We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“jkt alternative to the classics”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Morrissey Hotel Residences
Ranked #56 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Morrissey is a very good alternative to the 5 stars hotels in Jakarta. Nice spaces, modern, a pause in the crowded city, you feel the human scale here. The restaurant besides is quit good also. Breakfast no so amazing but good enough. Prices adequate for the area and offer. To be repeat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (742)
There are newer reviews for Morrissey Hotel Residences
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

578 - 584 of 742 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

It was my second time to stay in Morrissey. Since my first stay in December last year, I could feel that the business was going well, and they improved things that I felt lacking in my first time. Breakfast got hugely improved. There were more choices, including some pastries and omelette and waffles cooked on the spot. The staff were very attentive and smiley. It is a design apartment, but at the same time I found the room/building facilities quite practical to use. The bed was very comfortable. It is located near major shopping malls of Jakarta such as Plaza Indonesia and Grand Indonesia (10 minutes by taxi) and has a great Italian restaurant, Ocha & Bella, in the same building (although the two are not related). It is good value for money, and I would definitely stay again in my next visit to Jakarta.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamutukness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This apartment located in a strategic location with eateries nearby as well as banks (HSBC is right opposite to it) and shopping complex named Sarinah. By taking a short ride in taxi (roughly 10 to 15 minutes without traffic congestion), you are able to visit the popular shopping malls in Jakarta like Plaza Indonesia, eX shopping mall and Grand Indonesia Mall. In my opinion, these places are not really within walking distance but if you want to explore the city more, you may take your time walking to such malls.

The apartment lobby was nicely decorated with many antiques and vintage collections which even included the design of the rooms. The white bricked walls really gave the contemporary yet retro feeling and most importantly, the room was very spacious! Most of the basic home equipment and cooking utensils that you could think was already provided such as: toaster, microwave oven, dvd player, cooking pots, fridge, hair dryer and etc. Thus, it's really convenient and if you don't wish to dine out, you may get some groceries and cook yourself in the kitchen.

The downside was that it was closely situated to the mosque thus I found the dawn prayer pretty annoying and it actually disturbed my sleep. And also at around midnight, there would be few guys booming dangdut music in their ride by the roadside which was really disturbing and noisy.

The housekeeper took our used towels and did not replaced with the new ones. And the electricity in the living room tripped twice which got us thinking the electricity in the apartment was not stable.

Breakfast was average only, nothing special to me.

Other than these, it was still a pleasure experience staying with Morrissey ;)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blu3qu3en
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This place is more like a hotel. We choose this place thinking that it has a 2 rooms apartment for families. As there were 4 of us, we booked 2 rooms with connecting doors. Instead we were given one room with one large bed. When asked again they did make a mistake and my 2 young daughters were later given a smaller room at a different floor.

We stayed for one night before returning home the next day.The studio executive room was large and spacious. The studio room was small. The beds were comfortable. There was a fully equipped kitchenette. This place is quite pricey but comfortable for relaxation and holiday. The breakfast is fine but could have been more tasty.

The rooms had no balcony. It is a bit claustrophobic. The corridors were bright during the day because of the glass on one side of the wall, but are dark and gloomy most of the time.This place is good for couple or those on business trips as it is located in Central Jakarta. We booked through Agoda and there was not many family concept rooms to choose from. If only there are a family concept serviced apartment or at least rooms with partitions or connecting doors it would be perfect. Putting family members or children far from parents is not ideal.

Room Tip: If you are travelling in groups it is best to check in early, otherwise most of the rooms are taken...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NINA61AW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This 10-storey tall building is situation near Jalan Jaksa (drinks and food) and within walking distant to Sarinah on one side and Gambil train station on another.
Nice swimming pool on the 6th storey where one can swim to the edge of the road.
Be prepared to be awaken by daily (4.30 am) early morning prayers.
Rooms are keep clean daily.

Room Tip: Room facing the main road, Jalan Wahid Hasyim, will be less affected by the morning prayers.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

A nice simple serviced apartment. The room are clean, the kitchennette is basic, yet have the right things for you to cook. It was great there and i would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nazarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

i wished i can stay there longer..we arrived quite late and knackered to the bone but checking in was smooth and fuss-free. Thumbs up to the free in-room wifi and complete kitchen utensils & appliances. Iron and iron board are also readily provided in the room. Toilet and shower room is a tad too small for me but I survived. I fell in love with the lobby's design and ambience. For what it's worth I am definitely going back there whenever I make a trip to Jkt.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theV0ice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Tanah Abang
Kosenda Hotel
Kosenda Hotel
#19 of 464 in Jakarta
546 reviews
Setiabudi
Aston at Kuningan Suites
Aston at Kuningan Suites
#60 of 464 in Jakarta
502 reviews
Menteng
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
#41 of 464 in Jakarta
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
Fraser Residence Menteng Jakarta
Menteng
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro
Mercure Jakarta Sabang
#37 of 464 in Jakarta
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morrissey Hotel Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrissey Hotel Residences

Address: Jln. KH Wahid Hasyim no. 70 | Menteng, Jakarta 10340, Indonesia (Formerly Citadines Quartier Jakarta)
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#50 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range: $81 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrissey Hotel Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MORRISSEY is your partner in crime for your Jakarta adventure - we like to keep things simple - we offer you the freedom of self-contained, hotel residences, with the efficiency of hotel services and facilities. We like to do things differently at Morrissey - our spaces are designed with eclectic touches with a blend of traditional Indonesian, Dutch colonial and industrial accents. Stay connected with our free high speed wifi and cabled internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Morrissey Hotel Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrissey Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing