We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent contemporary luxury hotel with little traces of its historical significance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
Ranked #10 of 465 Hotels in Jakarta
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent contemporary luxury hotel with little traces of its historical significance”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

If you've read The Year of Living Dangerously by the late Australian novelist Christopher Koch, you would probably agree that Hotel Indonesia is not just any other luxury hotels one can easily find everywhere nowadays.
Amongst many things, it symbolises President Soekarno's proud resistance to the 'Western powers' during a time when Indonesia was plagued by a multitude of problems.
Rather disappointingly, as Christopher Koch himself pointed out, after it came under the management of the Kempinski Group, Hotel Indonesia does not retain much of its history. The decor of the ground level bar was a modern luxurious blah.
If you were like me, who came here looking for the Wayang Bar immortalised in Koch's novel, you'd be mightily disappointed.
The place is opulently decorated, the service was excellent, and the coffee was the best one I had in Jakarta so far.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCinJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiHotelJKT, Manager at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for sharing your positive experience with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, particularly our coffee.

We also see Hotel Indonesia as the pride of the nation. Among the modernity of the design and service of the hotel, we do keep the heritage close to our hearts. We have a special room on the mezzanine level to showcase keepsakes from the grand opening night of the hotel in 1962 and we display President Soekarno’s favourite artworks on prominent locations in the hotel, including a poetry that he wrote.

Furthermore, we are currently producing a book about the history of the establishment of the hotel for discerning guests such yourself.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    254
    58
    26
    16
See reviews for
208
161
56
445
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is a long overdue review about this fantastic hotel. Truly, the facilities are faultless. the room, the bathrooms, the facilities- clean , luxurious, and deserving seven stars. By this hotel I am measuring all other hotels in the world. I am now surprised that some hotels don't give welcome drinks to guests.(!!) We left our bags there accidentally and only realised this at the airport. They surpassed all levels of customer service when they flew the bags home to us. This is beyond all our hopes. And shows that this hotel means business when it comes to pleasing their customers. Definitely will look out for Kempinski next time I travel, because now I know what they're standards are.

Room Tip: Facing the roundabout!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShilaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiHotelJKT, Manager at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for sharing your wonderful experience with us.

We are happy that you enjoyed our rooms and facilities, specifically our fresh welcome drinks. We are also glad that your luggage arrived safely and will share your remarks with our team members.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Kempinski anywhere across Asia, Middle East, Europe and Africa.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agana, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We love this hotel so much we decided to write this review during our stay. the location is just great. I stayed at the other pricier hotel next door but Kempinski outdo it by good amount. reception staff is very professional. we asked for connecting room, they had prepared adjacent rooms but was able to accommodate it in no time. the room is really spacious, stayed at the executive level and the executive lounge is just perfect. The spa is nice and reasonably priced, compare to other five star hotel. the room decor is nice and functional. the kids love the pool! looking forward to breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GU96910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiHotelJKT, Manager at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very pleased to hear that we surpass other hotels that you have stayed in by tending to your needs in competitive pricing. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back!

Kind regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I had four days again at the hotel. It is a historic hotel!! And also great hotel for business. The service executive lounge serve very good and the breakfast was delicious!!! What I love most delious fruit! I really like a servicer guy here. He is very kind.
The hotel connects Grand shopping mall and next is a luxury mall so very convenience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank lennguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiHotelJKT, Manager at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for coming back to stay with us. We are glad to hear how much you enjoyed our executive lounge. It was our pleasure to serve you and we will be happy to see you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Reserved the Grand Deluxe room, very expensive. But the views, size of the rooms, beds, furniture's, toilet, very big bath tub makes it feels worth it.
Except.. The need for me to call the housekeeping every morning to get additional hotel amenity like soap, cotton buds, shampoo, bath robe, etc.
I can't believe they only provide hotel amenity for one person, even though the toilet is so big it even has 2 mirrors and washing stand.
Very very stingy, and annoying. Aside from that, well.. if you have cars, the good thing is that they give guests free parking. But the bad thing is that you have to be prepared to get no parking spot at weekends because the hotel parking spot is connected directly to Grand Indonesia itself, which makes the Hotel guest who are actually stayed at the hotel to have difficulties in parking their car. Or in some cases you can't get a parking spot at all. Which is silly. Because you can't even go to your hotel room now and forced to go round and round in the parking ground and can only pray that one of the Grand Indonesia visitors to leave.
And I also didn't get free breakfast for the expensive price that I paid for this room -.-

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sudomo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiHotelJKT, Manager at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your comment. We regret that our standard set up in our guest rooms was not provided in your room even after acknowledging our staff. This must not have happened and we have reviewed our trainings to ensure all standards are met every time.

Our rates do not include breakfast unless we offer special promotions or packages, we regret if this was not pointed out to you clearly upon reservation. Please accept our apologies for the shortcomings in our service and communication to you.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valbonne, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I normally spend three months per year in Indonesia for many years. I have tried all hotels in Jakarta where i have been travelling for the last 32 years; the best is now Hotel Indonesia. It is like a second home to me. All the staff is very polite and friendly , they greet me even if we meet ten times per day! Because of the length of the stay, I am upgraded and i can use the lounge. Very peaceful lounge, well designed, with a fantastic view on Bundara HI. Breakfast is great : they have so many different type of excellent breads, Sandwich during the day, in the evening excellent canapés for diner time and all sorts of wine. Huge bedroom and bathroom :fantastic mattress, well designed desk with a good internet service . The fact that Hotel Kempinski is part of the Grand Indonesia Mall is also very convenient: shopping, many restaurants of all types, top of the line cinemas, massage. I can stay at the hotel for a week without really moving out as I fix many meetings in the lounge ! On sundays , i can run on from Monas to Senayan , nearly 18km return as they close the avenues to cars..The staff is always ready to help and assist me in my needs, they even know my habits, what i like and do not like....a second family to me! thanks a lot and for sure i will continue to come and visit you each time I come to Indonesia!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick_molliere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiHotelJKT, Manager at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for choosing us as your preferred hotel to stay for your annual visit to Indonesia. We do treat our guests as a family. And we are happy to hear that you took advantage of our central location for both business and leisure. We are looking forward welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Nope I haven't stayed in all the hotels in Jakarta...... but Kempinski definitely cut it for me. The hotel is located at one of the best spots in town and is directly connected to Grand Indonesia, one of Jakarta's largest malls. The room, I must say, was luxury at its best. Extremely spacious and tastefully decorated, I had a cosy area which could sit up to 6 people and a bathroom bigger than my bedroom back home. Bathroom was one of the best I've seen - Automatic toilet bowl with so many functions than you'll ever used, water temperature didn't take too long to adjust when switched from handheld to rain shower, and you could watch TV and take in the city view while soaking in the bathtub. The only flaw was probably the quality of their toiletries (shampoo, soap, lotion, tootnbrush all included) not matching to expectations. The lotion, in particularly, was non-absorbent and had a funny smell. Also didn't quite like the narrow corridor leading to the rooms.

Other than that, service was prompt - you get housekeeping knocking on your door promptly every morning asking to clean your room and providing laundry service. Breakfast selection was great too with a wide assortment of Indonesian and International cuisines. I personally loved the Bubur Ayam (Indonesian chicken congee) with the curry chicken stock and some toppings.

Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenmomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiHotelJKT, Manager at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us and we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed staying with us and overall met your expectations. As a matter of fact we are working on a new toiletry series for improvement of the quality and satisfaction to our guests. Another thing to look forward to for when you come back to stay with us.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Grand Hyatt Jakarta
Grand Hyatt Jakarta
#18 of 465 in Jakarta
1,010 reviews
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
#16 of 465 in Jakarta
1,442 reviews
Raffles Jakarta
#1 of 465 in Jakarta
419 reviews
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#7 of 465 in Jakarta
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indonesia Kempinski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indonesia Kempinski

Property: Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
Address: Jln. M.H. Thamrin No. 1, Jakarta 10110, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 465 Hotels in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Indonesia Kempinski 5*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski Jakarta represents both a celebration of the glorious past and the bright future. Adjacent to Grand Indonesia Shopping Town - one of Asia's largest shopping mall, the hotel is definitely the ideal address for business, convention, wedding and extravagant shopping. Located at the strategic Bundaran HI (Hotel Indonesia Roundabout), the hotel boasts 289 spacious luxury rooms and suites including the lavish 412 sqm Presidential Suite with its private spa. Hotel Indonesia Kempinski facilities include 6 meeting rooms, a SPA & fitness center as well as an outdoor swimming pool. The hotel comprises a lounge bar, a rooftop cafe along with a chocolate confectionary and a delicatessen shop. Hotel Indonesia Kempinski Jakarta also offers 3 restaurants from international buffet and traditional German food to Japanese premium restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Indonesia Kempinski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing