We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morrissey made my day...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morrissey Hotel Residences

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Morrissey Hotel Residences
Ranked #55 of 453 Hotels in Jakarta
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Morrissey made my day...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

i wished i can stay there longer..we arrived quite late and knackered to the bone but checking in was smooth and fuss-free. Thumbs up to the free in-room wifi and complete kitchen utensils & appliances. Iron and iron board are also readily provided in the room. Toilet and shower room is a tad too small for me but I survived. I fell in love with the lobby's design and ambience. For what it's worth I am definitely going back there whenever I make a trip to Jkt.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theV0ice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    300
    57
    16
    16
See reviews for
83
142
65
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed 2 nights in a exec studio on the 10th floor. First impression was OK, new with bare minimal carpet, no underlay. Comfortable for the 1st night. Breakfast was average.
Second night I was repeatedly woken by noise in the hallway and in the next unit, from a about 11:30pm. Initially thought it was late night guests return, so tried to ignore and sleep. However, after increasingly loud noise in the next unit, I checked the corridor and found the apartment workers moving stuff around. A phone call to reception confirmed they were the maintenance team. They stopped work at 3:30am, by which time, there was no chance of sleep for an agitated mind.
It is beyond belief that management cannot provide the basic requirement of any traveller - a good nights sleep. Who would program maintenance at night in a apartment where people are PAYING for a nights sleep? Intolerable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ozman07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati city
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

It's value for money. Staffs are helpful, interior designed just art right. Bad side is many locals staying may be due to price and location. I love their free in-room wifi this one thing I check before I stay in a hotel. Yes I highly recommend this.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MakaticityBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hometown
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

I was a bit curious when I saw so many positive comments about the Morrissey. But I can really recommend this place; it has maybe one of the best roof pool areas I know in Jakarta. It is not one of the typical 5-star hotels where you sometimes feel like in Disneyland. The Morrissey is more like a designer hotel; the rooms have a special atmosphere and are spacious and very clean. I stayed in a studio with cooking facilities and large enough to feel comfortable. The internet was for free (cable and WiFi) and worked very well. However, the bathroom is not very big, and you may need to get accustomed to the fact that the washbowl is outside the bathroom. The only thing I missed was a room service, there is an Italian restaurant downstairs, but unfortunately you can't order to your room. Everything else was really fine, nice and friendly staff, good location in the centre of the city. If I go back to Jakarta, I will definitely stay there again.

Oh yes, the prayers in the morning, that's a bit of a problem. But what shall the hotel do about it? Call the local mullah and ask him to be quiet? I used earplugs, that's the best way to avoid waking up at 5 in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hotelsurvivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Recently stayed at Morrissey and took the studio room. It was wonderful, the building, the setup, the furniture everything was perfect. The only drawback was the bathroom, it's a tad too small, but overall this hotel/apartment was brilliant. It gave me insight on how my future house/room would look like.

Price wise, for Indonesians, without myself being cocky, i think you have to dig a bit deeper to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

I have stayed at the Morrissey twice, both times as a long staying guest. I have been a regular visitor to Jakarta over the last number of years staying everywhere from the Kempinski and Hyatt to the Ibis. Of the places I stay this is the one that feels like home.
The hotel itself is extremely well located on Jalan Wahid Hasyim, which is very close to the main shopping and entertainment areas. You can take a taxi for around US$1 or choose to walk. Personally I like the walk because it gives you the chance to interact with the friendly people of this great city. There are plenty of eating places nearby as well. There are some good bars as well locally for a reasonably priced drink.
The lobby and public areas are very inviting and stylish. The hotel cafe is pleasantly laid out and focuses on buffets, there is an independently run and slightly pricey Italian restaurant attached as well if you need something more fancy.
The staff are great from front desk to housekeeping, universally friendly and helpful. Even if you have a small problem they will do their very best to resolve. I got to know some of them well and they are excellent and really try to do their very best for their customers.
The rooms are stylish have plenty of storage space and everything that you need. They are cool and modern and in serviced apartment style have a small kitchenette, and a sofa/living room area, even in the smaller studio apartments space is not an issue. I have not stayed in the one or two bedroom apartments but I did visit them before I booked and they were lovely, a real home from home. I think the hotel will need to work to ensure that the rooms do not get tired out with hard use. On my second visit clearly a previous guest had been very rough with the room, so maintaining the standard as new needs to be a focus for Morrissey. However the rooms are great, not the height of luxury but cool and modern with everything you need to be comfortable. A genuinely viable serviced apartment.
The public areas especially the swimming pool are lovely, very cool and stylish with great views over the city. There is a small but very usable fitness centre, again with views over the city as you exercise. The business centre is very cool with lots of Apple Computers (should that be your thing) and friendly and efficient staff.
The breakfast buffet is good and had improved between my first stay in October 2011 and my second in March 2012, with more variety and better Western choices. Its pretty good considering what you pay for the room here, plenty of choice although for me the hot food tended to local tastes a bit too much and has some strange selections for Western tastes at breakfast.
What I like about this place apart from its cool modern design is the personal touch, I guess something I got from a longer stay but things like additional water and shower gel in the room because they know you like that really make you feel taken care of.
So lastly price, there are competitive deals on Agoda and direct with the hotel, especially if you are booking for a long stay, which gives you extra perks like 4 pieces of laundry free a day. That really is very useful. They have a laundry but I am not sure the flash Samsung washing machines are really suitable for constant use they seem to break down often. Laundry comes back immaculate, and once again included in the price! Internet again is free and also the speed seems to have improved, wi-fi in public areas and wired in the room. The hotel represents simply fantastic value for money.
So I think you can guess I recommend very strongly this hotel. A great place to stay and stunning value, particularly recommended for a long stay.

Room Tip: Rooms all seem to be a reasonable standard, there is some noise at prayer time from the mosques so a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alster2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

hat it's NOT offering:
- glitzy, glamorous or grandiose
- international hotel brand image
- wall-to-wall upholstery and carpets
- upper class pampering service

Why? Upon checking in and staying the night, you quickly learn that this is not what guests come to this hotel for.

What it DOES offer:
- cool, minimalist style (e.g. white brick walls and dark wooden floors in the room)
- capsule kitchenette in each room
- open space, horizontal lines, uncluttered airiness everywhere
- basic healthy breakfast bar and lobby lounge
- 3rd floor rooftop pool on the lower building, wood-bedecked, with open-air showers
- although it's obviously securely guarded on the outside, it somehow fits perfectly into a low-traffic street scene where you find everything you want (street stalls, restaurants, convenience stores,…)
- location: nearby to both Grand Indonesiaa and the historical centre
- a reasonable price level for what you get

this is a hotel that's not for everyone, but if you like your hotel to be understated and unassuming while offering all the modern basics and a funky-cool vibe, this is the place for you.
My personal favourite in Jakarta right now.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dirkdewilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Tanah Abang
Kosenda Hotel
Kosenda Hotel
#17 of 453 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Menteng
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
#39 of 453 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Menteng
Fraser Residence Menteng Jakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aston at Kuningan Suites
#52 of 453 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Mercure Jakarta Sabang
#34 of 453 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morrissey Hotel Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrissey Hotel Residences

Property: Morrissey Hotel Residences
Address: Jln. KH Wahid Hasyim no. 70 | Menteng, Jakarta 10340, Indonesia (Formerly Citadines Quartier Jakarta)
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#51 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrissey Hotel Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MORRISSEY is your partner in crime for your Jakarta adventure - we like to keep things simple - we offer you the freedom of self-contained, hotel residences, with the efficiency of hotel services and facilities. We like to do things differently at Morrissey - our spaces are designed with eclectic touches with a blend of traditional Indonesian, Dutch colonial and industrial accents. Stay connected with our free high speed wifi and cabled internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Morrissey Hotel Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrissey Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing