We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting lunch or dinner venue for kids.”

The Pirates Bay Bali
Ranked #762 of 5,692 Restaurants in Bali
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Unique back to nature Pirates style beach restaurant with Tree houses, a Pirate ship and lots of play places to explore for kids. Strategically located on the beach in the middle of Nusa Dua it is the place to hang out after an overdoses of concrete luxury.......
Busselton, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting lunch or dinner venue for kids.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We heard about this place from friends & thought we would make the trip for lunch.
We caught a metered taxi from Kuta across the 'sea bridge' we paid the rp10,000 toll. The kids ( & hubby) loved driving over the water & it was a very relaxing drive...worth asking for & paying the bridge toll. Taxi cost us under rp100,000 but didn't know where the place was. It's not really signposted but it's down past a bigger resort called The Bay, once we were on that street we began to see signs for it.
Had to walk a bit to find the entry from the beach side.

We had 3 boys aged 4,5 & 6 plus a 2yr old ( lugging the pusher was a pain). We were greeted at the gate & waved in. Several double story tree houses plus a ship & what looked like desert camps (either open air or canopy) dotted around. Paths were made from fabric with oil lamps on the side. I'm sure it looks spectacular at night with all the 'camp fires' and lit pathways. But watching the over excited kids clamber up the bamboo tree house made me glad we had come in day light.
The place was pretty empty so we had our pick of seats ( I imagine evenings might be a bit harder to get the 'best' tree house ;)

We picked the top level which seemed sturdy. We were given menus promptly & there were some maracas & drums for the kids to play with after we ordered. Low tables & cushions spread around for seating. The final steps were steepish ( I'm a little unnerved by heights). Our 5yr old was more interested in running around & was quite hyped up, so we relocated to the lower platform ( which was actually ALOT cooler than the top one). Drinks were delivered & the kids explored the ship & swung in the hammock chair til the meals arrived (again great in daylight, would not have let them run off in the dark)

Meals were priced as expected around hotel/resort pricing. Luke warm as expected seeing as they had a fair walk to make it to us. Good sized portions. Hubby's hot dog bun was stale & actually had mould on it ( another reason to be thankful for a daylight/lunch visit) but it was whisked away & replaced with a fresh one very quickly.

After lunch the kids had fun on the rope swings & tightropes ect. Toilets were clean & had paper. Great hand washing area. Which we needed because it was quite dusty & of course the kids did some digging.

We had some trouble finding a taxi home. The security guy got hold of a freelancer who wanted rp120,000 and wouldn't budge, to the point of driving away. So we took it as we were hot, dusty & tired ( he went on the mainland road which was longer). Found out later there is a big shopping centre near by? But we couldn't tell from the side we entered.

So a fun experience for the kids, kind of wish we had looked at a map to see where it was & what was near it....we could have maybe made it a longer trip & worth the taxi costs.
The website didn't say a great deal ( we weren't even sure if it was open for lunch) so we weren't expecting to much...but definitely no games or treasure hunts. Just an average meal in a novelty setting. That said the kids loved it & we would probably visit again just better prepared.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 909Jojo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    142
    65
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Amazing experience for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

The ambiance of the place is very awesome and creative. The place is built from bamboo and wood, and on the form of pirate ships and tree houses. This intrigued and excited our three-year-old baby, and what excited us more were the squirrels wandering around us, and the view of one of the best calm beaches and bays in Bali.

The waiters and waitresses are nice and friendly, but one problem is that with this big area and ship/ tree houses design, their shack lies just on the entrance of the restaurant, which makes them unavailable for longer times to check upon you.

The food quality is OK, despite the fact that they had two different menus, with different names for the food!! They also have a showering facility under your disposal after enjoying swimming.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Harfash4eveR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst place ever dont try it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

I arrived not welcoming at all. The man gave us the menu and he didnt welcome at all just kepy quiet and wait for us to order. There is also a 21% servic tax also why would we pay that if we didnt even get the service. Small portions. Dont even try going here. No advised at all very dissapointing

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank denikoswara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst Bali experience ever.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Read all the reviews here before going and thought this would be a fantastic day out with the kids.
Our driver took us (4 adults and 4 kids) and even he had never heard of this place, not a good sign, but thought maybe it was a well kept secret.. anyway..

Staff at the front desk told our driver we would need to pay 50000 rupiah per person to get in, unless we were staying for a meal. It was 11am and as we had planned on having lunch there we said that was ok. They then asked us to buy a drink before going in as a sign of good faith... hmmm ok... so we did.

The kids had a play in the treehouses and the pirate ship which looked great, and the tree swings etc.

No one spoke to us, no one served us.

We settled into a treehouse and had our drink. (In order to get a drink, I had to interrupt the man playing solitare on the computer as the girl was asleep)

Then we were attacked by wasps. Angry, aggressive wasps. And I mean aggressive. My friend was stung over 10 times on her face as one was stuck in her hair, another was stung above his eye and one on my arm and foot. As we ran, yelling from the treehouse, my friend obviously distressed and in a lot of pain, still no one to be found.

Finally managed to get some ice and convey the message that there was a wasp nest in the bamboo floor of the treehouse we were sitting in. They got some fly spray and then blocked the hole. (oh, he lent on the balustrade and it fell off... so if you do venture here, don't lean on anything)

Still no one approached us, at all, for anything.

Managed to order 2 meals by pointing, as no one seem to speak English.
Asked about the kids activities (as advertised on the website and the brochure) as my son was desperate to do a treasure hunt. Was told.. "I don't know, you pay over there"

Couldn't leave quick enough.

Dam lucky the kids weren't stung, got splinters from the rotten wood in the ship or fell through the balustrading.

The only good thing about it was the ship LOOKED good.

Never in all my times in Bali have we ever been so completely ignored.
Will never recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tink031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“WOW WOW WOW!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We all LOVED this place so much we went 4 times to eat & hang out :) The food was awesome, i cant say what was better out of the calamari, Nasi Goreng, Pirate Burger, Choc Banana Crepe with icecream, Satays!!! All were awesome!!! We were in Bali for nearly 3wks & i enjoyed eating here the most!! The kids loved the climbing the pirate ship, swinging on the tree swings, swimming in the ocean opposite then coming back for refreshments & showers!! The very big discovery shopping centre is next door, so we left half family there while others walked not even 5mins down path to the shopping centre. Great location & views from the top of these undercover huts, which were also very refreshing out of the sun or heat. The drinks were also fantastic, milkshakes, smoothies, juices, beers & iced coffee!! All good cant really find a fault other than mozzies or sandflies at early evening. Wish we had of gone at night to see the shows they perform. WILL DEFINETELY GO BACK NEXT VISIT DAY AND NIGHT :))

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pirates Bay Bali also viewed

Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to The Pirates Bay Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing