We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst customer service in jakarta.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Morrissey Hotel Residences
Ranked #56 of 465 Hotels in Jakarta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst customer service in jakarta.”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

I booked for a night here gambling on a hotel that is not well known. Now I am certain why it is not well known, front desk lady must be on PMS she couldn't smile, Even though I was the first to greet hello. After checking in, with my pregnant wife she asked us to wait for 1 hour to prepare the room. This is 1.30 pm which hotel does not have their room prepared by 1.30 pm??? After making us wait they did not offer any welcome or hospitality drinks. I've experienced hotels lots cheaper than this one but has better hospitality.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Magna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivy T, General Manager at Morrissey Hotel Residences, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs. Magna P,
Thank you for your recent feedback , We regret to hear re: customer service that you've experienced. Every customer is very important to us.
In order for us to clean and prepare our rooms for guests checking in, our check-in time is 2 pm. For days when our rooms are full, requests for early check-in will be considered based on room availability.
We would like to be in touch with you to understand your concern further.
We appreciate if you could inform us your contact details to ivy.thema@iammorrissey.com "
Sincerely,
Ivy Thema
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    320
    60
    18
    17
See reviews for
86
147
66
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The Morrissey certainly has a different feel about it. The entrance and reception area is fairly basic and doesn't create a very good first impression. The rooms are definitely different to most hotel rooms with a rather unusual blend of materials from the wooden floor to a white painted brick wall and a bare concrete ceiling. Sounds a bit like a warehouse but strangely, it all works to give a rather pleasant and relaxed feeling. I stayed in two rooms. The first had full width windows whereas the second had a window only extending over a third of the outside wall which gave a rather dark and enclosed feeling. Unlike a lot of hotels, everything in the room worked - the lights, the shower, the TV and the powerpoints. Everything was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. And if you want to make a small snack there are tea/coffee making facilities and a microwave. Perhaps the only frustration for me was the noise from footsteps in the room above and the frequent sound of closing doors. The breakfast is basic but adequate, The variety is not great and when there is a crowd the dishes are not replenished frequently. Another frustrating feature was the fact that the food was spread out and there was no cutlery on the table which meant that unless you are very well organised you can be walking backwards and forwards to collect the various items you need. On the 6th floor rooftop there is a pool and relaxation area which is well set up and give a good opportunity to escape the hustle and bustle of Jakarta. Lastly, food. The Morrissey has a small cafe and a separately owned, adjoining Italian restaurant which has an interesting menu but don't expect truly traditional Italian food - watching the pizza making in progress is, however, entertaining. Nearby there a wide range of eateries from the traditional small bars and restaurants just around the corner to the western style fast food chains and steakhouses just a 500m down the road. Overall, the Morrissey is definitely worth considering at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker insist on a non smoking room and try to get a room with full width windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank palmy_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The theme and decor of Morrissey is very modern yet they somehow managed to blend in old school furnitures and antiques (i.e. bikes, radio, etc.) very well. The rooms are lofty and extremely comfortable to be in, except maybe the sound from nearby pubs could be heard but very vaguely - being a light-sleeper, I had no difficulty falling asleep anyway. Toilet/shower is a tad small but adequate. The kitchenette is well-equipped (sink, induction stove, microwave oven, bread toaster, fridge, pots and pans, cutleries, etc.) and there're many lamps and power outlets in the room.

The rooftop is a nice place to chill out, besides the infinty pool and a very small workout room (I don't think it qualifies as a gym - only 2 cardio machines and free weights), there's a huge communal room with long dinner table and a kitchen island to boot.

Breakfast was good, both in terms variety and quality, and the dining area itself was very inviting.

Unfortunately, I lost some money in the room while having breakfast downstairs. Management might want to take note that there might be some dishonest people in the hotel, who has access to the rooms. In any case, it is rather odd that housekeeping was done in the morning, when most people are having breakfast.

That reminds us that no matter how nice and comfortable the hotel makes us feel, we must not let our guard down. Good thing I only lost some money, but that alone mars the whole experience and I will think twice about staying there again.

Room Tip: Take the side facing away from the pubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcusLiSGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augustina S, General Manager at Morrissey Hotel Residences, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Mrs. Marcus,

Thanking you for taking the time to review us.
We are pleased that you were generally satisfied with the overall service and facilities.
However we regret that we do not receive your report nor have chance to meet your goodself during your stay with us.
We will need few information from you in order to start our investigation.
You will be contacted through your direct email shortly.

Sincerely,
Ivy Thema
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 3 nights in this hotel
.. .......
- good location
- clean & design ( its a new )
- very nice servies
- fantastic pool at the roof
- exllent breakfast

But i face a littel disadvantages
1- a bad wifi system & bad internet
2 - you cant order any food from room servies to your room & the restorant there close at 11 pm

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nawaf_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This apartment is minimalist with full facilities. There is a pretty good pool and fitness area on the 6th floor. We can also relax with friends in this area because there is a place to relax. Unique interior and architecture building. Breakfast was quite varied

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Raja Kamar

Helpful?
Thank Juli Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Me and my husband stayed in this hotel for 3 days after our wedding, and I really really really love the interior design! The service was okay, the staff are friendly, the pool is great, the breakfast is buffet style and all food are delicious. Ocha Bella and Yaudah Bistro are next door, so it's a plus we don't have to go far away for food. It's walking distance to Jaksa where you can have cheap drinks and Thamrin area if you wanna go shopping to the malls. I really enjoyed my stay here and I would live there if I could afford it :D

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel for two days and it was not bad at all. The staff is very kind and are always ready to help you. The only minor let down has the small and hard queen bed. The nearby mosk did not bother us as this is a fact in this part of the world. I always carry ear plugs with me for any kind of noise at night and they did their job here as well.
We also recommend the Italian restaurant which is connected to the hotel. Nice food and kind staff!

Room Tip: Go for a king bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Tanah Abang
Kosenda Hotel
Kosenda Hotel
#20 of 465 in Jakarta
510 reviews
Menteng
Fraser Residence Menteng Jakarta
Aston at Kuningan Suites
#57 of 465 in Jakarta
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
#42 of 465 in Jakarta
771 reviews
The Grove Suites
#34 of 465 in Jakarta
585 reviews
Mercure Jakarta Sabang
#37 of 465 in Jakarta
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morrissey Hotel Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrissey Hotel Residences

Property: Morrissey Hotel Residences
Address: Jln. KH Wahid Hasyim no. 70 | Menteng, Jakarta 10340, Indonesia (Formerly Citadines Quartier Jakarta)
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#49 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrissey Hotel Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MORRISSEY is your partner in crime for your Jakarta adventure - we like to keep things simple - we offer you the freedom of self-contained, hotel residences, with the efficiency of hotel services and facilities. We like to do things differently at Morrissey - our spaces are designed with eclectic touches with a blend of traditional Indonesian, Dutch colonial and industrial accents. Stay connected with our free high speed wifi and cabled internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Morrissey Hotel Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrissey Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing