We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Mas Carving Center
from $28.80
More Info
from $10.80
More Info
from $27.00
More Info
from $24.07
More Info
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveler rating
29
31
16
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
29
31
16
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wood carvings on display amazing woodwork beautiful pieces works of art craftsmen gallery shipping carver talented ubud craftwork mahogany woods crocodiles explanation souvenirs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 81 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2015

It can be daunting but it is worth the trip, bargain and look at the quality carefully. At times it looks like the carvings or wood work looks fine but look closer at each piece

Date of experience: June 2015
5  Thank Michellej7429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2015

The woodcarving skills of the workers are amazing.
The quantity and quality of the details in each piece is really amazing.
You are greeted by a guide / salesperson. He then explains process that each carving goes through, and because there are several workers outside the shop you actually see the progress.
The shop itself is huge. The sculptures are of varying sizes and materials.
There are no price tags. Everything is negotiable. And you should negotiate. The price is artificially raised at the beginning so that you can bargain. But the final price is often more than reasonable for the product you'll be buying.
We pondered for a few minutes about guying one really big carving and the salesperson informed us that they could actually deliver it to your home in such cases.

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank Signo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I visited the Mas Carving Center earlier this month. I had read the reviews of how pricey the wood pieces can be and they were. They had a huge selection of wood masks, statues, dolls, and artwork. I was thrilled! The prices were high, as expected, but we were able to negotiate a very good price for two larger wall carvings and a wooden doll. We ended up paying well less than half of the asking price. A worker will follow you around and offer to set aside pieces you are interested in. Then, you can sit on the sofas, look at your pieces, and start exchanging offers. They do a great job wrapping your pieces as well.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank Mspeppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2015

Mas is perhaps the woodcarving capital of Bali. It is definitely on the Tourist Trail; and, if traveling with a guide, you will be taken here. Perhaps they get a kickback if clients purchase items?

While my spouse and I alerted our guide to the fact that we are not shoppers, and would not be purchasing items during our private tour of Indonesia, we nevertheless ended up here. That's okay. We look, but never linger....These places usually provide a much needed toilet stop.

The woodcarvings we saw were remarkable and interesting to view, and the artistic skill of high quality. Generally, the items offered for sale in these shops are vastly inflated. If you shop around, you can find equal items at a better price. But, if you find something you can't live without, buy it. You may never see another just the same!

Mas is also known for its furniture. But do you really travel to purchase furniture??

Date of experience: October 2014
Thank CJW913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2015

This place has on display hundreds of high quality wood carvings, and this is where they take all the tourists (for a commission, of course). The place is definitely worth a visit, but I haven't noticed anyone buying anything because of the prices, which are just insane. I asked for the prices of a few items and they were in the range of $2000-5000. For comparison, I was able to acquire a piece of similar quality from another market in Ubud for about 10 times less money. Still it's worth the visit, and they usually have some wood carvers doing their work

Date of experience: November 2014
1  Thank NegaScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews