We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar
Ranked #80 of 459 Hotels in Jakarta
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here two nights in one of the better rooms. I found the room spacious and clean with a lovely large bed. Great view of the city from our corner suite. Staff were helpful. The spa downstairs was ok but is best suited to male business travelers. Shopping centers nearby - mangga dua - well worth a look. Chinese restaurant downstairs serves great food. Overall a great hotel with a couple of minor drawbacks mainly around location

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain C, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Peter,
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay here with us recently.
Do rest assured that we will continue to work hard to ensure that our guests get the most out of their time spent here at the Swissbelhotel Mangga Besar.
Please note that we only recently taken over the Spa Management and that we are about to finalize a new concept which will includes " treatment,such as Royal Javanese, Balinese Harmony treatment, Glow facial, Harmony Massage Aromatherapy etc.
Do come back to visit us soon as it has been a pleasure to have you around at the Swissbelhotel Mangga Besar.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    211
    75
    25
    12
See reviews for
75
71
28
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, after arriving in Indonesia. The hotel looks great and is located very conveniently. Our room was big, clean and comfortable, with an impressive view of Jakarta. Overall, the stay in this hotel was very nice: great room, good service, great breakfast (!!) and the swimming pool is big and hardly used by anyone.
Unfortunately, a few small annoying things made our stay 'almost' perfect.. the swimming pool-area needed some maintenance: broken lighting etc won't do in a 4-star hotel ! Also: we had to go look for the staff that attended the pool ....
Secondly: we left very early in the morning, so we asked for a breakfast box to be prepared for us. This however led to some discussion with the staff about payment and availability.
and also: we sent several e-mails to the hotel but never got any answer.
All very annoying and very unbecoming of a hotel that boasts high service levels.

If the hotel would ' fix' this sort of problems, it would be a proper 4-star hotel. It already has the looks and the rooms for it !!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a great view !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lihat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain C, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear reviewer,
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Swissbelhotel Mangga Besar.
Kindly be informed that we have taken note of all your concerns shared herein and we will definitely use them as a milestone to gauge our performance in order to improve the overall standard of service and facilities offered to our distinguished guests.
Do visit us again at your soonest convenient as it is always a pleasure to have you at our hotel.
A warm regards to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on 10-12 April 2013. I choosed this hotel because its near to JIExpo Kemayoran which is my only purpose come to Jakarta. Arrive at 4 p.m. and there's 2 front desk staffs checking-in their guests, waiting for about 10 minutes and still not finish. Then came a male staff at the other desk but he rejects me and ask me to keep waiting.
In the morning, I joined the breakfast. The staff only asking for the b'fast voucher then allow you to enter without sending you to the available table either offering drink coffee or tea..
The room was nice, clean and cozy.
The best part of my stay was having dinner at The Grill Bar on Lobby floor. The manager and staffs was very polite, friendly and cheerfull. They offering me their best menu and it was great.

Overall, this is not a bad hotel. Just could be better..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain C, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review. We regret to note your concern over incidents that happened during your check-in and breakfast. Do be informed nonetheless that it has always been our intention to ensure that the hotel provides the highest level of service standard to all our guests; whether in Front Office and F&B.
Therefore, we have taken the initiative to highlight your comments to all the Team Members concerned to enable remedial actions be taken immediately; where such necessity is duly required.
In addition, we sincerely appreciate your rating for our Rooms and the food and service at The Grill restaurant.
Once again, thank you very much for your comments,we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Most Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I came from Melbourne Australia and this was my second visit to your establishment. My first visit was back in November 2012.

My second visit, unfortunately due to my dad illness and he passed away on last Easter Saturday.

I would like to compliment on how professional your staff were.  I am in hospitality and aviation industry for the last 15 years, I could not help to see how your establishment providing a service from a different angle. I can be quite synical I guess, but you may understand where I am coming from. It is difficult to detach from your own hospitality experiences and workfield when you stay in a hospitality establishment.

I was very impressed on how discreet, professional, genuine all your staff during my stay with my partner.

From security staff, front office, food and beverage, to the cleanliness of the room from the housekeeping staff,  are impeccable.

I was originally stayed for three nights, sadly my dad was rest in peace three days later hence I needed to stay few more nights.

The professionalism from Nicky front office staff, and Mr Iqbal as duty manager that morning ... I think when I asked for extending my stay and requotting my room rate due to my circumstances. Well done.

Food and beverage staff, acknowledged me by my name after few days did not have breakfast at the Swiss Cafe... another well done. Ticked !

On the early morning when I received the sad news from the hospital and was waiting for my pick up, the security staff at the front of the lobby was very reassuring to make sure I am being looked after. Impressed. 

In general, the concierge and security presents during day and night is a reassurance that this is a safe hotel. Yet they are discreet, courteous and professional. Without being too much.

I cannot name each of everyone of your staff but please, pass me my regards to say well done. They deserved to be acknowledge, its the people that make hospitality business works.  You may have great room,great set up, but they are nothing without your real assets, your own staff.

Room Tip: Higher floor due to windows not double glazed. But doesn't bothered me
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dingo1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain C, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear reviewer,
Firstly, on behalf the Swiss-belhotel Mangga Besar team and myself, please accept our deep condolences on the death of your Father and may God help you and give you strength to overcome from this tough time.

I sincerely wish that your experience in our hotel would have been through on happier circumstances and I am very sorry that I wasn’t able to meet you during your stay to express my deep condolences personally.

Prior to receive your fax earlier today, we noticed your nice review on our trip advisor page. I have already distributed your review to all our department heads and published it on the staff information’s board.

I will call Nicky and Iqbal to personally congratulate them for their outstanding job and mention them as examples to follow during our next monthly staff gathering.

Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your kind review. We are truly happy that our hard work has resulted in you having a good stay here and do rest assured that we will continue to work hard to ensure that our guests get the most out of their time spent here at the hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Most Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

i arrived at 1.00 a.m. after a 24 hour journey from u.k. the staff attended to me quickly and efficiently. at breakfast next day,all the staff already knew my name without introduction.
the lovely pleaseant people working the bar and restaurant also knew my name.
everyone was respectful,polite and very helpful.it was such a pleasure to see so many pleasant smiling faces.given the opportunity i will definitly stay again

jack watson/england

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacko500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain C, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear reviewer, Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your kind review. We are truly happy that our hard-work has resulted in you having a good time here in the hotel. We look forward of having you here once again!
Most Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Actually, I've been spend total 12 nights here with my Wife, and I feel very pleasant staying here. After this review, I've been spend total 14 nights. The best thing here is the Service, all the staff always give warmest greeting everytime.

The Second, meanwhile the location in located in Busy Road in Jakarta, but it's close to Ancol, so you can consider to stay here 2 or 3 night for exploring North Jakarta, especially with your family. The Meal quality is very good to, International Cuisine combine with Our Authentic Fried Rice also Several Indonesian food, make the breakfast experience very good here.

Water quality is very good, very high water debit, clean, and also perfect lighting. Sleeping experience is good, but for someone that have better mattress, I think you may say, it's not good enough.

Overall score is Excellent, because I've been spend so many nights here, and everytime when I checked out, I was feel the hotel says "Come back again soon, I'll waiting for your next check in."

Thank You.

Room Tip: Choose Superior Deluxe with xx02 Room, for the best experience Choose Grand Deluve with xx15 Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aditya Pratama P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
05Sylvain1962, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Mr. Aditya Tratama We are extremely pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay here with us recently.
Do rest assured that we will continue to work hard to ensure that our guests get the most out of their time spent here at the Hotel Swissbelhotel Mangga Besar.
We have taken good note of your comment about our mattresses quality and will surely review our product once the time for replacement will occur
Do come back to visit us soon as it has been a pleasure to have you around at the Resort.
Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

For Jakarta prices this hotel proved to be a gem. Although positioned in the north of the city which tends to be severely effected by flooding and away from the city centre everything seems to be in reasonable reach. The district tends towards light industrial but isn't a problem. Service within the complex was impeccable and the coffee shop/bar area was first class. The rooms were reasonably compact but the bathrooms seemed to have been refurbished recently. Requested a high floor room and from it we got great views of Jakarta. Security was effective and all the staff were courteous and well trained speaking good English. I would come back here .... Oh and the breakfast was one of the best I have had in Indonesia.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asiafiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
05Sylvain1962, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
We are pleased to note that you had a wonderful time at the Swiss-Behotel Mangga Besar recently. The hotel had amplified its effort in providing high standard of service, facilities, especially in our F&B outlet's .and breakfast quality. We are pleased that all of them are bearing good results based on your sincere comments given herein.
We look forward to having you with us once again soon anytime soon.
Most cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Pademangan
Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square
Mercure Jakarta Kota
#89 of 459 in Jakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sawah Besar
BEST WESTERN Mangga Dua Hotel and Residence
Swiss-Belhotel Pondok Indah
#99 of 459 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar

Property: Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar
Address: Jln. Kartini Raya no. 57, Jakarta 10750, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Sawah Besar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#61 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar is a 4-star international business hotel, we cater to the needs of business travelers and holidaymakers alike. 246 guestrooms that are furnished with all the modern amenities needs to make your stay with us a memorable and comfortable one. Strategically located on the doorstep of the prominent Mangga Besar and Mangga Dua area, we are close to both business districts and entertainment areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing