We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best shabu shabu in asia(japan not included) but how come the price went up by double”

Kahyangan Shabu Shabu and Teppanyaki Restaurant
Ranked #545 of 7,846 Restaurants in Jakarta
Price range: $40 - $120
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best shabu shabu in asia(japan not included) but how come the price went up by double”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is the second time i been in this restaurant andbest shabu shabu i had in asia (japan not invluded) i am very impressed that they serve very good beef. However, how come the price i paid last time was half the price i paid now? Before the restaurant was quite full but ever since they incresed the price it was so empity. My only sugestion is that you lower the price back to normal, if not the restaurant is very empty, but for everything elso it's good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulan B, Quality & Attitude Manager at Kahyangan Shabu Shabu and Teppanyaki Restaurant, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear andy s,

Thank you very much for reviewing our restaurant. We are very pleased to read that you put our Shabu Shabu on such a pedestal and proud that we can keep such a reputation to your eyes over the years. We have unfortunately had to adapt our prices due to the increase in the prices of imported beef. As you know we serve only the highest quality beef. Furthermore, our new executive chef is developing a new menu with a broader choice of meats and dishes to suit all occasions and budgets. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards,

Philippe Le Bourhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“excellent 1st experience for teppanyaki”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I enjoyed every minute of our evening : the food was excellent, delicious and the I liked the 'cooking show' itself. The chef and the service was perfect. But this is not cheap, of cource and wil be better for you to get prepared for a considerable bill.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolie-ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulan B, Bulan B, Quality & Attitude Manager at Pullman Jakarta Indonesia at Kahyangan Shabu Shabu and Teppanyaki Restaurant, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Jolie-ok,

Thank you very much for this review on our restaurant. We are delighted to read that you had a fantastic experience at Kahyangan Teppanyaki Restaurant. Thank you for your compliments on our chef and the service. We serve premium meat quality such as Wagyu from Australia, United States and the famous Ohmi beef from Japan. We look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards,

Philippe Le Bourhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good view and good service but expensive”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

It's run by Pullman, located on the 28th floor at Nusantara Bldg.
When we entered last night at approx 8 pm. No one at the restaurant. It's empty.
We ordered Shabu2 in private room.
Good service, good view, but too expensive for Shabu2 and soft drink. No wonder the restaurant was empty. The staff was chit-chating to each other, because there was no guests at all when we left. But they gave good greetings upon check-out the restaurant.
Look at the price list in the menu before placing the order. So you will not be surprised when you received the bill.
Anyway, we enjoyed the view of North Jakarta.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Belong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulan B, Quality & Attitude Manager at Kahyangan Shabu Shabu and Teppanyaki Restaurant, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Belong,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to review our restaurant. At Kahyangan Shabu Shabu & Teppanyaki Restaurant we only serve the best quality meets from Japan and Australia which unfortunately has an impact on the price. We are very sorry to hear about the incident with our staff and will look into this matter. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again soon,

Kind regards,

Philippe Le Bourhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the most famous shabu shabu restaurant”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Once again, im not a big fan of shabu shabu sorta dish. But i have no complain at all, meat was tasty, savory, the broth was okay, and they have good quality ingredients, the service was good, nothing special but not bad.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank William I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulan B, Quality & Attitude Manager at Kahyangan Shabu Shabu and Teppanyaki Restaurant, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear William I,

Thank you very much for your review and thank for your compliments on our Shabu Shabu. We would like to let you know that, right across from Kahyangan Shabu Shabu, there is Kahyangan Teppanyaki Restaurant that serves excellent teppanyaki cuisine that may suit you better then Shabu Shabu. We hope to see you there soon,

Kind regards

Philippe Le Bourhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Known for its shabu-shabu since the 90's”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

In the 1990's I was told that I have not tasted a real shabu-shabu (in Indonesia) if I haven't tried it at the Khayangan. At that time Khayangan was located on the top floor of a building next to current location, and shabu-shabu was considered as special and unique Japanese food, and expensive for the very thin sliced meat.
I would say now that the shabu-shabu at the Khayangan is in par with the other and so many good quality shabu-shabu restaurants throughout Jakarta, especially along the jalan Sudirman area where there are many office buildings with Japanese expats .As for Khayangan's shabu-shabu sauce: it is not impressive, but the bill is!
I would go there only by invitation from others, and always business related.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hismanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulan B, Quality & Attitude Manager at Kahyangan Shabu Shabu and Teppanyaki Restaurant, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Hismanto,

First of all, thank you very much for writing this review. We are very pleased to hear that you had such a positive peer recommendation of our restaurant. Due to the extreme quality of our meats and ingredients, it has a strong impact on our prices. We hope to welcome you again soon,

Kind regards,

Philippe Le Bourhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kahyangan Shabu Shabu and Teppanyaki Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kahyangan Shabu Shabu and Teppanyaki Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing