We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amaris Hotel Mangga Dua Square
Ranked #305 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I've been here on 2012, the hotel located on mangga dua mall. All rooms is new and clean the air-con was really cold, when i was at this hotel, there is still room under contraction, If you are traveling and want to large room, i'll not recommended this hotel, but if you are business traveler, the budget for this hotel and the room it self is worthed. the breakfast also good. and if you want to find something for your child or family, you can find it on mangga dua mall, it just a few meter from this hotel.

Room Tip: make sure you check in on the check in time, not like me i come at 12, therefore i need to wait 2 ho...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avans P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reza b, Manager at Amaris Hotel Mangga Dua Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Masaruchan, Singapore

Thank you for taking your valuable times in writing your feeling about our hospitality and services. We are proud of having you as our loyal guest. It is an honored to be able to give our excellent service to you while you were staying with us.

the size of the room is our standard for 2 star hotel. The check-in time is 2pm, because most of the guest checking out at 12 noon - 1 pm. It will takes time for our room attendant to prepare the room for you.

We are much looking forward to welcome you back in the future visit.

Best regards,

Reza Bovier
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Amaris Hotel Mangga Dua Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 148 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

We booked this hotel for one night as we were leaving the next day via train. When we asked the front desk about train schedules and how to purchase a ticket, the manager, Famhi, walked us to the store where we purchased our train ticket. He even went further with his hospitality and drove us to the train station the following morning! The buffet breakfast has both western and indonesian choices, and the food tasted great. The hotel is conveniently located near a small mall that has some eating and massage choices. The rooms are very clean and modern, and the free wifi worked well. We were so pleased with the hotel, that we returned to it on our last night in Jakarta before flying out. The staff remembered us, and the hotel manager continued to go out of his way to ensure our stay was fantastic! Overall, we highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christina229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reza b, Manager at Amaris Hotel Mangga Dua Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Ms. Christina,

Thank you for taking your valuable times in writing your review about our hospitality and services. We are proud of having you as our loyal guest. It is an honored to be able to give our excellent service to you while you were staying with us.

We have conveyed your comment to our associate named Fahmi, who were also very proud to provide delightful service to you.

We are much looking forward to welcome you back in the future visits.

Best regards,

Reza Bovier
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here because of the hotel's location near the Jakarta International Expo - we were attending the Jakarta Jazz Festival.

The hotel is in the budget range, so tailor your expectations accordingly. It's not lavish but has everything you need for a comfortable stay. The bed is comfortable, the sheets do not make a scratchy sound like in one budget chain I stayed in Singapore and there's even a TV. There's a place to hang clothes, a safe and a table and chair. There were two mugs, but no spoons. Bring your own coffee/tea as these are not provided. There's a water dispenser outside on every floor. Shampoo and bath gel are provided but bring your own shampoo - theirs is lousy.
Our room had no view, so it was quiet.

The breakfast that came with the room is lousy. The only thing edible was the porridge and fruits. There was bread but I did not take that. The modest buffet spread is local food. Everything tasted salty/of soya sauce.

There is an egg station. On the first day I had my omelette (no other cooking options) freshly cooked. On the second day there was already a pile at the station so I took one - the texture was rubbery. Seriously, egg is one of the simplest food to prepare - how can you get that so wrong?

Staff - nothing much to comment. The few that we encountered were pleasant. However, the hotel needs to take note to instill common sense in their cleaning staff. One of them was busy sweeping the floor (hence making dust fly everywhere) near the buffet spread and diners during breakfast. Diligence has its place. This is not one of them.

Next to the hotel is a shopping mall. So although the hotel felt like it was "in the middle of nowhere" (because of the way the hotel is cut off), you could get everything you need just a few steps away. There are local eateries, fast food, a bakery and even Carrefour. There is a row of seafood eateries outside if you walk to the main road, but this is not the kind of place where you could just walk out and hit bustling downtown. You stay here, you get your business done and off you go.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joelynnchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reza b, Manager at Amaris Hotel Mangga Dua Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Ms. Joelynnchin, KL

Thank you for taking your valuable times in writing your review about our hospitality and services. We are proud of having you as our loyal guest. It is an honored to be able to give our excellent service to you while you were staying with us.

The buffet breakfast is our standard for food presentation. We do corrective action for checking the taste, to make sure not salty. We make sure when doing cleaning int he restaurant in the correct way.

We are much looking forward to welcome you back in the future visits.

Best regards,

Reza Bovier
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

One of the main reasons we had picked this hotel for this trip was because it is one of the closest hotels to the Jakarta International Java Jazz Fest 2013 venue at the Jakarta International Expo, Kemayoran. True enough, it wasn't quite close and despite the jam, we got to the venue and back in good time. It was also a good distance to all the other places we wanted to visit and to the airport too. And, as far as location goes, the bonus is that it is only like 10 seconds away from the Mangga Dua Square mall! Seriously, the entrance to the mall is right next to the hotel entrance - how convenient! This means that you can easily pop over to the mall, never worry about rain, transport or getting lost! Lots of shops, so, you can do a bit of shopping, have your meals (a variety of local food & international fast food brands) & there's a Carrefour too! Nice!

Having stayed at Amaris Cimanuk, this Amaris is considered huge! Alas, the rooms are still small.. but the space was well utilised and you get a small space (with hangers) to hang your clothes, a space beneath it that fits a cabin bag snugly, a small writing desk (of sorts) & bedside tables. The bathroom is of decent size with hot/cold water, good water pressure & there are soap & shampoo dispensers. The room also has a TV with numerous channels & a small safe. No tea/coffee making facilities but there's a hot/cold water dispenser on every floor. So, you can still make a hot beverage if you like as they do provide mugs in the rooms but.. NO spoons! You may want to bring one of those disposable spoons back after a visit to one of the fast food joints at the mall next door! Haha.. The room we stayed in was one in the middle row and although it had a window, it looked out to an empty space in the building. This wasn't not disappointing in the least, in fact, it turned out a blessing as it made the room really quiet and sleep very peaceful! Plus, the air conditioner worked well, the bed & pillows are comfy & the room was very clean.One minor snag though - the common area light shines in from the window & window shade is rather thin, so, don't expect darkness at night. Fortunately for us, we were quite tired and it didn't bother us!

Buffet breakfast is included in the room rate & the spead consists of mainly Indonesian fare, but there is also an egg station, bread for toasting, congee & fruits. Personally, I found the food to be fine, especially 'uncomplicated' dishes like congee, fried rice & fried noodles, but my friend didn't enjoy the food as much. There's also a cafe in the hotel, but then again, you have the mall next door.

I enjoyed my stay here and wouldn't mind staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GPenaflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reza b, Manager at Amaris Hotel Mangga Dua Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear GPenaflorida, KL

Thank you for taking your valuable times in writing your review about our hospitality and services. We are proud of having you as our loyal guest. It is an honored to be able to give our excellent service to you while you were staying with us.

Our standard is providing the mug only, because no minibar provided.

We are much looking forward to welcome you back in the future visits.

Best regards,

Reza Bovier
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Lived in Amaris many times, feeling that is OK, easy to get food here even mid-night, near to the e-produts wholesale place, clothing n other commodities wholesale place, like small unique things from Gold bamboo n drinks n food at TTS. very near to the big seashore amusement park, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpaceHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reza b, Manager at Amaris Hotel Mangga Dua Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear SpaceHorse

Thank you for taking your valuable times in writing your review about our hospitality and services. We are proud of having you as our loyal guest. It is an honored to be able to give our excellent service to you while you were staying with us.

We are much looking forward to welcome you back in the future visits.

Best regards,

Reza Bovier
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed for 3days and 2 night last september 2012 with all my office colleagues as we are on company teambuilding trip.

Ihave arranged the booking through Air Asia Go website. Upon checked in the hotel reception area was packed of guest lining up for registration and only 2 person handling check in. Waiting area or lobby is too cramp and small. By right only one person from each group which was assigned to be the leader handling all delegates and refer to the listed that we have provided should be sufficient. The hotel staff insisted to see individual passport of guest for verification thus making the counter crowded. It should not be the way to handle big group.

The room is clean with modern facilities and having flat a screen TV hangging opposite to the bed. This hotel is very suitable for those who preferred simple and convenience as on the ground floor connected to the building is the shopping mall. If a traveller just need a good rest at night without bordering so much on thier facilities, this is the right choice.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Rahim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reza b, Manager at Amaris Hotel Mangga Dua Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Mr. Rahim E.

Thank you for taking your valuable times in writing your review about our hospitality and services. We are proud of having you as our loyal guest. It is an honored to be able to give our excellent service to you while you were staying with us.

The passport verification is a regulation for the hotel. We do corrective action by separate check-in when handling group to avoid crowded in lobby area.

We are much looking forward to welcome you back in the future visits.

Best regards,

Reza Bovier
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

- my second time staying here, and I'm satisfied with my stay.
- polite staffs, always smiling and greeting us.
- very clean room, eventhough simple, but adequate.
- I especially love the location, attached to the Mangga Dua Square mall. I can even go shop at the mall till it's closed and have a safe journey back to the hotel. Just 2 minutes walk from the mall :)
- nice free breakfast. I love the chicken porridge.
- within walking range to ITC Mangga Dua, Pasar Pagi, Harco
- complimentary mineral water provided, and hot/neutral/normal water dispenser is provided at near the rooms

Room Tip: ask for a room with the wash basin inside the toilet. I got a room with a wash basin outside the toi...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nohano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reza b, General Manager at Amaris Hotel Mangga Dua Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Nohano, Selangor, Malaysia

Thank you for taking your valuable times in writing your review about our hospitality and services. We are proud of having you as our loyal guest. It is an honored to be able to give our excellent service to you while you were staying with us.

We are much looking forward to welcome you back in the future visits.

Best regards,

Reza Bovier
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Pademangan
Hotel Neo Mangga Dua Square
Hotel Neo Mangga Dua Square
#171 of 464 in Jakarta
342 reviews
Sawah Besar
Hotel Zuri Express Mangga Dua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sawah Besar
Ibis Jakarta Mangga Dua Hotel
Sawah Besar
Le Grandeur Mangga Dua
Le Grandeur Mangga Dua
#99 of 464 in Jakarta
282 reviews
Pademangan
Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaris Hotel Mangga Dua Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaris Hotel Mangga Dua Square

Address: Jl. Gunung Sahari no. 1, Jakarta 14420, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Pademangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Price Range: $27 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amaris Hotel Mangga Dua Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amaris Hotel Mangga Dua Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing