We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cool, colourful and divinely delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel Mexicola

Motel Mexicola
Ranked #402 of 5,062 Restaurants in Bali
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Bar, Gluten Free Options
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Motel Mexicola supplies you with authentic mexican cuisine not unlike that cooked in restaurants, served on street corners and in homes in Mexico. Specialising in Mexican Tapas our menu is designed for you to share. Ask our staff to order for you so you can experience the menu the way it is meant to be ordered and take a journey with us through the different flavours of Mexico. Be warned though, if its tex-mex you are after this is not what we do. We do fresh, fun interactive food that will make you want to come back for more. We guarantee you will love it!!
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cool, colourful and divinely delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We popped in here with a huge group of about 30 people and the lovely staff were more than happy to accommodate. The food was incredible- as good as Mexico- with an array of offerings including huge prawns, ribs, delicious nachos and quesadillas and even tuna sashimi. But the real star at this vibrant gem of a place is the ambience. It's hard to describe here but check out the photos- quirky and colourful designs dotted in a fun and tasteful way from floor to ceiling throughout the huge space. Definitely drop in, and for about $20 including a beer, you'll walk away feeling completely satisfied. And a little bit more colourful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenmea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    988
    760
    302
    138
    129
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Went last night with my family for drinks and we were blown away by the decor and setting of the 1 million that the owners spent to build this! Incredible. The drinks were lovely but we had a dinner booking elsewhere so can't comment on the food, eventhough we looked at the menu and the pricing was pretty pricey for the small serves we saw go by.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ndeborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Mexican in Bali”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We went with another family. The food was fresh and delicious and the Margaritas were yum and the beer was cold. All prerequisites for a great dinner out. We ate a little earlier than normal as we had young children so it wasnt too busy, this also meant service was great and the food came quickly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Won't return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I came here with my colleagues. We booked like 2 weeks before our dinner. Really glad there was no issue about our reservation.
The food was quite a disappointment, the size are extremely small, even for the main dishes. If you have a big tummy like me, you'll need another restaurant to fill your tummy.

The service was below our expectation, it was very hard for us to call the waiter to get our order. I'm not sure was it because we're local people or not.

The price was quite pricey actually. Somehow the place is always fully packed, so i suggest that you reserve before come here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rizki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The tacos were tasty and authentic, but the rest of the menu was no different or unique. It's a great atmosphere and there are seats right on the busy street for people watching.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank hsathia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Motel Mexicola also viewed

 

Been to Motel Mexicola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing