We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location bad accomodation”
Review of Hotel Mustika

Hotel Mustika
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Mustika
Ranked #396 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Reviewed April 24, 2014

It is located in good location near Candra Naya. This is probably one of the worst hotels we stayed at so far while travelling in Asia. Yes the price is cheap but you can find better accomodation for same price in the same area. The air con and shower in the room were faulty and did not work properly. The staff lacked any service training and could barely speak any English always mixing up the order. The bed was fairly comfortable. When we told the staff about the maintenance issues in our room they eventually came but whatever they did did not fix the problem. Better to look around for other places.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelsie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mustika
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 14 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed there for three nights, paying around 24$ per night. The hotel is clean but has a bit run-down look a la 70's (and not in a good, retro way). There is also strong smell of tobacco in the lobby as people are smoking there.
We had a big, clean twin room next to the elevator (very noisy), and the walls are quite thin, so you need to use your ear plugs if you don't want to listen to your neighbours discussions. Bathroom was spacious with hot water which was nice after a day out in the cold rain.
There were only local channels on the tv, so we did not watch it much. We had also A/C which was working sporiadically.
We had the continental breakfast with some tea, toast and marmelade, not very tasty.
The staff was really friendly and helpful.
The location is good as there is a bus and train stations nearby, and easy distance from the monument and Kota. The neighbourhood is otherwise dodgy and busy, not a place to stroll around.
I think the hotel is a bit pricey for what they offer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I was staying at this hotel in regards to find any BUDGET hotel located near Candra Naya, for a business purpose. Yes, it is only a few walking distance from Candra Naya and I took a very standard room, for 1 night only.

My friend told me not to hope so much for this hotel unless a place just for sleep and take showers only. Even since the first I call at its reservation officer, there was NO thank you words from the one who received my phone.

The TV channels were sooo.... terrible. It seemed, there are never even a single repair.

I did not take any breakfast from this hotel as I noted the breakfast must be crappy.

It was also NO thank you words from the reservation officer lady at the time I checked out. And a small cocroach found under the bed.

The good points of this hotels are : the location only walking distance between Glodok, Petak 9, Candra Naya, the warm water and the decent price which you can hope for nothing.

Room Tip: No elevator provided, but the higher level rooms may have less karaoke noises.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed three nights at Hotel Mustika. The good things about the hotel are the rate and the location. Otherwise the hotel is not so very good. It's located near to the Pasar Senen railway station and a stop of the transjakarta busway. A shopping mall is also within walking distance (10 min). Apart from being close to these things it is also very close to a mosque and a busy road which means that there is a lot of noise from outside, day and night. It is best not to have a room in the front of the hotel. Our room was ok for the rate that we paid. The bathroom started to smell as soon as we turned on the shower (I think the smell came out of another drain).
And last but not least: The breakfast. First we got two untoasted pieces of toast and a bit of butter and chocolate sprinkles. That was it. All the asian guest got fried rice so we asked for fried rice too which we got. But that was also not very tasty so we decided to skip the breakfast the other days of our stay. The staff was friendly.
The next time I would pay a little more for another better hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back of the hotel. Skip breakfast!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Den78X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I really don't like writing bad reviews but to be honest, Me and my boyfriend have been travelling for 3 months in SE Asia, and all the different kinds of accommodations stayed at in Thailand, Cambodia, Indonesia. This was probably one of if not the worst place, it was the few available for a decent price during this holiday (it was 50% off for grand opening). I give it 2/5 because we got to speak to the owner Leon who was really nice, and he just opened it up in Feb... but it wasn't ready to be opened. He ensured us that there are still things to be updated but that if we needed anything we could just let him know. He is Chinese-Australian so he speaks very good English.

The sink handle broke the first time I tried to turn on the tap. The shower head sprays out far out past the shower boundary. The fan in the bathroom does not ventilate anything causing the whole room to steam up and get really really really really hot. The AC is a poor eco-friendly unit that at blasting 16 degrees it's blowing warm air. We had to resort to opening the windows just to get some cooler air. The employees never got the food order right, when we call them they just say yes because they'd rather do that than tell us they don't understand. When we asked about the AC/Fan they said they would "send the boy up"... they always "sent a boy up" that did nothing but do the exact same things we did that failed to solve our solution. They never know what is available in the kitchen and the common solution is to "change rooms"... they were all the same. And whenever they say they'll be right up/call you back right away... it meant 20-30 minutes later OR never. The sleep quality got a 4/5 because the bed was comfortable and when it was 10pm after, it was cool enough to enjoy our sleep.

Basically, it shouldn't have been open this early in the stage, the staff were not trained properly, they don't go slightly out of the way to make it more comfortable for us (they told us they had no plug-in fan to help the heat), the owner is really nice but doesn't make up for these many many slip-ups that caused a lot of frustration. We enjoyed staying in bungalows with uncontrollable mosquitos, sleeping on klotoks more than this 'higher-end' hotel.

Room Tip: If you stay here, close the doors to the washroom so the steam stays out of your room, stay out of y...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocelyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

the hotel is very dirty. The floor is wet and our steps will stick in the floor. Mosquitos in the room. TV channel is bad. Bad TV. I had took some pics of the pillows. They are too dirty and smelly. Not recomended if you are looking for a clean cheap and comfort hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank thaindiol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Locate at Glodok which is Jakarta Chinatown, this hotel offer good value room, with AC, attached bathroom with hot shower. The place is safe and quiet.

"Free breakfast" from 6-9, please get the coupon from the receptionist.

From here to Kota is near, just few station away by busway. So the location is good.

Opposite the hotel is a mall, you could find everything inside, at night you can go out to the street to have some local foods.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Joeeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Cordex Hotel Ancol
#203 of 464 in Jakarta
10 reviews
Menteng
B Shaw Hotel & Restaurant
B Shaw Hotel & Restaurant
#194 of 464 in Jakarta
8 reviews
Bold Hotel Jakarta
#125 of 464 in Jakarta
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sawah Besar
No photo provided
Hotel Lautze Indah
#348 of 464 in Jakarta
3 reviews
MyHotel
#248 of 464 in Jakarta
30 reviews
Plaza Hotel Mangga Dua
#346 of 464 in Jakarta
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mustika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mustika

Address: Jln. Gajah Mada no. 193E, Jakarta 11120, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #396 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Price Range: $14 - $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Mustika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing