We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap but worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar
Ranked #80 of 459 Hotels in Jakarta
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cheap but worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had an awesome view of Jakarta. It's decently close to the airport but nothing within walking distance. The traffic outside is unreal. A 15 minute ride to EX Mall took us about an hour. The hotel itself is really nice. The room is big, the bed is comfy. The bathroom does have a giant space between the door and the hinge so you can totally see your partner taking a dump or smell it depending on what they ate the night before. The internet is incredibly slow. The gym is perfect. Free weights and a pull up bar. Rare for Indonesian hotels. Then they have a cold bath, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi...and their resteraunt makes some great burgers. Their cocktails are incredibly expensive. We paid the equivalent of two meals for two cheap drinks but that's indonesia for you.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonKalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain C, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much, we are delighted to read your kind comments regarding your stay with us. And, we truly appreciate the fact that our guests realize how hard we have been working to provide the best services, facilities and food & beverage quality possible to all our guests.
Our beverages may seem expensive but I can assure you that we constantly monitor our prices to keep our cocktails, wines and spirits the best value as possible in this part of Jakarta.
Do join us again soon to enjoy our fitness centre facilities, rooms and restaurants . Until then, thank you and take good care of yourself until we meet once again!
Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    211
    75
    25
    12
See reviews for
75
71
28
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yulee, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

The staff, room, food and bathroom (especially the bathroom shower and very deep bathtub) were great. The room itself had a modern furniture decorum, and the beds were very comfortable. Indonesia itself is a very busy and traffic is almost unbearable. But if you want to get out of the hustle and bustle and enjoy a quiet evening in your room, there is decent room service, bar, restaurants, a nice pool and spa to indulge in. My only issue was the internet; very slow and it frequently timed out. Some of my colleagues I traveled with, had decent internet connectivity, maybe it was the location of my room. Either way, overall this stay was decent for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hersh35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain C, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel.
Kindly be informed that we have taken note of all your concerns shared herein and we will definitely use them as a milestone to gauge our performance in order to improvise the overall standard of service offered to our distinguished guests.
Do visit us again at your soonest convenient as it is always a pleasure to have you at our hotel.
A warm regards to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Got a very good deal for this hotel with agore.com. Its a huge hotel with 26 floors, indoor swimmingpool spa area etc. Super bathroom and big room, nice breakfast restaurant, Location isn't something to write home about, but not many places seems to be in Jakarta, where the biggest and most annoying tourist attraction seems to bee the endless traffic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikkel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain C, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Mikkel,
We are pleased to note that you had a great time at the Hotel recently.
Based on many comments received to date, the Hotel had amplified its effort in providing high standard of service especially in our F&B outlets, leisure activities and especially the front-liners' competency level. We are pleased that all of them are bearing good results based on your sincere comments given herein.
We look forward to having you with us once again soon.
Most cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a superior deluxe room for 4 nights and the room was large with a comfy queen size bed! The bathroom was also large and had a lovely powerful shower. The staff were friendly but we didn't eat here as it was a bit expensive. The hotel is in a good location and within walking distance to a few shops and restaurants as well as a train station. It is also a short taxi ride away to a shopping mall, but make sure the taxi driver puts his meter on or he will charge you at keast 4 times as much!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain C, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Marc C,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are truly happy that our hardwork has resulted in you having a good time here in the hotel. We are sorry to read that you have found our Food and Beverage prices too high, perhaps you weren't advised properly by our manager in one of our outlet. I can assure you that value for money term, we always enforce ourselves to keep it to the best in this part of Jakarta.
Come back for more soon...we look forward of having you here once again!

Most Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I spent 2 nights in swiss-belhotel mangga besar last week, on a business trip to Indonesia. It is a perfect place to stay for anybody with business to do in the northern part of this famously ( and rightly so ! ) traffic-jammed city, and a fast ride from the airport.
Fast internet, efficient and friendly staff ( everybody knew my name the next morning at the breakfast buffet ! Nice touch ), genuine professional spa ( rather unusual in this part of the city, i hear ), large room with view of the city up to the seashore ( the one i stayed in anyway, 2508, highly recommended), the works ..... A new steakhouse restaurant just open offers private rooms, which can be used for lunch meetings entertaining your guests.
This made my stay in jakarta most pleasant. I wont be looking any further for my next visit.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain C, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Mr. Stephane H.
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay here with us recently.
Do rest assured that we will continue to work hard to ensure that our guests get the most out of their time spent here at the hotel.
Do come back to visit us soon as it has been a pleasure to have you around at the Swissbelhotel Mangga Besar.
.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

My mother and I stayed in this property from 17th May to 19th May 2013 - and we are very pleased with our stay. We checked-out with a list of positive things the hotel and the staff had provided during our stay - a list that may be a tad too long to describe in this page. But here are a few that are worthy to mention:

1. Pristine clean room with an outstanding level of service quality
My mother is extremely particular about hygiene - in fact, when making a decision on which hotel to stay, the cleanliness of the hotel has always topped the list of factors-to-consider. I communicated this concern over the reservation team and was expecting a no-reply from the hotel team (we had stayed in many international hotel chains in the regions before; and no matter how luxurious the hotels were, we had rarely received any replies upon my requests to ensure the cleanliness of the room). Instead, I received an email from Mr. Fuady, Assistant Executive Housekeeper, who assured us that the hotel team would make the efforts to ensure the cleanliness of the room.

And our room was indeed clean. And what impressed us even more was how Mr. Fuady personally greeted us in our room to check how the room was - a service which we had never seen from any other hotels before.

2. Customer Empowerment at its best
My mother is a vegan and it is always a challenge to find suitable food for her in countries like Indonesia. When we patronized Swiss Cafe for lunch on our first day, we had discovered that there were limited vegetarian menus offered in the restaurant - some of them were also out-of-stock when we wanted to order them.

The waiter, whose name I could not recall, informed us that the chef would be able to cook a special menu just for my mom - a nice gesture which we often experience from the service of 5-Stars hotels. My mom, however, disliked the proposed menu and instead, provided an instruction/recipe to make a simple dish good enough for her to fill her growling stomach.

And the dish was presented beautifully and was perfect to our taste-buds.

3. The breakfast spread was superb.

4. The gym facilities were good - the gym was large with a wide variety of equipments available.

5. The spa provided massage services at affordable rates. We tried a session of reflexology and were pleased with the experience.

Nonetheless, there were a few minor downsides which we feel the hotel staff could improve on:

1. The Wi-Fi connection was pretty unstable - we needed to keep re-logging-in to use the internet.

2. The door to our shower room was not properly sealed which resulted in water leaking out during our shower.

These downsides, however, were overshadowed by the many positive things we experienced throughout our stay that we did not really mind them.

So, we would like to commend

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NduNdu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain C, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear reviewer, We are honored to read your review and hereby express our highest gratitude to you. Please be informed that we have taken note on all the positive comments given as well as the 'less-than-good' ones to enable immediate remedial action plans be made to overcome them.
We will add more vegetarian dishes on our menu and we are currently working with a new internet provider to improve our WIFI facility.
We hope to see you here sometime soon. Meanwhile, thank you once again and have a great day ahead!
Most Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I Really Enjoyed The Stay With My Fiance,Its One Of The Best Hotel With All The Amenities And Its The Perfect Location For Shopping And Dinning,I Will Definitely Will Go Again And Stay Longer,Thanks The Staff Very Nice And Polite And Professional,Its Closer To The Airport Also,And Its Safe With The Security And Well Planned Feel Good,If I Go Again I Will Stay For Longer Time With My Fiance Again And Tell My Friends To Stay In This Hotel Coz Its The Best For The Price Value

Room Tip: Corner Suites Are Large And Sunny Beautifull Weiw"Rooms On The South Side Are Quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank sunny f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain C, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Sunny F, We are pleased to note that you had a wonderful time at the hotel recently.
Based on many comments received to date, the hotel had amplified its effort in providing high standard of service in all department's competency level and friendliness. We are pleased that all of them are bearing good results based on your sincere comments given herein.
We look forward to having you with us once again soon.
Most cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Pademangan
Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square
Mercure Jakarta Kota
#89 of 459 in Jakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sawah Besar
BEST WESTERN Mangga Dua Hotel and Residence
Swiss-Belhotel Pondok Indah
#99 of 459 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar

Property: Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar
Address: Jln. Kartini Raya no. 57, Jakarta 10750, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Sawah Besar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#61 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar is a 4-star international business hotel, we cater to the needs of business travelers and holidaymakers alike. 246 guestrooms that are furnished with all the modern amenities needs to make your stay with us a memorable and comfortable one. Strategically located on the doorstep of the prominent Mangga Besar and Mangga Dua area, we are close to both business districts and entertainment areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing