We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High class local hangout”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Koi Kemang

Koi Kemang
Ranked #100 of 7,673 Restaurants in Jakarta
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Mampang Prapatan
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“High class local hangout”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Really interesting menu, great kitchen, very friendly service, excellent beer selection and an amazing wine list make Koi Kemang one of the nicest places to dine in South Jakarta.

Take the time to wander upstairs where fine furniture, mostly made from beautiful old reclaimed teak, is on display. An interesting sideline for a restaurant... Or is the restaurant the sideline?

Either way, this place is very popular with both expats and Indonesians, for good reason.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onowhereman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    100
    41
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and good portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Tucked away in Kemang, I consider Koi one of the gems in South Jakarta. I have been here 3 times and would keep coming back! My first time there was for lunch with a friend and I was impressed! The music didn't drown out our conversations and the service was relatively speedy. The menu is of the Asian & Western variety and they do a "decent" job. I will re-write this review again when I remember what I ordered during those three visits.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Still very poor service in this place. Even when it's quiet.
Too bad as the surroundings are nice as is the bar area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PakdeScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Casual dining, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Koi has been consistent in serving good food, from year to year the quality is the same. Nice place to hang out as well

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silvy P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Horrible duck confit salad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

There are places where one should order 'safe'. Koi is one of them. The club sandwich of my wife was fine, but the duck confit salad was truely terrible. The only reason to believe there was duck in there was due to a few bones I found in the fried heap of dripping fat shredded to miniscule pieces of 'meat'. I believe some mushrooms were mixed in there as well, but it was so salt, it was impossible to distinguish anything.
It was put on top of some cucumber and carrots, I guess to keep the title 'salad'.
Explaining later that day to a friend I had a bad lunch at Koi, he said 'dont tell me you took the duck salad' and when he saw my face then burst out laughing. I guess it is common knowledge.
The ambiance of the place is nice though, the coffee was fine, and apart from a 45 minute wait for the sandwich and the 'salad', the service seemed OK this time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurens_van_Lid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koi Kemang also viewed

 
Jakarta, Java
 
Jakarta, Java
 

Been to Koi Kemang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing