We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
Nearby Hotels
$129
$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$97
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$85
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$214
$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$139
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kosenda Hotel(Jakarta)
$55
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,191)
Filter reviews
1,191 results
Traveler rating
784
290
67
30
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
784
290
67
30
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssignature restaurantgrand deluxe roomsignatures restaurantautomatic toiletbig bathtubbubur ayamthe executive loungeshopping malldirect accesscar free daybreakfast buffetrain showergreat facilitiesvisit jakartacentral jakartabusiness tripnon smoking room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
742 - 747 of 1,191 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I have spent four days in this hotel and I have found it flawless. Everything is new and very well kept. Moreover the staff is very friendly, always smiling and greeting you. On the top floor there is a Spa (unfortunately I couldn't try it), a very well equipped panoramic gym, sauna and steam bath and a nice pool. The breakfast is great, with a huge choice of many different kind of food.
The hotel is connected to a very big mall, with lots of shops and restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r0bert0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiHotelJKT, Manager at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your comment. It’s nice of you to point out our scenic 17th floor where you could unwind after a long day in the city or a morning of pre-business working out. We are particularly proud of our breakfast; there is no better way to start your day here in Jakarta. It was great to have you staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Located at the very center of the Jakarta city, with the greatest view the city could offer - Bundaran HI, nothing could actually top that!

Checking in was pretty fast - they gave the room exactly as what we requested - highest floor, twin bedding and they let us in even before 2pm. The room is a totally state-of-art room, perfect, luxurious, huge and pretty well decorated all around. Nice temperature even though having a huge windows. Well lit with the helps of mirrors around the wall. The room is much more enjoyable at night - with the night view of the traffic by the roundabout.

The bathroom is magnificent! You could soak into the over-sized (read: gigantic size) bathtub for hours without being bored since there are LCD TV in front of you - yes, a TV in a bathroom. The toilet is tremendous. Without needing any hands to do the dirty job, all you need, is press the tiny little buttons beside you. The rain-shower is amazing, the water pressure is what makes it perfect for having a great bath. There are 2 sinks, and a digital weight scale.

The breakfast buffet is scrumptious! Vast choice of food, mention it, and there it is! And pork is available here. The restaurant is huge and well decorated - making the gourmet experience even better. The staff is pretty helpful and friendly - smiles were seen everywhere.

When there are nothing else to do, there are Grand Indonesia Shopping Mall directly connected to the hotel for those who like shopping; big rooftop swimming pool and fitness center, yet a spa are also available for self-indulging experience.

All in all this hotel is our new favorite hotel. Excellent in every way!

Room Tip: Must choose high-floor grand deluxe room, Different bathroom (you will get the over-sized bathtub) and different view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel77x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiHotelJKT, Manager at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for a thoughtful review. We are delighted to learn that you appreciate our high standards of service and food, as well as our first-class amenities. As to being your new favorite place to stay, we are truly honored and look forward to seeing you again.
Warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed in Jakarta Kempinski after a super long-haul flight really had made my life easier. Friendly and helpful staff, super warm welcome and cozy room (bathroom is my kids favorite), plus room service with several Indonesian favorite dishes helped us went through jet lag.
The breakfast is a big feast! You could not even compare it to any other breakfast buffet in US or Europe. Where else can you get pastries, eggs, sausages, etc., together with sushi, dim sum, miso soup, etc., plus my favorite Indonesian dishes: bubur ayam, bakso, nasi goreng, etc., in one place, accompanied with overflowing fruits, desserts and juices? That was surely my favorite part!
Easy access to many central Jakarta's landmarks is definitely a plus. For me, who came home with a shopping list, I could easily ticked them since there are some big shopping centers nearby (you can even reach some of them by foot!).
The first impression was so good, I made another reservation about a month later with my husband. He's benefited mostly from the hotel location. He could do several important things when we're there, which I doubt would happen if we stay else where, due to bad bad traffic of Jakarta.
Our third stayed started a bit rough though. Maybe it's due to an Eid celebration that many (o so many people) choose to stay in this hotel. We had to wait before the room was ready, even though it was on the evening and we're so tired. The hotel management sent us chocolates, which was a nice gesture. The restaurant where we had breakfast became a hectic place. We could feel the difference due to lack of staff too.
All in all, it became our favorite place to stay while in Jakarta. I do hope to see more well-trained staff though. They are definitely the most important part of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room that is facing "bundaran HI" for the best view, and check for a package that usually come with more benefit
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvyinCaracas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiHotelJKT, Manager at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

We are always happy to know that our guests are happy. Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful experience.
We’re pleased that you took advantage of our central location and access to shopping centers. And of course, our famed signature dish: bubur ayam Hotel Indonesia did not fail to satiate your cravings for local delicacies.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and giving you even better service.

Warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

room was bright and clean, a little small though

swimming pool was rooftop but also a bit small

room air conditioning was really good

breakfast was outstanding

staff were very helpful and polite and certainly plenty of them around the hotel satnding-by if you ever need anything

worth every star of its 5 it claimed

Room Tip: 335 337 both room facing walls :( choose room other than this ask for room facing the bunderan hi
Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank JonoSubagio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiHotelJKT, Manager at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for your flattering remarks on our breakfast spread and outstanding staff. We surely thrive to please our guests and make sure each stay is well worth it!

Yours Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Looking from my window down on Welcome Monument. Jakarta passing by. The Grand Hyatt next door, the Mandarin Oriental on the other site of the square. I like the view, I am a fan. A fan of the Kempinski that is. Great hotels to choose from, so happy I did choose this place. The price was just a bit more attractive than it's competition. This Grande Deluxe room does not offer minimalist chic, but is a kind of glamorous. Huge room (64m2), huge bathroom with flatscreen and even nice views. Best toilet ever (15 plus programs to clean and dry your ...). High bed with soft deck mattress (upon request). A bit of designer fun. What a great way to start your holiday.

I met the GM of the Kempinski Siam in Bangkok six months ago. He promised a good stay in Jakarta. Upon arrival we were allowed to use the club facilities. Great service. I would not have expected this kind of personal attention. Club was professional, as you might expect from a hotel like this.

Room service was affordable (only the drinks are expensive) and dinner was not bad (had a very decent Nasi Goreng). The pool landscape was surprisingly relaxing because of it's rooftop location. The pool water was too cold to mention my only disappointment.

Location of course is great (whenever the subway will open, it will sure have a station down here). Also for shopping. The two main shopping malls are right at your doorstep. ATM's next door (also BNI at the 7-11 for your Maestro card). You need transportation? The hotel uses reliable Silverbird services. Sometimes you just want to have a good normal taxi (Bluebird). The Bluebird staff at the hotel entrance sometimes will tell you that only Silverbird is available. Pity and mostly not true: demand a Bluebird and you will be ok (or walk 50 meters around the corner where they line up).

Too much luxury? I don't think so. You kind of need an oasis in Jakarta. Enjoy the Kempinski.

Room Tip: The view is worth the extra fee.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeesE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiHotelJKT, Manager at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

We appreciate your kind feedback and to point out the many great things we offer to our guests and we are glad that you enjoyed a little bit of glamour during your Jakarta stay. Of course we will take good care of you anytime you wish to come back for more.

Yours Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews