We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to experience authentic Jakarta”
Review of Six Degrees

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Six Degrees
Ranked #2 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to experience authentic Jakarta”
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Who says hostels are for the young and roughing it? Six Degrees was a perfect place for us, and the three of us are long retired and like our creature comforts!

We stayed a few days in Jakarta before continuing on to a scuba/snorkel trip so we had more baggage than the average backpacker, yet our rooms (a single on the 3rd floor and a double on the 2nd) had plenty of space for us and our gear. The beds are comfy and the rooms are quiet, much quieter than I expected for a busy Jakarta street. It was an unexpected bonus to have lots of counter space to unpack necessaries for our stay. The air conditioning worked well. The shared toilet and shower facilities were clean and spacious. Bring your own shampoo and such for the shower.

Breakfast was great--juice, fresh fruit, tasty toast with marmalade and peanut butter. Coffee, tea, and drinking water are free 24/7; chilled soda and beer are available in the honor bar. Good restaurants of all nationalities are within an easy walk of the hostel; some of them deliver if the Jakarta traffic intimidates you. If you want to cook for yourself, there's a guest kitchen on the 4rd floor and a grocery store a few blocks away.

The four owners and their staff took great care of us. There was someone around 24/7 to chat or help with anything: finding a money changer, advising on what sights to see or where to shop for whatever you fancy, pointing you to the cuisine of your choice, calling you a taxi or telling you how to take public transport. Their web site had excellent info about the area and how to find the hostel, including instructions in Indonesian for your taxi driver when you arrive. The hostel itself has a small sign, but it's next door to the Texas Chicken fast food place, which has a huge sign. You seriously can't miss it.

The common area was outstanding! There are comfy sitting areas, tables for eating, a home theater with a great selection of movies and TV shows if you want to veg out. They provide free wireless access, with 2 computers if you don't bring your own. There's a good library of books, magazines, and local newspapers. The bulletin board has maps and local info. The rooftop garden has a shady bale (gazebo), lots of seating, fruiting and flowering potted plants, and an interesting view of the Cikini neighborhood. This would be a great place to stay if you're traveling by yourself because of the social opportunities. 

Our favorite "creature comfort" at Six Degrees was Nemo, the resident tabby cat who hung out in the lounge and bar, frequently sleeping on the pool table. He was friendly and playful but not demanding. He did come to our room once to request a private audience, snoozed with my husband a while, then had fun chasing his tail among our luggage.

The Cikini neighborhood was a great place for our short stay. It's not a  touristy area but within easy reach of major attractions by cheap taxi or public transport. You can find both Indonesian staples and Western comforts. There's a local market under the Cikini train station that sells baskets of all kinds from the village of Cirebon, near Bandung, plus flowers and all manner of floral arrangement paraphernalia. The market is in operation from July through New Year's.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    156
    19
    5
    6
See reviews for
6
93
247
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoorn, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Six Degrees is by far the Best Hostel I stayed during my 6 month tour around the world. The owners are very friendly and very hospitable. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. If you ever go to Jakarta, please book a night in Six Degrees.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiskaTerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed in a single room for a few nights while doing some business in Jakarta. The place was incredibly clean, had lovely staff and a great chill out area downstairs. The location in Menteng makes it really easy to get anywhere in Central Jakarta and walking distance from cafes and supermarkets. What else could you want really?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank courts09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The proprietor is very helpful and friendly. She has created.a guest house with comfortable and stylish common spaces (DVD room, computers with Internet, rooftop lounge). Our room had en suite bathroom that was clean and well designed, though windowless. There are good food stalls across the street and a travel agent/money changer next door. It is close to cikini station but the neighborhood doesn't have a lot going on. It's a good alternative to Jaksa, though, if you want to avoid that area.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EthanandJocelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed there for two nights at the start of our trip to Indonesia, the double room as nice and has air conditioning. It is easy to get there from the airport by bus and taxi. The staff and owner was really friendly and booked us a taxi to get to the airport really early in the morning for our onward flight. There is a nice communal area and roof top terrace. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sew501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2012

When i arrived to Jakarta, i was so sсared about that noise and all! but on the next day i came down and start to enjoy the city. Thank for staff to make my so!
after Jakarta i moved to Bali for 3 weeks and forgot in a room a scarf - a present of my boyfriend. that's amazing that they found a way, how to give it back, cause it was really important for me!!!
Thanks you guys!You are the best!

Room Tip: i were in 6 beds room#8. 3 flour by stairway. Clean and quit. billiard, game zone, big living room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiraSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

In the pas, I have done a lot of hostels worldwide, but Six Degrees had a special vibe over it.
So Ill start with saying I can highly recommend it.
We arrived at the hostel for the first time after a 17hr flight. Location is not that great, and taxi-drivers have to look for it, but once there, its a great and relaxed place to be at.
When I opened the door, first thing i saw was the pooltable, and some Groove Armada vibes were all over the public room.
You pretty much feel at home instantly.
The rooms are nice, not too big and quite comfy, clean. The showers are on the hallway, but private, and big!
sometimes there are specials. Staff is great to hang around with. I had a wonderfull time (and thats why i got back later on my trip)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prosfallout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#5 of 464 in Jakarta
328 reviews
YELLO Hotel Harmoni
#14 of 464 in Jakarta
222 reviews
Tanah Abang
Kosenda Hotel
Kosenda Hotel
#18 of 464 in Jakarta
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Teduh Hostel
#3 of 140 in Jakarta
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Degrees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Degrees

Property: Six Degrees
Address: Jln. Cikini Raya | Cikini, Menteng, Jakarta 10330, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award-winning- Six Degrees. Your home in t-he very heart of Jakarta - perfectly located to explore -the city, perfectly designed to escape f-rom it. Discover the food, entertainment and cultural destinations that make the area around the hostel ideal, with all the informat-ion you need to explore Jakarta and beyo-nd available from friendly Six Degrees staff and fellow travellers. Or stay in and make new frie-nds at the rooftop bar or over a gam-e of pool. Be entertained in the mini-cinema or in the lounge. Stay fit in the mini-gym and yoga are-a, and never get hungry -with the tasty free breakfast, Six Degrees Café and 24-hour g-uest kitchen. With clean, air-conditioned rooms and great 'pod' dorms to suit- all budgets, you'll discove-r unique people, natural character, and all the comfort -and security you need to make your stay- memorable. Stay at Six Degrees. Meet Ja-karta ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Six Degrees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing