We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Jakarta golden oldie which still holds its own”

Kahyangan Shabu Shabu and Teppanyaki Restaurant
Ranked #573 of 7,673 Restaurants in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $120
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jakarta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Jakarta golden oldie which still holds its own”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Fine quality shabu shabu served high above the Jakarta streets in one of the most enduring Jakarta restaurants. Renovation has enlarged and modernized Khayangan and it seems up to date despite its age. The only complaint may be two additional floors are served only by stairs which are not easy for ladies with high heels. The ingredients are high quality, the staff are attentive and there is a reasonable choice of wines if desired. Prices are not that low but what would you expect if choosing wagyu or kobe? Recommended.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank batavia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulan B, Quality & Attitude Manager at Kahyangan Shabu Shabu and Teppanyaki Restaurant, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Batavia2,

First of all, let us apologize for the late reply. Thank you for the time you took to write this review and thank you very much for your compliments on our restaurant. Since February 2012, we’ve opened a new restaurant under the Kahyangan brand: Kahyangan Teppanyaki Restaurant. It serves high quality teppanyaki cuisine as well as yakiniku, the Japanese barbeque. We hope to welcome you there soon,

Kind regards,

Philippe Le Bourhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    16
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great shabu shabu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Located on the top floor of wisma nusantara,great shabu2,but the portion is getting smaller but the price getting more expensive,the ponzu sauce is great but there's an all you can eat shabu2 with almost the same sauce nearby

The meat quality and the freshness of the veggie is great

Great view of the traffic (jam) from the restaurant,great place to relax and unwind

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank synequano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulan B, Quality & Attitude Manager at Kahyangan Shabu Shabu and Teppanyaki Restaurant, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Sinequano,

Thank you very much for this review and our sincere apologies for the late reply. We appreciate your comments on our price range but it is unfortunately due to the extremely high quality of the meets we import to make our Shabu Shabu. Thank you for your compliment s on our view and the quality of our ingredients. We hope you’ll be our guest once again soon,

Kind regards,

Philippe Le Bourhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
383 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,030 helpful votes
“One of the best shabu shabu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

I still can count how many times I visit this place. The food was great, but it's too expensive to eat a lot. A minimum spending of at least 500k per person with a very basic 180gr sirloin meat, and 1mill per person for the 180gr wagyu. dont bother to order drink, they serve green tea for free.

21% tax and service charge. but I'll still rather go to su mi bian that only cost 800k per person.

what makes them special, is the sauce. nothing could beat their sauce.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank PapayaMelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“shabu-shabu with fonzu sauce yummy...... nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2009

shabu-shabu with fonzu sauce yummy......
nice place

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kahyangan Shabu Shabu and Teppanyaki Restaurant also viewed

 
Jakarta, Java
Jakarta, Java
 

Been to Kahyangan Shabu Shabu and Teppanyaki Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing