We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Six Degrees

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Six Degrees
Ranked #2 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Really liked this place. So many positives: the pod style dorms, very clean, very helpful staff, good information board, great entertainment options in a relaxed social area, air con, lots of bathrooms, great location near a train station and not to far from the main Gambir train station (I walked it), and near lots of food options. Breakfast was average - that's about my only slightly negative thing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Squads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    148
    19
    5
    6
See reviews for
6
91
241
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here on our first 2 nights in Indonesia. The website was so helpful, and the directions of how to get from the airport made the journey stress free! We stayed in a pod dorm, which was fab. the beds were comfy and you had your own little space. The communal spaces were great, so many things to do if (like us) you get fed up of tackling the city itself! The roof terrace was a great space. The kitchen was relatively well equipped, although the addition of a microwave for reheating would be really helpful! The showers were nice. The only downside is that nowhere else quite lives up to this!

Room Tip: The 4 bed pod dorm meant less coming and going noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieMaeMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed in this lovely hostel twice (upon arrival and before departure), and I have to say: by the time I came back after my trip through Java and Bali I felt like coming home. Fantastic dorms (private reading lamp, private socket and even a little fan if you're lucky), very clean, extremely helpful and knowledgeable staff (both Ian and Dave speak Indonesian), simple but decent breakfast included, cosy rooftop chill-zone, massive collection of movies to kill some time if necessary: I can only recommend this place.

Suggestion (already said this to Dave, but just to be sure): can't you think of a way to avoid people bringing the polysterene containers from that foodstall across the street? Maybe you can have a deal with the owners that you prived plactic boxes from the hostel or something? Just a thought, having the eco-friendly label would be a nice extra ;)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scienceguy6d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at Six Degrees, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Science guy!
Thank you for staying with us, for writing a review, and for your explanation of the Higgs-Boson particle.
We're talking to the restaurant across the street, but they are still having trouble grasping the concept of 'Eco-friendly'. We recommend guests just eat there, or take a re-usable plastic box from Six Degrees if they want take-away (just ask us). The food is really good, but their over-packaging of food is not!
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and we really hope to see you again in the future. Tot ziens!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

we stayed here for only a couple of nights on our first visit to Jakarta as we had heard good reviews, and we were not disapointed. the rooms were clean with comfortable beds. the breakfast was delicious and as much coffee or tea as one could drink. the staff were very helpful with helping with tours of the city and booking onward tickets. there was a comfortable area to chill out and relax to either read or watch a movie on the big screen. we would definately stay there again and recogmend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at Six Degrees, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks very much! It's been a few month since you were here, and a lot has changed since then - we don't claim to be perfect but we're working hard all the time to make things better! Hopefully you'll come back again soon and see for yourself. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Good price. Ridiculously helpful people. Tv, xbox, cheap food n beer n lots of open spaces. Toilets that work and ekven a bench press :)

Great place. Book in advance though as it fills quickly. Lots of helpful advice on the website too

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RazorBFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at Six Degrees, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review! Yes, it's a good idea to book well in advance to avoid disappointment. It's no fun for us to turn people away in the middle of the night because we are full!

Hope to see you again at Six Degrees in the future, and thanks again for taking the time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Great hostel in terms of helpful staff and nice communal areas downstairs (pool, book swaps, seating, films...). The rooms are clean though small and windowless, but ac is a plus. Bathrooms are shared but hot water and very clean makes up for this!

I would say breakfast could have been slightly more substantial, but not a major complaint.

However, don't book online! You'll go through all the forms and think it's been confirmed and have an e voucher and everything but its meaningless unless the owner happens to have checked it. We booked online a few days in advance and the owner had no record. When we showed confirmation they said it was still pending and to phone next time. We were very lucky they had a single room free and could put a mattress on the floor, though a discount/even apology for the mistake would have been nice! Though I can't complain about the staff as they are very helpful!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at Six Degrees, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thanks for the review; we're happy to hear that you liked Six Degrees.

I'm not quite sure what happened with your booking, and we're very sorry for the confusion when you arrived. When people book via our website we do indeed need to check all of the details before confirming it. We try to do this within 12 hours of receiving the booking - apologies that your booking seems to have slipped the net on this occasion. We need to check the details as we don't ask for any deposit so we need to make sure that everything looks genuine. We've been let down in the past by people making a false booking just to test the system!

Please do book online! It's by far the easiest way to check availability and pricing, and make a booking. Once you receive a 'confirmation' email from us (not a 'pending' email) you can rest assured that the booking is done.

The breakfast of toast, jam, fresh fruit, juice and coffee is enough for most, but we now offer our hungrier guests optional extras such as eggs (cooked any style) for a small additional price.

Hoping that we'll see you again at Six Degrees soon. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I’m the sort who normally prefer to stay in hotel when on holiday. However, I’ve decided to try something different this time by staying in hostel after seeing good reviews about Six Degrees.

Booked a double room and what can I say? The place is pretty cool, most guests are usually whites / expatriates, there is a pool table on the ground floor (reception area) furnished with big screen tv and comfy couches. As for the room, it’s pretty basic with dim lights yet fully lined with multiple sockets to charge all your batteries / gadgets at one go. The only downside is that the room is not equipped with any TV or attached bathroom and for 225.000, you can sneak better homestays elsewhere. But the location is a plus point, located just along the main road which makes it easy to find. It’s located just next to Texas Chicken.

Check out the top floor. There is a garden with so-called hut where you can snooze out on a breezy lazy afternoon.
Six Degrees is relatively cheaper than other hostels in Jakarta yet a notch above the rest.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missytrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at Six Degrees, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thanks for staying at Six Degrees, and for taking the time to leave some feedback. I'm glad you had an positive overall experience.
Our concept from the beginning was that Six Degrees should be primarily a social experience. It's about meeting people, making friends, and having shared experiences, rather than relaxing in rooms watching TV. So, we keep the rooms very simple, clean, and airconditioned, and make room prices as cheap as we possibly can. Unfortunately this means that people who are used to staying in hotels can be disappointed, but we really hope that you met some nice people and that Six Degrees was a comfortable base for you to explore the chaotic city! Hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#2 of 459 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Menteng
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Kosenda Hotel
Kosenda Hotel
#17 of 459 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Menteng
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
#10 of 459 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Degrees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Degrees

Property: Six Degrees
Address: Jln. Cikini Raya | Cikini, Menteng, Jakarta 10330, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award-winning- Six Degrees. Your home in t-he very heart of Jakarta - perfectly located to explore -the city, perfectly designed to escape f-rom it. Discover the food, entertainment and cultural destinations that make the area around the hostel ideal, with all the informat-ion you need to explore Jakarta and beyo-nd available from friendly Six Degrees staff and fellow travellers. Or stay in and make new frie-nds at the rooftop bar or over a gam-e of pool. Be entertained in the mini-cinema or in the lounge. Stay fit in the mini-gym and yoga are-a, and never get hungry -with the tasty free breakfast, Six Degrees Café and 24-hour g-uest kitchen. With clean, air-conditioned rooms and great 'pod' dorms to suit- all budgets, you'll discove-r unique people, natural character, and all the comfort -and security you need to make your stay- memorable. Stay at Six Degrees. Meet Ja-karta ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Six Degrees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing