We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Krakatau Island”

Ranked #228 of 1,809 things to do in Java
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A catastrophic explosion in 1883 had global repercussions and left only remnants of Krakatau (Krakatoa), which has shown seismic activity as recently as 1994.
Purwakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trip to Krakatau Island”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

the exotic island that represent white sand beach. Start from purwakarta with public transportation to kampung rambutan terminal and then went to Merak Harbor. Until Bakauheni harbor, we went to Kalianda.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank KrakatauIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    37
    8
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indonesia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Active Lava Dome on April 2012”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

April 2012, on Thurday 05,2012, I visited of Post monitoring of known activity of Anak Krakatau continues to increase. Monday last, the amount of seismicity

Tremor tremor every 3 hours more than 200 times, or about 1000 times

only occurs rising to 230 up to 300 times on every 3 hours, then on April 06,2012 I visiting the Anak Krakatoa and we see the anak krakatoa produce of Volcanic ash plume this continue until Mid day. and afternoon no much activity for Anak Krakatoa, just steaming and also have produce of Gases.

April 6,2012 Anak Krakatoa Produce of Vulcanic Ash Plume with more than 300 m

In The Night I try to Climb Anak krakatoa until to the Top, and to see the Active Lava Dome continuously growing, not Much time standing at the Top.. and we make camp site at Sertung Island. Long Night is no eruption.

Active Lava Dome start from Nov 2011, after very active during July to November 2011

Aris at Volcano

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank odesya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not enough to see”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

the most i enjoyed the beach there with warm water :) and snorkling after :)

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing volcano trip”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We traveled out to Anak Krakatoa from Jakarta over a recent weekend and had a fantastic time The tour was organized by Samsul, www.krakatau-ecotour.com, and he did a great job. His prices were more affordable than other guides we had contacted. We took the boat out, about 1.5-2 hours depending on the weather conditions, had a nice lunch on a beach followed by a jungle hike, went snorkeling, and then set up camp at a beach across from the volcano. We had beautiful sunset views and could see some of the activity at Krakatoa after dark. Next day we went to the volcano, climbed up to level 1, and then took the boat back to Jakarta. Everything was provided by Sam and his team, though I recommend you bring your own sleeping bag and pad. Day trip options are also available.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mwan1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic trip, courtesy of Apud from www.krakatauujungkulontours.com”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Back in 2010 me and five friends spent four days in and around Krakatau with Apud as out tour guide. We went to the Ujung Kulong national park and Krakatau volcano. The whole trip was beautifully arranged by Apud and his team, they took fantastic care of us and provided us with spectacular views and great food. Apud is the nicest guy, he even invited us in to his personal home for dinner. I cannot say enough nice things about this trip, just go!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank lgklotet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krakatau Volcano (Krakatoa) also viewed

Anyer, Banten Province
 

Been to Krakatau Volcano (Krakatoa)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing