We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“good food, beautiful garden” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Wayan

Cafe Wayan
Ranked #1,790 of 5,364 Restaurants in Bali
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Vienna
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good food, beautiful garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

situated in a lovley tropical garden cafe wayan serves plenty of good indonesian cuisine.a very nice place to relax after a long day of exploring ubuds attractions.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank viculi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    32
    4
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We come to ubud every year and look forward to going to cafe wayan. Good food good atmosphere..staff can not do enough for you.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank dougandsue92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We ate lunch here and we are pretty fussy but couldn't fault it. It's in a great location, the service was wonderful and the food was amazing, absolutely delicious. The premises are really nice, very clean and tidy. Table next to us had kids and they were well looked after.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodie786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Avoid this Place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This review is for Cafe Wayan in Candidasa, not any of the other Cafes Wayan in Bali.

We should have been wary with nobody inside, but the girls hustling outside seemed so nice we thought it worth a go.

From sitting down, things went from looking OK to very bad. A couple of meal choices weren't available, and they had no wine, even though it was on the drinks menu. A large beer was ordered, but no large beers.....finished. Two small beers were ordered, but they were a LOT more than a large beer at the 'Happy Hour' price advertised. They did agree to give us two smalls for the HH price of one large though.

Food was very ordinary, and one of the kids ordered a pizza. It looked the worst pizza I've ever seen, way overcooked, and tasted nothing like the Margeurita it purported to be.

Two more small beers were ordered, but they were out of beer. They offered the excuse that there were many tourists, but we were the only ones in the restaurant during the duration of our meal.

The same girls, so sweet outside, seemed surly once we were seated, and I suppose they had good reason to be disenchanted with their employer, but that's not my problem.

The bill was A$22.00, Rp 231,000, and that was way overpriced for what was presented.

I couldn't recommend this place to anybody, no matter how hard I tried to find something good to say, and I suspect that it will be out of business in the near future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
“Great cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Love the local food, good service and good price. Our favourite Ubud restaurant. The location is good, right in the middle of Monkey Forest Road, and the surroundings are beautiful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roleystoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Wayan also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Wayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing