We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“another Italian to go for” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocha & Bella

Ocha & Bella
Ranked #168 of 7,648 Restaurants in Jakarta
Cuisines: Italian, European, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“another Italian to go for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

it's quite a nice place to visit rather than to be stuck in Jakarta traffic. we ordered the green healthy salad, classic italian pizza and lasagna which exceeded our expectations. they managed to put their effort to have all dishes as italian as possible. the food, the ambiance and service was great! we like how the staff response to guests' request very friendly and fast. they gave us a treat of delicious tiramisu for participating in their social media program. a bonus that we were happily accept! :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Incredimya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    127
    53
    12
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellence.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

I had tagliana and crochette mushroom. Both were yummy indeed. Atmosphere were nice and cozy, but nothing special.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NadiaMika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangladesh
Level Contributor
118 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Terrible Service, lovely food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

How they can make a profit employing the staff they do defeats me. The food was excellent, really good pizza, excellent salad.
The wine waiter could not find any wine, didn't know what he had or didn't. Don't ask for the wine list, it is irrelevant. Some you could have by the glass but not by the bottle, some by the bottle but not by the glass. It took 20 minutes to deliver a bottle of red wine. Crazy.
The food was similar. I ordered a coffee for breakfast and was sitting opposite a small Japanese man (I am a big European) The waiter bought back the coffee and gave it to the other guy! Visual dyslexia?
You had to ask twice for everything and the two young women in charge were more interested in strutting their stuff than ensuring the restaurant was working.
Only go there out of curiosity!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the Middle of the Madness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Once you've made your way through the 3-in-1 and then the traffic on Wahid Hasyim or Jaksa, you will be relieved to find a easy parking at the Morissey Serviced Apt. You'll make your way by walking through it's interesting lobby until you find yourself in warmly lit Ocha & Bella. You'll find the temptation to sit outside irresistible. Surrounded with greenery that covers the ugliness of the street, you'll be lost and mesmerized at your candle lit tables. You'll be in a good mood because the waitstaff are pleasant and attentive and you'll probably enjoy your pizza or pasta. You will leave this place with a smile and you will be refreshed to face the madness again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank arh828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Why did we bother?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Online reviews and recommendations from friends led us to try this restaurant. At the end, we were left wondering why we had bothered at all.

1. Wine order. Battasiolo Chardonnay. We lived in Piemonte for five years and have particular fondness for certain wines. We also lived in Indonesia for 12 years so we recognised a wonderful opportunity to obtain a decent (note: not great) Italian wine for a reasonable price. Sadly, the Battasiolo was "habis". But so was everything else on the Chardonnay list. In fact, it came down to what was available AT ALL. Answer: not much and nothing that we would have chosen had anything else on the list been available.

2. Meal timing. We each ordered our meals and requested that these come together. Again, having lived in Italy, we understand that primi arrive before secondi. But this is Indonesia and people here expect to eat together. I received my pasta, which was indeed fresh, quite rapidly. And then the wait began for my husband's pizza.

3. The interminable wait. I am a characteristically European eater, i.e. slow. It drives my husband bonkers. Yet even as I extended my usual consumption patterns, my husband's pizza still had not arrived. In the end, he cancelled the order....several times just to make certain that staff knew he was dissatisfied. At about the same time I requested the bill, the multiply-cancelled pizza arrived. He sent it back at about the same time the bill arrived. Of course it included the pizza. I requested the charge for it to be removed, which was honoured by the staff (but not without a fair bit of faffing about and yet more time spent in consultation with a foreign chef who decided that our dissatisfaction did not warrant a table visit while his attractive female Indonesian patrons next to us did).

4. The exit. No effort by management or owners to discern what had gone wrong. The poor wait staff had to shoulder the burden of our dissatisfaction, not being empowered to do anything to remedy the situation. I feel badly for them. Management, who were quite present at the time we entered the restaurant, curiously were absent when we left.

The final analysis: We had high hopes for this restaurant. It failed at almost every stage. My recommendation is to give this place a miss and head to the warungs that line Hasyim Wahid. You'll get fresh food, good service and an authentic experience. Oh and no corkage if you bring your own wine.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocha & Bella also viewed

 

Been to Ocha & Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing