We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“love the room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morrissey Hotel Residences

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Morrissey Hotel Residences
Ranked #53 of 442 Hotels in Jakarta
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
311 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“love the room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The room design is one of the why i choose this place to have stay in during this period. It was also quite and very private, but still in the middle of city center so it's still easily to go around.

The room is quite big and have a pantry and also basic needs for your needs such as iron & microwave, stove,etc. The bathroom is quite small compare to the room, i love the couch and and big wide full wall window.

The breakfast is nothing special, not many patron during very early morning.
If you are looking for a simple but complete hotel room in the middle of city with nice cozy design, this might be your one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayu .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    291
    57
    13
    14
See reviews for
78
138
62
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

One night is not enough to stay at Morrissey. The interior is really homey with kitchen utensils and really possible to cook. It's not more like a hotel, but a home with its urban room decor. I was so impressed once i entered the room. Not finish yet painted ceiling and not cemented white wall make you feel like staying at the budget apartment in New York.

The location of its hotel is so strategic, in the central of city. You can walk distance to find restaurants, convenience stores, street foods and even the bars. Close to "Monas Park", Plaza Indonesia, Hotel Indonesia Roundabouts, Gambir Station and Trans Jakarta lane.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nonatiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

In october i stayed in morrisey for 2 nights in studio room,the room was very beautifull with the old school design and they provide dvd player in the room,also they have so many choice channel in television.they also have a sofa to relax beside the bathroom with the shower.Morrisey is located in central jakarta,so it was very easy to go to the shopping mall like plaza indonesia and grand indonesia with only idr 10000 by taxi The only negative thing is the table for the breakfast,we have to wait to got the table for breakfast,but that was not significant,because the breakfast i very good.i will back again in march when i transit in jakarta,for idr 800000 itvis good value

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimstet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The MORRISSEY is situated at a very convenient location, just walking distance to several restaurants, shopping malls and the national monument. Plaza Indonesia is approximately 30 minutes by feet.

We enjoyed the breakfast buffet, which offers a good variety of food. Try the restaurant "Ocha & Bella" connected to the hotel and you will fall in love with their dishes immediately.

The staff was very friendly and helped us in every situation.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room and try to grab one, which is not located at the roadside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bthoenissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

The date February 16, 2013 and we are booking to stay at the Hotel Morrissey in the context of my honeymoon, because we (my wife and i) on a motorbike. So we are not allowed to park inside the grounds there is no motorcycle parking. We are asked to park in the parking lot located behind the motor without being told exact location of the motor park.

We ended up parking in a place that we see the motorcycle parking. And the weather began to rain, after we parked the bike, it turns out we were told to move us to another bike by hotel security. Once again they just pointed place only. Finally we move again our motor to the designated place by the security, and the rain starting down . We asked if there was an umbrella that we can use to get to the loby. They just said we dont have it, without any action to look for an umbrella.

Just a little bit surprised, Morrissey premises had no umbrellas for guests who wish to stay there. Finally the rain became more heavily my wife and ran towards lobbying, when we arrived at lobby, I saw they have umbrellas, why hotel security had said there no umbrella when we ask? And it turns out there? Or maybe because we are just riding a motorcycle that is not served as they were driving a car?

but after all,the room is so nice n and cozy, the rooftop pool is great, so our disappointed were disappear

that was our experience, may be considered by the management of the Hotel Morrissey guests who will be staying at his hotel that uses motorcycles.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Upay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malacca
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Situated along the street of Jalan K.H. Wahid Hasyim i find that this hotel is strategically located where if u wanna spend your time shopping at Tanah Abang this will be the place, after a hard day's shopping u can really relax in Morrissey with the tranquile envoirnment especially the swimming pool at the top.
the room also is well equipped with all the basic amenities.
i love the restaurants and street food along the street and jalan sabang which makes your live more easy as you can choose from a wide variety of foods.
as for the sound from the mosque it is no problem for me as i am used to it here and thru out south east asia.
the breakfast is complete with wide variety of dishes to choose from.
Definately i will stay here again on my next trip as compared staying in the five star hotels as the density in five star hotel is more than in Morrissey.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffrylnorbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusa Dua, Indonesia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Morrissey (apparently named after d lead singer of 80s band The Smiths) is a small, hip & trendy serviced apartment in d heart of Jakarta.

LOCATION:
Great location. About 400m to Sarinah (Burger King, McD, Starbucks, Lotte mart). CircleK mini-mart to d left of hotel main entrance, 20meters. Less than 1 km to famous HI roundabout, Kempinski n to one of d premier malls in Jakarta, Grand Indonesia.

SERVICE:-
Service level was truly impressive. Staff have been well-trained. One employee made a U turn after walking past me as I was headed to d elevator to help me punch my floor after he realised both my hands were full with shopping bags.

Thats reflective of how everyone working in morrissey is - willing to go d extra mile, with a smile.

BREAKFAST:
Small selection of entrees but very good. Menu changes constantly. Highlight for me was d great Indonesian-style fried chicken one morning. I became addicted to d freshly brewed coffee.

ROOM:
I stayed in a Superior room. Minimalist all white interiors n naked concrete ceiling look didnt reli work for me, but no big deal.

Room was smaller than I expected, but sufficient for my needs, with sofa n work-table. Room is well equipped, with iron & board, n kitchenette has microwave, Electrolux toaster & water-kettle. Free WiFi.

Only real complaint about d room is that theres hardly any space inbetween shower n toilet seat. Those of large built may find it extremely uncomfortable to sit on toilet bowl- hardly any room to manouver.

OTHER NOTABLES:-
In-house Italian resto Ocha & Bella is one of d most popular in Jakarta, but I didnt have d chance to dine there.

Launderette on 3rd floor, complete with detergent.


BUT U HAVE BEEN WARNED...
PLS. MIND THE NOISE!!!
I reli hate to say anything negative about morrissey bcoz d hotel employees reli did leave such a hugely positive impression on me.

Unfortunately, EjTr's review of Dec.31, 2012 was totally spot on about d noise. D sounds from d houses of worship nearby reli did feel like it was right outside my window, at most hours of d night. Intermission, 12mn to 4am.

I was 9 floors up (d hotel is 10 storeys high), n on right (Jalan Jaksa) side of building - Im not a light sleeper but I cud constantly hear so much, at almost all hours. Most mornings, I was awakened at 4am.

CONCLUSION:
Morrissey is a stellar & hip little hotel, with fantastic employees. Great location. Very good breakfast.

Just reli noisy... I wud like to give it another chance, despite d noise. Thats how good it is. But I will have to bring ear plugs!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rollingstone66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Tanah Abang
Kosenda Hotel
Kosenda Hotel
#15 of 442 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Menteng
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
#28 of 442 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Jakarta Sabang
#33 of 442 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Kemang Icon By Alila
#109 of 442 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morrissey Hotel Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrissey Hotel Residences

Property: Morrissey Hotel Residences
Address: Jl. KH Wahid Hasyim no. 70 | Menteng, Jakarta 10340, Indonesia (Formerly Citadines Quartier Jakarta)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#48 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrissey Hotel Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MORRISSEY is your partner in crime for your Jakarta adventure - we like to keep things simple - we offer you the freedom of self-contained, hotel residences, with the efficiency of hotel services and facilities. We like to do things differently at Morrissey - our spaces are designed with eclectic touches with a blend of traditional Indonesian, Dutch colonial and industrial accents. Stay connected with our free high speed wifi and cabled internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Morrissey Hotel Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrissey Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing