convenience of our guests (our restaurant will not only be open for breakfast but also for lunch and dinner, and we are also going to add a room service facility for all of our guests).

Addressing your concern regarding the long wait for taxi during rush hour (morning & usually after office hour between 5-7pm), our receptionist staffs will be more than happy to order you a taxi on the day or night before, so that the taxi will already be ready for you on your own designated time and therefore will significantly reduce your waiting time.

Thank you and we are looking forward for your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    76
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
9
22
11
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albury
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have stayed at Avissa twice in 3 months.

The positives:

1) Excellent location in the heart of Jakarta's commercial district.
2) Modern (but not luxurious) rooms
3) Free and reliable WIFI
4) Free overnight drycleaning service
5) Friendly front desk staff
6) Sub-$100 p/n

The negatives:

1) Poor kitchen amenities
2) Poor bathroom amenities
3) Shower pressure and temperature temperamental, or non-existant
4) Smell

Two important issues re: the negatives. Firstly, when maintenance work is being carried out - especially regarding water - it is common courtesy that you would advise your guests. For 3 nights there was no water (and no showers) without any prior notification. When questioned, I was advised that maintenance works were being undertaken for a few hours. Whilst I understand that maintenance has to take place from time to time, why wouldn't management have simply left a note under everyone's doors in advance? Simple communication. Secondly, there is a serious problem with the hotel's plumbing. Water pressure varies and there was a foul smell from the kitchen and bathroom pipes that was known to management, because deoderisers were placed under the kitchen sink and next to the toilet.

Overall I would still recommend this hotel for price, modern rooms and location, but there are some serious issues management must address.

Some other suggestions to management:

1) Turn on some music in the dining room serving breakfast....it is quieter than a cemetary!
2) Ipod speaker dock in rooms
3) Get rid if the terrible push button soap/shampoo dispenser....Avissa is meant to be a hotel, not a backpacker hostel.
4) Add some amenities in the kitchen

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyCBAlbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eka Handaya W, Guest Relations Manager at Avissa Suites, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear KathyCBAlbury,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about us. Avissa Suites continuously improving and upgrading our service and facilities in order to ensure our guests' convenience. And now, thanks to your suggestion, we have installed speakers in our restaurant and have music for an added relaxing ambiance.

For the added of our customers, our restaurant will not only serve breakfast but also lunch and dinner. We will also have a room service facility soon.

We hope you will be back to enjoy these changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Booked a room here coz it was close to a meeting i had to attend at 7am the next morning. It had been a long day at work and was already 1am when i checked in. The frontdesk, handing me my keys, said the water was out due to some leakage but it would come back on at 3am. Long story short i couldnt shower till 4am and dat was coz they brought me up water in buckets coz as it turns out, on top of water leakage my shower was busted as well. Breakfast was bad held in a tiny room. Room was nice and big. This was originaly a residence but i dont think its ready to be a hotel. Service sucked for the prize i had to pay for it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelsInPairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A good choice for long stay business traveller in center biz district of Jakarta. Access to every place is easy. Worthed value.
An improvement for the bfast menu needed.
Room is clean and comfort. Friendly services from Mr Bintang and his friend. The fish pond s relaxing

Room Tip: The suite room is the best choice and worthed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was recommended to me by a friend, so I booked it pretty much without reading any reviews.

First off, it is a prett quiet place, there were many people around - which, i think is a good thing! Because of that, checking in was a breeze.

The room itself is decently sized. We stayed in a queen-sized room. The bed was nice and comfortable.

The bathroom was a stand in one, and little amenities were provided - they did give toothbrushes, and soap (but to be fair, i brought my own so i didnt ask for anything, i did ask for a hair dryer which was brought to me). The shampoo and conditioner provided was in a 'press' container attached to the shower wall. The overall design of the shower was quite pleasing - black tiles and a ledge for you to put your things spanned the whole width of the shower. What was really great was: thy provided bedroom slippers!!!!

Cleanliness: the room itself was quite clean... But im really picky and like my sheets to be spotless... One of the pillowcases was like snow white and the other was a bit grey.... I took the snowwhite gleaming one. I also have really sensitive skin, and while the sheets didnt shimmer, i didnt have any problems at all! So good
To know that the beds are clean and bug free!


Morning breakfast is largely local indonesian, and indonesians staple food is rice, so there is rice and a few dishes to choose from. They also have fresh fruits, milk and cereal, coffee/tea and bread and crissonts for the western palate. Breakfast is the same everyday though an the selection didnt really suit my western tastes... But i didnt complain since it was 62/night in the heart of jakarta... And i was lucky that i was out most of the time and had breakfast outside.

The location is prett decent! Very central. I think this is one of the best value for money hotels at such a central location. There are a number of malls within 3min taxi/ojek rides away.

A few things you might want to note, which are not the fault of the hotel per se:
1. Construction on the main road outside the hotel. There was no noise pollution whatso ever, which was really good, but the construction is quite massive (building a new flyover- what looks like at least enough for 2 lanes) and distrupts traffic since it takes up 2 lanes. This results in a traffic jam near the Kuningan City area. The location o the hotel is really close to 3 malls. It only takes 7mins to walk to the first mall (and the rest are all next to each other), but the roads of jakarta are generally not walkable. We managed to do it because it was 8am on a public holiday and most people had left the city the night before.

2. Power trips. Jakarta is known for its power trips ans black outs, sometimes hours at a time. When we had the hair dryer, tv, lights and air conditioning all on, the power in our room tripped. Luckily it was just our room and not the whole hotel. We found a flip switch near the door and our room and our room came back to life.

Unfortunately it happened again The second night while i was watching tv. I think it also went out during the night while we were sleeping, so the airconditioner might have stopped. This happened for one of the nights. Luckily, we didnt really feel much of a difference since we'd adjusted it to 16degrees celcius and hid under the blanket.

3. The view is of the city and a bit of slums. I was on the 7th floor, and that was really nice, but the view itself isnt spectacular, and of courae not the fault of the hotel. But u do get to see what the city really is like!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed in Avissa suites June/July 2012 ok hotel but with some improvements that are needed. With respect to the other guests the rooms are comfy and on most days clean. When I checked in there is one girl at the front desk who is not a service oriented person, she has no clue about customer service, would agree with another reviewer about this. The room where I stayed was ok except for the dirty sheets and pillows, couldn't believe this, actual huge stains on the sheet, but when I pointed it out to the maid she changed it immediately.
The hotel is located on a side street which is a plus if you want to sleep in as there isn't much road noise, get a room towards the back of the hotel.
Also be careful of the price that they quote you, i was quoted a price per room before I arrived via e-mail but once I arrived was told that the rates had changed. typical bait and switch Indonesian tactics. However I did stay at the hotel.
TV has limited English channels and the gym is very small, no free weights, one running machine in poor condition and a bicycle that's from the 50's. Also a weight machine that's not pratical for serious gym users.

On all an average hotel with exceptional staff exccept for the one front desk girl. Close to the mall I walked most days and close to major streets. I took teh local bus many times but I am used to JKT so I can move around.

Room Tip: Towards the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bkk212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The building is clean, modern and welcoming. As you'd expect for a serviced residence at this price, facilities are fairly limited, but it's generally a nice place to escape from the heat and chaos outside. Beds and pillows were comfortable, but I had some noise issues from being below the breakfast area - not bad enough to request a room change, but it woke me up on occasion. The staff were helpful whenever I needed something.

Avissa Suites is located in Jakarta's golden triangle, and the shopping and leisure facilities in Central and South Jakarta are easy enough to reach by Taxi as long as the roads aren't too busy. During the daytime, I found it was possible to walk through the back streets to the nearby Ambassador Mall, which gives you access to a food court, Carrefour etc. Otherwise the only places to go without transport are a few convenience stores and warungs.

Room Tip: If you're not planning to wake up early, avoid rooms 615, 617 and 619. The breakfast room is dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Ayaka Suites
#62 of 464 in Jakarta
145 reviews
Setiabudi
Rasuna Icon Jakarta
Rasuna Icon Jakarta
#131 of 464 in Jakarta
221 reviews
Setiabudi
Aston at Kuningan Suites
Aston at Kuningan Suites
#60 of 464 in Jakarta
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
favehotel Gatot Subroto
#82 of 464 in Jakarta
372 reviews
Manhattan Hotel
#204 of 464 in Jakarta
461 reviews
Rasuna Mansion
#207 of 464 in Jakarta
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avissa Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avissa Suites

Property: Avissa Suites
Address: Jln. Karet Pedurenan Mesjid No. 19, Jakarta 12940, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avissa Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're a tourist or traveling on business, Avissa Suites is a great choice for accommodation when visiting Jakarta. This 3-star hotel commands an excellent location and provides access to the city's biggest attractions. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations.The facilities and services provided by Avissa Suites ensure a pleasant stay for guests. This hotel offers numerous on-site facilities to satisfy even the most discerning guest. Free High-speed WiFi in all rooms and TV Cable with 90+ channels (26 channels in HD/High Definition) are provided.All guest accommodations feature thoughtful amenities to ensure an unparalleled sense of comfort. The hotel offers wonderful recreational facilities such as garden, fitness center, golf course (within 3 km) to make your stay truly unforgettable. Avissa Suites is a smart choice for travelers to Jakarta, offering a relaxed and hassle-free stay every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avissa Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing