We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique decor and atmosphere, beautifully presented food, flavor a bit lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lara Djonggrang

Lara Djonggrang
Ranked #13 of 7,684 Restaurants in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique decor and atmosphere, beautifully presented food, flavor a bit lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Having lived in Indonesia for several months now, we thought we should try one of the best rated restaurants in Jakarta. Similar to other reviewers' reports, there are some fabulous aspects to this restaurant:

- decor: in line with other members of the Tugu Group, very unique and quite pretty
- food presentation: very nice. It can be difficult to make some Indonesian dishes look impressive given their nature (curries and gado gado and the like), but they do a wonderful job

One drawback to the atmosphere was the music. Classical European music just didn't fit. It was also quite loud in the room we were sitting in.

Food was indeed tasty, but as I am now finding to often be the case, did not quite match the intensity of flavor that you can quite easily find in many Warungs or simple restaurants around town, and of course was several times more expensive. The fish dishes were the best.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank btsincolor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    275
    72
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unique Indonesian Heritage”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

As well as history talk, this place is really have its own story. It's like really telling you stories about history.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kl-ite in Malaysia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Indonesia showcase restaurant - a little bit of Bali in Jakarta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Our Indonesian host gave us a treat here. Lovely Indonesian cuisine in a very asian feel restaurant. Entrance and courtyard reminds me of Bali although it had a more city-like feel. Descent service in an interesting ambient surrounding with haunting balinese music in the background when we were there. We even had a balinese dance partway through dinner which was very nice for an international group - good opportunity for photo for the guests with obliging staff / dancers.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

If you like to experience a unique athmosphere, then you need to visit this restaurant. Food is OK (please note I am using Indonesian standard) but the place is amazing !

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Devi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Authentic Indonesian food in interesting environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Hotel sent us here for authentic Indonesian food and we believe it was. Gotta like any place that engraves your name on a banana leaf (though maybe this is common in Indonesia?)...we had a tasting menu which was quite good though far to much food.

Obvious from neighboring tables that it is popular with tourists and locals alike (or locals hosting tourists). Not very large, so reservations probably a good idea. Would definitely go there again if ever in Jakarta.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sagafemina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lara Djonggrang also viewed

 

Been to Lara Djonggrang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing