We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Place, Good Food, Fun Setting”
Review of Lara Djonggrang

Lara Djonggrang
Ranked #84 of 8,000 Restaurants in Jakarta
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Indonesian friends suggested we meet at Lara Djonggrang. It was a good suggestion. The décor features a mixture of Chinese and Javanese carvings and other art work. The place was fairly full on a Saturday night, but not noisy. We ate inside; the seem to be other venues beyond the door of the main dining room. Our friends had made a reservation, which was probably a good idea. The food is Indonesian standards from around the country. It was all well done and well presented. We would go back, and we would encourage others to as well.
As for the name, as explained on the menu, Lara Djonggrang was an ancient princess who caused the 1,000 temples at Prambanan to be built. It is a longer story than that...
Like others, we had trouble finding a cab driver who knew where it was. It is fairly new. Our hotel doorman helped with directions. Once he knew where to go, the cab driver had no problem getting there. The restaurant helped us grab a cab back to the hotel. It was only a short wait until one cruised by (from an acceptable company...not all Jakarta cab companies are created equal). Cocktails are 2 for 1 before 7. Make a reservation for 6:30 if you are so inclined.
The tab for four people was around $85 for a very light drinking group. Yours might be higher if you drink more or sample a wider range of dishes. Go ahead...they were all good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank spunkymoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuguhotels, General Manager at Lara Djonggrang, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

thankyou for your time spent with us and the lovely comments. We are always delighted when people truly embrace the full story behind the restaurant and learn the wonderful story of Lara Djonggrang, as we do get great pleasure from sharing this mythical legend. The restaurant will actually celebrate nine years this year so usually the taxi drivers are familiar with the location,and the staff are always willing to oblige to arrange a taxi home for you. We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
There are newer reviews for Lara Djonggrang
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 311 of 674 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Lara Djonggrang. Is that unique name? Yeah because of that i wanna try that place and very curious. When i enter in...... WOWWWWW it's so traditional and it's nice if you take a picture. So i order the food and soooooooo yummy. I love it.. good place good food but unfortunately the price little bit expensive.

Thank IkaPrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuguhotels, General Manager at Lara Djonggrang, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Ika,
Thanking you kindly for the time spent at Lara Djonggrang and for the lovely comments. We take great pride in preserving Indonesia's culture. We consider our building not to be just a restaurant but a cultural journey where guests can dine in what can be described as a living museum. With all the foods served we use the very best quality of ingredients and cook and prepare them with the utmost most care to ensure their authenticity, freshness and high standard of dishes,this therefore is reflected in the prices but i am sure you will agree it is worth spending that little bit extra to get a higher standard.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I'm a regular patron of this dining venue. This restaurant successfully elevates the countryside Indonesian food into an Imperial Indonesian cuisine. A splendid place to entertain your friends or guests (especially the expatriate ones); vibrant yet elegant interior full with priceless antiques.

The staff: friendly; the service: excellent, the food: always good.

Don't miss to take a snapshot of the gigantic Lara Djonggrang statue, and find a story behind it: a brave Javanese Princess that gives the name to this establishment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lady_Java
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuguhotels, General Manager at Lara Djonggrang, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Your loyal patronage and lovely comments are what gives us the passion to continue doing what we love. We truly thank you for the continued visits and for taking the time to share your words here. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

From all the staff and management,our very best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We had a very hard time finding the place. None of the taxi drivers knew the name of the restaurant. In the end we told the driver to go to Hotel Marco Polo and found our way to the restaurant from there. (About 200m from Marco Polo)
The restaurant looks very authentic. The staff were very friendly and food was good.
For dessert, Es Kopyor is a must try if you are a coconut-lover.
I don't recommend the seasonal fruit platter. They give you eight kinds of fruit and only three of them were good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MyungEun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuguhotels, General Manager at Lara Djonggrang, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for spending the evening with us and for the kind comments which will be passed onto all departments. We hope you will in the future once again return to our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

After being advised that a visit to the restaurant would not disappoint I would have to agree, the decor was a delight and the food very good.
The availability of a good wine with a great meal in good atmosphere was a delight.
A complete experience with good service. I would definitely recommend a visit, take time to peruse the Menu as it is large and varied with a great range.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ann241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuguhotels, General Manager at Lara Djonggrang, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Ann,
it is such a delight to read your kind words. Wonderful to learn that you truly enjoyed the Lara Djonggrang dining experience. We sincerely hope that whenever you are in Jakarta that you will once again spend some time with us.

Sincerest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lara Djonggrang also viewed

 

Been to Lara Djonggrang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing