We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden fine french resto in the old town Cikini”
Review of Java Bleu - CLOSED

Java Bleu
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
740 reviews
577 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 877 helpful votes
“Hidden fine french resto in the old town Cikini”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Java Bleu is a French restaurant on the second floor of an old house in Cikini street. we have to take the stair to reach the colored wall restaurant. The menu was written on a chalkboard and the staff patiently explained us the meaning of those French words.
the place is small, hidden, unexpected, and the colored walls and cloth on ceiling gives a unique ambience for the resto.
the food is good and the price is affordable for a French resto.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EredGorgoroth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“classic, delicious food, wise price!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Me and my friend decided to visit and try this restaurant just because often passed it by around Jl. Cikini and it was worth it!
located on the second floor of a tiny building, however they can create good spaces inside, good for couples or group or hang out with friends. nice atmosphere altough not too bright, we choose a table just next to the window and it was perfect. very delicious foods! the garlic chicken especially, the best one i ever had! the service kinda slow but it was no problem so many time to talk as well. Fair price! Another visit? for sure! :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RRJ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayapura, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A classy classic french menu, delicious at affordable price”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We reached there just in time for dinner. This was our first time. I read a lot of good reviews about this place including the nice interior yet so quite during the busy dinner hours. Yep its true, we were the only ones thru that entire friday evening. Service was excellent. We had chardonay which was the only wine available. We ordered escargot which was superb. Lots of garlic butter and herbs. Just very nice! Then duck confit and seabass for the main. Here i think duck confit was really nice, tender and juicy. Tho i prefered the sauce to be a slightly more sour to balance the sweetness of the duck. We closed off the evening with black and white choco, nd also baba au rhum. It was true the baba au rhum was a favourite. It was fluffy soft and the taste and texture was really balanced. Overall we were satisfied with java bleu and would like to see more ppl coming in. Will come back definitely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AstrianyElysabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“best macaroni gratin”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Came here with my brother upon his friend's recommendation.
I ordered the sea bass and my brother ordered the macaroni gratin because the garlic chicken, his first choice would take 30mins to prepare.
The seabass arrived first and it was reasonably good.
However, when the macaroni gratin came, we both agreed, it was the best macaroni we ever tasted in our whole life! The flavor of the cheese and butter was wonderful. Besides its also cheaper than the other dishes at Rp 60 000 only.
We also tried the black and white choco for dessert. It was not bad.
I am looking forward to come back to this restaurant to try the other dishes and the Baba au rhum for for dessert!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lisse_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice French Cuisine with Reasonable Price”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The wooden stairs which will bring you up to the restaurant at the second floor is nice. It's a small, cozy and not crowded. It's nice for dinner for 2 or small group. Try the escargot or mushroom soup as starter. Ox tounge, duck confit and steak are all good... Don't miss the baba au rum.... Don't worry about the price.. It's quite reasonable....

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deekarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing