We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the nicest friendly restaurant in central jakarta, and our favorite”
Review of Social House

Social House
Ranked #39 of 7,714 Restaurants in Jakarta
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“the nicest friendly restaurant in central jakarta, and our favorite”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We love this place, specially my husband, is his favorite place in Jakarta, good wine if you can choose with reasonable price. Our once a week or romantic restaurant for us, and the food most of them great. the chicken most of them great. the special grandma tea that you need to try. and really nice local indonesian food they prepare with great taste. Smoking area that where we are usually. The staffs really friendly, they know my husband sooo well. try it you will love it. and they have Live Band every wednesday night. Hopefully they change to the old band... more nicer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZaharMartial020711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    222
    93
    27
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nicd for brunch and afternoon tea - book in advance at lunch time”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

A very good place to go on a sunday for brunch or afternoon tea
You can enjoy a nice atmosphere.
A good view on a jakarta landmark :-)

About the food
- salmon sashimi is good but could be a bit bigger. But no worry still an ok size
- the burger is great
- the grilled chicken was excellent

We tried once the afternoon tea platter with the bakery. It was good enough for two and relatively not too pricey

One tip: for lunch time they might be full. Think about booking before you if you intend to eat

Helpful?
Thank Stoufensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place for late night”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Love the place and their ambiance.. their margarita is nice either.. It will be great if have segregation between smoking and non smoking area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Weny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Gourmet here”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Nice pasta & pizza in here, very tested and delicious, very nice and confortable place to going out especially with someone you love

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Panjaitan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Getting better, but smoking still awful”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Haven't been here for a while (as the smoking is so pervasive). But this weekend brunch was very nice; food seemed better and service a lot better than my last visit.

But seriously, change the smoking rules. At the moment the no-smoking is INBETWEEN the smoking sections! Designed by people who don't seem to understand the physics of smoke - it moves. If you must, that's fine for evenings - but not for breakfast and lunch.

My last visit, Saturday 11 am, I had asked for a no-smoking seat, and as usual could still smell smoke whilst eating (disgusting). Saw one couple who had unfortunately been placed in the smoking section (as they hadn't booked one of the very few no-smoking seats) and they had to physically move as some inconsiderate morons turned up and decided (out of the entire, quite empty, smoking area) to sit RIGHT NEXT to them, like 2 feet away. And, as usually the case, it's the non-smokers who are expected to move as smokers are so thick-skinned, ill-mannered and selfish that they can't understand the concept that others don't want to be enveloped in their stink. SH should stop this kind of nonsense and simply put all the smokers in a smaller, out-of-the-way area (preferably the Hotel Indonesia roundabout) at least for breakfast and lunch.

Bottom line is the food is fine here, but the smoking is unneccessarily appalling. I admit I am ridiculously prejudiced against smokers (at least when they interfere with me), but frankly I view SH as a place for smokers, not non-smokers. My theory is the management are all smokers...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Social House also viewed

 

Been to Social House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing