We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dirty beach”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Pemuteran Bay

Pemuteran Bay
Ranked #252 of 712 things to do in Bali
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very dirty beach”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We decided to come to Pemuteran directly from Java to cut up the journey, and with excellent reviews on trip advisor, we thought it was a perfect place to stay for a few nights. When We arrived, we were completely shocked and disappointed to see how dirty the beach was. We have never seen a beach and water filled with so much rubbish and filth before in the world. When we asked a local woman why the beach was so disgusting, she told us it is only this way at the beginning of the rainy season, so hopefully this is the case and the beach does not always look this way. Overall, the place is nice, there are a lot of nice accommodations on quiet beaches with not too many people. The people here do seem lovely on the positive side. We had planned on staying two nights in the area, but after seeing the beach, we will only stay one night.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    12
    3
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Paradise found”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We are on our second stay in Pemuteran Bay and we just love the place. It is remote and unspoilt with just a handful of warungs, an interesting pearl farm to visit and the most beautiful reefs and fish to see if you take the trip out to Menjangan Island. Even the reefs off the beach are worth a snorkel but the island has exceptional sea life in calm, warm waters that even novice snorkellers can enjoy. Apart from that there is plenty of time to relax by the pool in the idyllic weather an be looked after by the friendly, helpful staff at your resort. No hawkers allowed. Highly recommended!!

Helpful?
1 Thank adventuregirl1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
136 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Quiet and undeveloped”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Not the prettiest of beaches, black sand and rather narrow but it is wonderfully peaceful and as clean as any other Bali beach. Seafront cottages and restaurants NOT blaring out music (with the exception of some traditional Balinese gamela), very reasonable prices and good quality in the roadside places away from the beach. If you want to escape the noise and hustle of the big resorts this place is great. Oh good snorkeling and diving opportunities too.

Helpful?
Thank Roux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
“nature and tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Pemuteran is very little tourism, nature is preserved, both on land and in the ocean. Tatoo on earth contact Putu passionate about the forest, he knows all the trees of the mangrove or rainforest, the importance of preserving nature as it is for the good of Bali. to contact the ocean experienced divers Pemuteran, they will make even the wonders of Finding Nemo, thanks to snorkeling and diving you are at the heart of a colorful, lively, rich and rather unlike the coast autentic where coral is rebuild. The beach is beautiful, the black sand to give a glamorous sunsets, breathtaking views of the mountains of Java and the benefit very few tourists. A Pemuteran restaurants are good quality but for the ultimate warung prefer, there is an especially right next to the great arch that crosses the main street, not look, but the meals are divine for a great price, c. Pemuteran between Labuan and there are hot water baths, Banjar's much cleaner and certainly more intimate. Gilimanuk a visit to the archaeological museum is interesting, as well as Cekik. Pulaki city touching Pemuteran is a beautiful temple of the ocean and is a sanctuary for monkeys rascals

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank sandra a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldives
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet, laid back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

If you're looking for the best beach in Bali, this is definitely NOT the place to go; the beach here is small and narrow-ish.
However, the town is very quiet, with great accommodation options for reasonable prices, and some good diving centers. There are some beachfront bungalows that look very inviting.
I would definitely recommend, if you wish to spend a few days "away from it all" (including beach hawkers), in a beautiful setting.
I'd choose Pemuteran over the apparently more popular Lovina beaches any day.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Agnes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pemuteran Bay also viewed

 

Been to Pemuteran Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing