We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, friendly, comfortable”
Review of Six Degrees

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Six Degrees
Ranked #2 of 147 Specialty Lodging in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome, friendly, comfortable”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Six Degrees is an oasis of calm in the chaos that is Jakarta. The staff and owners couldn't be more friendly and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble and they have lots of advice about things to do and how to get around. The hostel pretty much has everything you need, including some snacks and drinks (plus free filtered water). The communal areas are great to meet other people, discuss ideas and trips, and get tips for what to do in and around Jakarta. The roof top garden and tree-house is an awesome place to contemplate the city and get your thoughts together.

The Cikini area has many decent eateries and things to do within walking distance and most taxi drivers will know the street and nearby train station, if not the actual hostel. The rooms are simple, clean, and sufficiently cooled. I stayed for well over a week and found it to be surprisingly quiet at night, despite a constantly changing cast of guests. The showers and toilets were always clean. The place feels safe and secure.

I would highly recommend this hostel and will return next trip!

Room Tip: Choose a single room if you do not want to be woken up by people catching early trains or buses
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnDevlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    161
    19
    5
    6
See reviews for
6
95
250
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Had free flow of juice,platter of fruits and toast bread.Selection of butter,peanut butter and sprinkled chocolate.But!! It was the perfect toast bread I ever had Indonesia.Toasted just to the right crisp yet just melts in my mouth.

Also, the recep remembers your name by heart,every single guest.Amazing!

Will certainly stay at this hostel again but this time bringing my own towel. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyahJambu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

It was the 1st time me and my friends visited to Jakarta after our trip to Bandung... The hostel was hardly known by the local drivers since our driver dropped us at the wrong side... After seeing the landmark (Texus Chicken's Signboard), we walked into the hostel with tiring body... The moment I stepped into the hostel, I was amazed with the design of this hostel! Reading corners, pool for snooker, musical instruments and songs book, bookshelf with a lot of books (I think we could exchange our book here), 1000 movies for watching if u like, play station and Wii, Internet lounge, rooftop bar, gym and etc! It was just like a home for the traveler from all around the world... Meeting up the people from different culture was a brand new experience for me and it was soooooo good! The hostel's information board was a useful item as well... Some of the backpackers leaved their information regarding the travelling tips to Jakarta or any other places in Indonesia... Clean room and clean bath room were gaining the good impressions from us... Ya, a nice getaway for backpackers after the tiring walk... ^_^

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanz89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed at the hostel for one night at the end of a trip to Raja Ampat in Papua in 10.2012
The booking process was simplistic
No deposit was required
Getting to the hostel wasn’t to difficult and instructions are available via the hostels website
I took the Gambir bus from the airport to Gambir station then came out the station, walked over the over pass to get to the other side of the road and took a three wheeled taxi (I forget their name) to the hostel.
I booked a double room with en suite shower
Room, shower and bed were clean
Bed was fine and comfortable
The facilities seemed great, free internet access via WiFi and desk top PCs and free tea, coffee and water
Breakfast was included
The proprietors were very helpful and informative
The hostel was perfect for my needs i.e. a one night stop over on the way back from Papua to Jakarta,which in my opinion has nothing to recommend it
Unlike other metropolises in Asia i.e. Bangkok, Kuala Lumpur, Mumbai, Delhi etc there really isn't much to recommend it and very little to compensate for the pollution, traffic etc
I spent longer in Jakarta when travelling between 1995 and 1999 and saw what is left of the old colonial area around Batavia and in my opinion, what little the points of touristic interest there are are negated by Jakarta being little more than a big polluted chronically congested city
If you like sitting in constant traffic jams and taking an eternity just to traverse the shortest distances then Jakarta is for you!

IF YOU ARE CONSIDERING VISITING RAJA AMPAT AND STAYING AND OR DIVING WITH PAPUA DIVING PLEASE SEE MY REVIEW OF PAPUA DIVING/KRI ECO RESORT AND HOTEL JE MERIDIEN IN SORONG

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittlebearCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is the best low budget hostel ever. I never find a hostel like this before. It's very clean (even the shared bathroom), very friendly staffs and owner, very super fast-free internet, great breakfast, and great location. Me and my girlfriend enjoyed our 4 nights stay here. Hostel access is very easy, it's existed on my GPS. And what impressed we very much was they know each name of their guest, even it's always fully booked. When you tired after you journey at Jakarta, you can sunk your body on the very comfy couchs and watching Mbak Ning playing bilyard with other guest..

Definitely will come back if we're on budget trip to Jakarta...

God bless Six Degrees..

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Masageng Satrio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at this hostel on a Madventure London to Sydney trip and it was excellent! Could not fault a thing and the staff bent over backwards to accommodate us! Very cool place, very, very clean, excellent facilities and very friendly staff! Every single person in the group loved it (and that's not easy to achieve)! If you are going to Jakarta on a budget this is THE best place to stay (and we have stayed in many others - so glad we found these guys)! They have private rooms and well as dorms and it is a very safe place to stay. I think it is one of the best hostel we have EVER stayed in on any of the expeditions - world wide!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilikecakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Although I live in Jakarta I was forced to find alternative overnight accommodation a few nights ago as my apartment flooded! I'd heard good things about this place and thought I'd give it a try.

The location is good - not far from the centre of town and nicer than the somewhat sleazy Jalan Jaksa where most of Jakarta's budget accommodation is located.

I found the hostel to be top notch in terms of furnishings and facilities and the owners have clearly worked hard to create a really convivial and welcoming ambience. The Irish manager, Dave, went out of his way to ensure that guests were well looked after and other staff were equally hospitable and sociable. The 'hub' centred around the lovely, breezy rooftop terrace where an eclectic mix of guests were relaxing and swapping stories and advice on travelling around Indonesia.

The hostel was almost full (apparently I was lucky to get a room at such short notice) I booked the double room which was spotlessly clean and pretty comfortable - it was certainly very good value for money.

In summary, I'd recommend Six Degrees for budget travellers looking for a safe, ultra-friendly, and warm introduction to Indonesia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
YELLO Hotel Harmoni
#15 of 464 in Jakarta
273 reviews
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#5 of 464 in Jakarta
341 reviews
Tanah Abang
Kosenda Hotel
Kosenda Hotel
#20 of 464 in Jakarta
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gambir
Citi M Hotel
Citi M Hotel
#46 of 464 in Jakarta
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Degrees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Degrees

Property: Six Degrees
Address: Jln. Cikini Raya | Cikini, Menteng, Jakarta 10330, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 147 Specialty Lodging in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award-winning- Six Degrees. Your home in t-he very heart of Jakarta - perfectly located to explore -the city, perfectly designed to escape f-rom it. Discover the food, entertainment and cultural destinations that make the area around the hostel ideal, with all the informat-ion you need to explore Jakarta and beyo-nd available from friendly Six Degrees staff and fellow travellers. Or stay in and make new frie-nds at the rooftop bar or over a gam-e of pool. Be entertained in the mini-cinema or in the lounge. Stay fit in the mini-gym and yoga are-a, and never get hungry -with the tasty free breakfast, Six Degrees Café and 24-hour g-uest kitchen. With clean, air-conditioned rooms and great 'pod' dorms to suit- all budgets, you'll discove-r unique people, natural character, and all the comfort -and security you need to make your stay- memorable. Stay at Six Degrees. Meet Ja-karta ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Six Degrees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing