We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Icon of The Jakarta Heritage” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jakarta Old Town

Jakarta Old Town
Book In Advance
More Info
$88.75*
and up
Private Tour: Discover Jakarta Old Town with Dinner
Ranked #13 of 262 things to do in Jakarta
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This is the old city of Batavia. Rundown, picturesque and a great night market.
2 reviews
“Icon of The Jakarta Heritage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

We all need to preserve and maintain the historical and cultural value of Jakarta, especially this Icon of the Jakarta heritage

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ZAEffendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    535
    378
    84
    24
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old city for new born”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

Batavia or old city of Jakarta provides many historical buildings.
I visited this place many times, since it was a mess and dirty, until now an improvement seen on going there.
I finally visited all museum at the last visit.
I juts realized that Old city has many great museums there. Not forget to mention puppet museum, handycraft museum and the most famous one, Fatahillah museum. My visit to Fatahillah two years ago left a good impression, but unfortunately many stuff were missing and left unmantained.
Hopefully government of Indonesia realize it is a good asset to maintain.
History should be maintaine carefully and showed beuatifully

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Runirusdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“one of the filthiest urban environments i have ever been to”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

sunda kelapa is a must see... traffic is very dense, tiring. view from the old watchtower is pretty good.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank muratgermen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Center of History”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

I love Kota Tua, you can find any interesting place in this area. You can find a good museum like Bank Indonesia Museum, Cafe Batavia, Kota Intan Bridge. But somehow i don't like the atmosphere in this area. Totally chaos, i mean you can see many people and sometimes it's very dirty.

If the government pay attention how kool this place, i think this place could be more awesome.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank wickeddevilzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
580 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Want a look back into the past? There you are...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Most Asian cities has take a big turnaround turning into high rise buildings, smart buildings and what not.

Some Asian ciites do maintain some past or colonial buildings as heritage.

Where to look for when you are in Jakarta? There you are. This is the place. You have to walk around to look what you are looking for. Don't give this area a miss if you are into old heritage and colonial buildings.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Long M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jakarta Old Town also viewed

 

Been to Jakarta Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing