We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, facilities and food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar
Ranked #75 of 453 Hotels in Jakarta
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay, facilities and food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

The best hotel I stayed in out of the four countries I visited while on my holiday. Great service always smiling staff and great food both for breakfast and at Joes Grill. The room service could improve with wait time but all good because you can relax in their facilities such as spar, pool or gym also to mention the best massage I had from the male masseuse most masseuses are soft this guy was awesome. Great place wanted to go back while in Hong Kong because service could not compare.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kamrannas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsbmb, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Reviewer, we are honored to read your review and hereby express our highest gratitude to you. Please be informed that we have taken note on all the positive comments given and truly appreciate them greatly.
We hope to see you here sometime soon. Meanwhile, thank you once again and have a great day ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    210
    73
    25
    12
See reviews for
75
69
28
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

i stayed 5 days in this hotel from dec 27th til jan2, i wrote to the hotel that i need a pick up from the airport and they replied to my email confirming that ill be picked up by white horse taxi which is the transportation company that the hotel deals with and in the email they told me that i dont have to pay any extra charge so i assumed that the pick up is free, when i arrived they charged me for the pick up cause the email wasn't clear enough, but its worth it was a fancy car and very polite people never asked for any tips or even gave a hint that they need.

they upgraded my room with no charge at all, room was very wide and very clean, room service always on time, food at the 2nd floor the swiss cafe was amazing, facilities from sauna, steaming room etc perfect,

the most thing that i loved is jose's grill its a resturant at the lobby of the hotel, i loved the food there, the presentation of the food alonr makes you wanna eat even if you are not hungry.prices are reasonable for a 4 stars hotel.

i want to add that indonesian people are very friendly polit and respectful in general, i felt the warm spirit every where i went in the city, everyone smiling and welcoming us with a warm heart

defenitly coming back and in swiss belhotel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsbmb, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear reviewer, We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Swiss-belhotel Mangga Besar.
Kindly be informed that we have taken note of all your concerns shared herein about your transportation and we will definitely use them as a milestone to gauge our performance in order to improve the overall standard of service offered to our distinguished guests.
Do visit us again at your soonest convenient as it is always a pleasure to have you in our Hotel.
A warm regards to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Level Contributor
122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

The one who checked for this hotel was my friend. She said that the room was upgraded because she is a regular customer. But from what i saw, it was poor. The view was another building that is so close to the hotel. The location of the door of the bathroom was very near to the study table, very inconvenience. The AC didn't work well. It was HOT!.Then it took about 30 minutes to fix the fridge because it was HOT. We called the mechanic twice!!

We leave the hotel in the afternoon. When we came back, the room was still messy. Ok, then we called for a clean towel. And again, we have to call twice and wait for about 30 minutes!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bikerinthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsbmb, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear reviewer, we regret to note your concern over incidents that happened during your recent stay with us. Do be informed nonetheless that it has always been our intention to ensure that the hotel provides the highest level of service standard to all our guests; whether in Front Office, Housekeeping, F&B maintenance.
Therefore, we have taken the initiative to highlight your comments to all the Team Members concerned to enable remedial actions be taken immediately; where such necessity is duly required.
In addition, we sincerely appreciate your rating of 4/5 for our location and Sleep quality given in your overall evaluation which clearly indicates that the staff training need to be re-enforced in other categories to significantly increase their competency at work.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was my second time staying in this hotel. The last stay was two years ago while it was newly opened, I wonder why the decor look like aged ago, especially the bathroom. Additional, poor maintenance of the Shower Stall and Air-Conditioner with water leakage. The Executive Room is big, clean, with good staff, the breakfast is okay, but the Fire Potatoes was cold. If needed to access WiFi in the room, not recommended to stay Room 03, as Room 03 is located at the end of corridor. You can’t to use your Mobile Equipment on the desk, need to stay behind of the Main Door instead.

Room Tip: Room 03 is located at the end of corridor, so that to access Internet has the problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lkamwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain C, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying at the Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar recently.
we acknowledged your concerns regarding the several issues shortcomings and have advised them accordingly with a stern reminder to maintain the highest level of service standard at all times.
Thank you once more for taking your time to share with us your experience; and, rest assured we will act accordingly to ensure the highest standard of hospitality for all our distinguished guests.

Most Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taichung, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had a very bad impression with Swiss Belhotel Mangga Besar. The service is very unprofessional. We are attending the exhibition and booked this hotel via PT. Kristamedia Pramata who is in charge of the reservation of hotel. The room rate is inclusive of free shuttle service to and from exhibition (can check the information from exhibition manual). But when we arrived the hotel and asked the FO to arrange the shuttle service for us, they answered us there is no free shuttle for the exhibitors. They didn’t even check with PT. Kristamedia and flatly answered us. After a person who also works for this hotel heard our dialog with the receptionist, just told me to inquire information from another counter. Finally they answered me they have shuttle service but the final shuttle from JIEXPO is at 18:30. Actually the exhibition is finished at 19:00 every day. We asked them to arrange the final shuttle later than 19:00 because we can only leave at 19:00. They told us that’s their hotel policy and there is no way to change it. After we complain to PT kristamedia, they just changed the time for us. The most ridiculous is the last day of the exhibition is 9 November 2013, but their shuttle only provided from November 6-8. We asked them to check again, they still answered us only provide the service from November 6-8. Every time they answered us very flatly and without flexibility. Every time, we had to ask PT Kristamedia to contact them and they just changed their “Policy”. How to say? They even never gave us an apology. We felt no esteem from them. If we come for exhibition next time, we’ll not choose this hotel again, Never.
Other hotels provide shuttle for correct time. I just don’t understand why this hotel doesn’t check everything carefully for customer even after we spoke to their duty manager. We were really unhappy and said to her that we are going to check out and move to another hotel, she still acted as “you are nothing to us”. We booked 4 rooms, 2 rooms for two nights and the other rooms for 7 nights. Why they could not provide a reasonable esteem to us?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JASMINE7841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain C, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Mrs. Jasmine,
We regret to note your concern over incidents that happened during your recent stay with us. Do be informed nonetheless that it has always been our intention to ensure that the hotel provides the highest level of service standard to all our guests; whether in Front Office, Housekeeping, F&B and transportation.
Therefore, we have taken the initiative to highlight your comments to all the Team Members concerned to enable remedial actions be taken immediately; where such necessity is duly required.
I hope that all your transportation arrangement organized by our Front Office Manage Mr. Leo was up to your satisfaction upon check-out.
In addition, we sincerely appreciate your rating of 3/5 for our Rooms and Service given in your overall evaluation which clearly indicates that the staff training being implemented to date is on the right track and has significantly increased their competency at work.
Looking forward to welcoming you back with us in a near future.
Most cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed for two nights after a long-haul flight. Checkin was seemless, staff were courteous, and our superior room on the 21st floor was sufficiently high above the traffic noise for us to sleep well.
Fast free wi-fi and a comp breakfast completed our stay.

Any negatives?
The lower floors might suffer from Jakarta's non-stop traffic noise.
The breakfast buffet was extensive but with a disappointing selection of fresh fruit, and most of the interesting breads were only for display purposes!
The single bathtowel per guest was small, and looked a little grey.

But these are minor grumbles, I would be pleased to stay here again.

Room Tip: Above the 20th floor for the quietest rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Butterstoneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain C, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful time at the Swissbelhotel Mangga Besar recently.
Thanks to all the genuine and constructive comments we received from distinguished guests, as yourself.
We are currently ordering new bath Linen and I have discussed with our Chef to improve our Bread selection for Breakfast.
We look forward to having you here once again and wish you all the best until then!
Most Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narita, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

During my wedding in HI Indonesia, I accommodated more than 30 guests in 20 rooms, with various rooms types. My stay was very pleasant, and front desk was very helpful and professional with checking in all my overseas guests (from JAPAN, SWISS, SHANGHAI) who are all first timers to Indonesia and/or Jakarta. Front desk was fast with checking in all guests. All rooms were also very clean, modern (based on comments from my guests). My own room was also very modern, and I personally love the bathroom.

Guests also commented on the bathrooms, and massage service. Price was also a factor. Truly value for money.

Great view of the city from the top.

(Stayed on 21 and 22, some checked out on 23 June, 2013).

Room Tip: Choose high floor for some cool views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain C, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Kristava,
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay here with us recently.
Do rest assured that we will continue to work hard to ensure that our guests get the most out of their time spent here at the Swissbelhotel Mangga Besar..
Do come back to visit us soon as it has been a pleasure to have you around at the Resort.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Pademangan
Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square
The Media Hotel And Towers
#181 of 453 in Jakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sawah Besar
BEST WESTERN Mangga Dua Hotel and Residence
Mercure Jakarta Kota
#83 of 453 in Jakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar

Property: Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar
Address: Jln. Kartini Raya no. 57, Jakarta 10750, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Sawah Besar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#58 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar is a 4-star international business hotel, we cater to the needs of business travelers and holidaymakers alike. 246 guestrooms that are furnished with all the modern amenities needs to make your stay with us a memorable and comfortable one. Strategically located on the doorstep of the prominent Mangga Besar and Mangga Dua area, we are close to both business districts and entertainment areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing