We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The pyramid chocolate cake is superb!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huize van Wely

Huize van Wely
Ranked #89 of 118 Dessert in Jakarta
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Mampang Prapatan
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The pyramid chocolate cake is superb!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Come to this cake shoppe to order cakes for my company's event. Try several pastries, but definitely pyramid choc cake is my fave! love the pretty looking pastries and it tastes delicious...don't forget to try champagne and raspberry tart too.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank mary_novi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent pastries!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

The pastries is very delicious and very pretty, too. Eventhough it is pretty expensive, but we get what we pay for. The drawback is that the staff are somewhat arrogant; however they still manage to give professional service compared to a five-star hotel establishment.

Helpful?
1 Thank Noisette-May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
226 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Traditional Dutch food amongst others, love it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

What a cool spot for lunch/brunch. They recently moved house the front of the Papillion building and now have a modern and luxurious interior with grays, whites en white orchids.
We enjoyed brunch on the comfortable grey loveseats with a huge table in the middle where my son could play with his cars.

Being Dutch we had the white toast with 'kroketten': a traditional Dutch dish made of ragout of meat and a crispy outside made of breadcrumbs (cylinder shape), Dutch 'bitterballen' which is about the same as the kroketten but in ball-shape and served with mustard accompanied by a delicious veggie salad and glass of white wine.
I wish we had some more time for dessert as all the cakes and cookies looked fantastic. (we could have done take-away too of some traditional Dutch cakes & cookies but I forgot. I will have to return!

Lovely and attentive staff as well

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariken v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Level Contributor
116 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“lovely desserts.. however extremely overpriced and lousy service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

For a restaurant/patisserie with a high callibre (especially with a premium price) like huize van welly, you would expect impeccable service. Although the quality of their products is always of the highest standard, but I repeatedly let down by the service. If not handled by rude patrons, the one time i met a friendly one, it took ages to handle my order. It took over 20 minutes for a scoop of chocolate sorbet!!!

If only their chocolate sorbet and entrements are not life-changing-ly good, i would never set food in this place again. I would only pray there are more options available of the same standard in Jakarta (with a better service)

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sweetTooth21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
241 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Excellent food and dito check at the end (for Indonesia!!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

If you want to have an excellent 'western' dish in a stylish environment... Huize Van Wely is THE place!!

I use to have dinner with them when in Jakarta.... Excellent food, menu... and wine choice!
The service is very professional as you may expect in this sort of establishment. Everything is flown in from Holland... even the staff!!!

Huize Van Wely is also in Holland very famous and exclusive if it comes to chocolates and cakes... (Noordwijk aan Zee), but you can have the same quality as you get it in Holland...

Enough place to park you car, just in front of the building. Very nice athmospfere in a very nice, stylish environment. Feeling like in a upper-class western restaurant but than in Jakarta...!!

Very good to have buss. dinners or even romantic dinners!?!? From starter till dessert and coffee etc. all of excellent quality... but as I wrote before...so is the check you get at the end... (regarding to other rest. in Indonesia) but, for me... every single IDR worth!!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DACHALADACHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huize van Wely also viewed

 

Been to Huize van Wely? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing