We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great flavors, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Amuz

Amuz
Ranked #100 of 7,684 Restaurants in Jakarta
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Jakarta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great flavors, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

I went to Amuz by myself for a quick business lunch. Great flavors in every dish made it a great experience. I had the Salmon Avacado appetizer and the mushroom chicken main course. The service was to notch. The service is the best I've had in Jakarta. My only complaint was that the chicken was a bit tough but the great flavors made up for it. Great business lunch spot.

Helpful?
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rezathalib, Owner at Amuz, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Mr. Collin P,

Thank you for your visit to AMUZ. Apologize for late response, we highly appreciate your feedback and certainly rewarding our service and kitchen team.
Looking forward to serve you in near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    42
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
192 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings - great food, terrible seating arrangements”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Took my wife here for her birthday dinner. It was during their truffle promotion too. I cannot remember the details of the food, but the dishes were between very good and excellent.

Wine list very good.

Service was excellent as well.

The main criticism is the layout and the way they allow people to sit and smoke in the central sofa area before/during/after their meal. So if you are sitting in a "non-smoking" seat on the periphery of that area, it is pretty hard to not have your meal polluted with secondhand smoke. I expect that in average restaurants, but not ones as good or as expensive as Amuz. Furthermore, there is an obvious location for the sofas for inconsiderate smokers - by the bar, well away from people trying to eat without additional odours.

The overall decor of the place is odd as well; it doesn't seem to have any "soul"; no interesting art. All very minimalist and boring.

Until they change the layout and the smoking policy (which I doubt they will!), I won't be returning, unless I could be guaranteed a seat in the far corner as far as possible from the offending sofa area (and hope nobody turns up wanting to smoke a cigar - which is quite likely, recognising this is a place where Jakarta's rich come to eat (and smoke!)).

Of course, if you are a smoker, then this place is highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rezathalib, Owner at Amuz, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Mr. Colin,

Thank you for your previous visit to AMUZ. Your feedback regarding our food and service are highly appreciated by both our culinary and service team. They are delighted to hear your positive comments.

We would like to apologize for our smoking policy in our restaurant which cause unpleasant experience for you and your wife. We certainly hear your comment and at the moment we are building our bar next to AMUZ which will make AMUZ a free smoking environment. Hopefully we can finished the bar project within February 2014.

We definitely will invite and welcome you to experience new AMUZ as a non smoking environment next year.

At the moment, should you need any assistance for you future booking please contact us anytime at our reservation number or simply email us at cheffounder@amuzgourmet.com for your smoke free environment dinner experience.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
“ANGEL HAIR”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

i miss so much angel hair aglio olio with lobster created by chef gilles marx...very very awesomeee....

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scarface1963P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rezathalib, Owner at Amuz, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear mr Fariz,

Thank you for your comment. We send over your compliment to Chef Gilles and his culinary team.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Interesting experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Was there for our anniversary dinner with the husband. The table setting was nice, they arranged some flowers and petals on the table and we got a corner table which was quite. Service was good, the staff was courteous, good table manner and they explain the food very well. We ordered the five course meal with wine pairing, but they didn't serve the wine until the second course as they missed our order. We kept having to ask for our water to be filled (not sure why they put aside the water bottles if they are not going to be attentive enough to refill the glass when it's empty... Might as well just leave the bottles on the dining table, one would think!). Food was good, they gave us a chocolate cake for our anniversary which was yummy. Had a problem with a side dish of a lamb entree which tasted a bit funky, not sure what it was but it tasted like a cross between an eggplant and a jalapeno? Overall it was a good dining experience. We liked the decor and ambiance, food was good, service was good but would expect more from a fine dining restaurant. One very interesting observation, the chef was around during our dinner time but he only comes to the table to shave the truffles (if they ordered something with truffle). We didn't see him interacted with the guests other than shaving the truffle and saying "bon appetite'. Which at some point lead us into thinking that he's a hired 'truffle shaver bule' pretending to be the chef with limited french vocabulary... We've dined in other fine dining restaurants not only in Jakarta and never seen anything like this. It wouldn't hurt to throw some charm and actually greet your patrons, considering it wasn't even half a full house. And just as we are heading into dessert, we saw the said chef sneaking out of the restaurant with his backpack.... I guess he had other truffles to shave elsewhere! All in all we thought it was interesting and we had a good time. Was it exceptional? Not really.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dworldismyoyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rezathalib, Owner at Amuz, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Mrs Dworldismyoyster,

Thank you for your recent visit to AMUZ with your husband. We are delighted to be your chosen venue for your special occasion with your love one. We highly appreciate you take your time to write us feedback through tripadvisor. Your feedback are seriously noted and has been forward to all related head departments.

The service team definitely will review their service sequence training for all the staff and the kitchen team will also review side dish that didn't went well with the lamb dish.

Last but not least, we also share your feedback with our chef and we make sure that it was a standard procedure for the chef to see all the table to get direct feedback from our clients.

Once again thank you for your constructive feedback which will be able to help us to improve our self immediately. Should you need assistance for your future booking please contact me anytime through our email address or reservation phone number.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Level Contributor
116 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fine dining at it's finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Great ambience with fantastic french food. Perfect setting for a romantic candle light dinner. The service was good as well

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sweetTooth21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rezathalib, Owner at Amuz, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Ms. Sweettooth21,

Thank you for your recent visit to AMUZ. We value your feedback as we always strive for continues improvement. We only can be able to improve our self by listening to our clients. There for your feedback is highly appreciated. We noted on the service still need to improve to be able to received 5 point from you. as for the value, we work our best to have the finest ingredients at reasonable price. However, Importation has been quite a challenge this days which impact to our supplier price. We always looking for the best sourcing to make sure our quality ingredients always available to please our clients.
Should you need further assistance for your future booking, please contact us anytime and we will make our self available for you.
Once again thank you for you kind attention.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amuz also viewed

 

Been to Amuz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing