We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smart hotel = only idiots chose it!”
Review of Smart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smart Hotel
Ranked #192 of 376 Jakarta B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 9, 2011

My company arrange for me to stay at this hotel last week. This must be the worst hotel I've ever been in my life! The room was very dirty. There were dirty spots in the bed linen, the bed cover and pillow. The shower curtain was old and stained. The worst part of all was at the middle of the night, they spread the halls to the room with the dengue fever prevention spray (fogging). The fog was at the inside the room too. To make it worst, the exhaust was not working plus there were no windows. WHAT WERE THEY THINKING? STUPID IDIOTS!! I The front office staffs were not so friendly too.. I strongly believe that this hotel is usually used for "short time" only. YOU'RE CRAZY IF YOU WANT TO STAY IN THIS HOTEL!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank silenthill_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 118 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2011

Okay, this is a budget hotel and a smart one, true to its name. We just wanted to crash in for the night, arriving late in Jakarta and on the way to Pelabuhan Ratu next morning. So, budget and location were the only criteria.

For the price (350K rupiah or 40USD), it's one of the cheaper hotels in Jakarta and certainly for it's location. This is near Bunderan square, within walking distance to Grand Indonesia, Plaza Indonesia, Ex and some other malls. Since we were arriving late, we wanted that to go to some restaurant or bar and some of them are open till after midnight. A few blocks further, you can walk to the National Monument. Public transport is right there too and that's important since the TransJakarta bus with its special lane is the only thing that moves during peak hours.

Reception was quick with a welcome drink - a local beverage with vitamins which was surprisingly good. Room was small but big enough for a double bed and space to move around. The TV, with local channels, was hanging from the roof which did not intrude into the space. Bathroom was clean and surprising big. You get towels but bring your own toiletries. Most rooms don't have windows so ask for one with windows.

There's free wifi, breakfast and coffee too. You just call reception and they will bring coffee and breakfast to your room. Breakfast are small boxes with choice of Indonesian sandwich, fried rice or noodles. The breakfast boxes come in the morning, so order them as early as you can so that you get them while they are still hot and if you want a choice.

This is a good choice if you are on a budget and looking for a central location and just a place to crash. Otherwise, spend a few more dollars or look for something in the north or south of Jakarta. You will give up on location so make sure you have public transport close by in that case.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woaishanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

As many travelers reviewed negatively on this hotel, I believe that finding a hotel is relatively subjective at all. For my own particular standards (which is fairly moderate); this hotel is SMART indeed. Aside from being in a very nice strategic location it is very accessible to any form of transportation including what they call the “BUS WAY”. Nearest Bus Way station is TOSARI.

The hotel’s location is near very big and plush malls like Grand Indonesia, Plaza Indonesia and EX mall. All are just walking distances and very near each other! So for shopaholics and mall rats – this place is for you!

Smart hotel is the cheapest hotel that you can find amongst internationally known luxurious hotels like Hotel Nikko, Mandarin Oriental , Hyatt and the like which all belong in the same area as Smart Hotel. So this makes Smart Hotel the best place for budget travelers like me!

The hotel itself is a small hotel with two famous resident restaurants, Sizzler Amercian steak house and Kino taki Japanese restaurant. The room which I had (room 711) was a nice room (much for the price I paid – Rp350,000 = US$40 = Php1,750/per night --- as of this writing). I mean, a double comfy bed with 2-soft pillows and a not so good comforter – but would say kept me warm during the night. I had a window which has a view of the city and it feels nice waking up in the morning seeing the sunshine and the morning view from my window. The downside though, is the bathroom which is kinda old – rust and stains from the sink and the mirror are there for you to notice. But couldn’t complain more as water pressure is good and hot / cold shower is relatively good.

And so, to end this review, I can say that I plan to stay again in this hotel for my next visit to Jakarta. Smart choice … Smart Hotel!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a window (get room 711)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ricoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Actually, the location is good and near shopping. But everytime I take a cab, no driver knows the place. And giving the traffic conditions, looking for a hotel is the last thing u wanna do. I spent 1 hour looking for the hotel when I took a taxi from Grand indonesia (It is only 10mins walk away). Do take a good look of my pics as there's no big sign on hotel name. It's housed in a SIZZLER restaurant occupying only 3 floor of the building. It's across the street opposite ICBC bank and next to MEGA bank. Please bring the map and show the taxi driver.

The room is okie and it's wat you'll expect from budget hotel. Most rooms have no window and it's dark and dim.. It's small but clean and staffs are friendly. If u're on a budget and would like to have a city centre hotel, this us probably the best choice. Only 2 towel provided. No extra will be given even on request or exchange. No amenities like toothbrush etc. Just an All-in-1 Shower shampoo gel. Try to request for a room with window. (offer the receptionist a 20k and tell her to get u a good room.) The best thing is the Free Wifi.

Room Tip: Must get the room with window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suitejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Pro:
-Good location as near to main road; Jalan Thamrin and walking distance to large shopping venue such Grand Plaza,Thamrin Plaza,Tanah Abg (if you are walking maniac like us hehehe)..near to one of Jakarta Transbus station
-Convinient as the room size just OK for 2 person
-Suitable for traveller who need slightly better place but only for sleep,shower and place thing/luggage
-Breakfast in box and served directly to door step...taste?can't expect much :)
-The service is fine because there was room service everyday and the reception staff did help us in give direction+call for cab
-Money worthy?hmmm...50-50 even book via Agoda.com and have room with view rather get room at the center area (nightmare hahaha)

Contra:
-The hotel quite unknown...taxi driver have to ask friend huhuhu
-Breakfast stil need to be call every morning to send up even been told food of choice on the night before
-Red ant army...beware of leaving your food or try don't eat in room plsss
-Mention that it have high speed wi-fi but our handphones never can get connected
-Have only 1 lift service for the whole building so have to spend time a lil bit on waiting huhuhu

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IamDNSAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

First stay in this budget hotel. Good location, near Plaza Indonesia, Grand Indonesia and next to UOB Building where many food joints are found. Sharing the building with this hotel are 2 restaurants, "Kin No Taki" serving Japanese food, and "The Sizzler" serving western steak. Will try to write a review on the Japanese restaurant later. Finding this hotel could be a problem since the 2 restaurants are more prominent. The driveway to the front door is crammed. The hotel lobby is sort of hidden beneath the Sizzler's escalator. That's bad Feng Shui. The room is tiny, not sound-proofed, windowless and do not have proper wardrobe. The walls are not concrete but made of hardboards suitable for office partition. Cleanliness is a problem. The corridor and toilet stinks. The bed sheet and pillows are not that clean. Do not attempt to look under the bed as rubbish are found there. Breakfast is sent to the room at 7 am. The packed breakfast of Fried Rice and Cheese Sandwiches with Chocolate Rice is basic without coffee or tea. The taste was quite good. The saving points for this hotel are the 2 in-house restaurants. Unless you are here for the food (the 2 restaurants), I would not recommend staying in this hotel. A nearby Studio One Hotel would be a better choice.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank romgozaimas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Pro.
-Good & cheap hotel.
-Near to shopping center

Conn.
-No greet upon arrival and departure by the front desk lady. Need inquiry always say 'NO' but male staff quite friendly & helpful.
-Breakfast only fried rice & fried egg. When ask for bread, answer by female staff 'No more'.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtdinonlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Clay Hotel Jakarta
Clay Hotel Jakarta
#256 of 471 in Jakarta
161 reviews
Menteng
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
#16 of 471 in Jakarta
1,597 reviews
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Hotel

Address: Jln. Tanjung Karang | Sizzler Building, Jakarta 10230, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Tanah Abang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 376 B&Bs / Inns in Jakarta
Price Range: $21 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing