We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waroeng Baba - CLOSED

Waroeng Baba
Price range: $1 - $3
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Description: A small Waroeng (informal local restaurant) that sells home made healthy food and fresh Ala carte jakarta dishes. Good Food, Warm Service, and Honest price.
Sanur, Indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

So tasty. And very inexpensive. Hope to see more of this restaurants on Bali. Go for Mie ayam or soto betawi. One time go here always come back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank and1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    2
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“At last, local food for local people ( and us)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Ask any Balinese to name a good restaurant and they merely point you to what they think you want. "No, we would like to eat proper local food," we beg time and again, "what you eat, where do you go?"
"Cafe Bali at the Oberoi is very good." they reply.
FFS! Is it really so hard? Well evidently it is, or it was for us until we walked the tightrope that is Sunset Road. Just as we were about to bail and take a cab back to our villa we spotted Waroeng Baba. I'm so glad we did, this was what we had been looking for. A lovely little buffet, superb Laksa, real heat from fiery hot chillies and packed with locals. Okay, so its not just Balinese but it was all fresh and tasty, the staff are friendly and the fresh juices and Bintang cold. A bit off the beaten track and I don't recommend walking but a simple eatery well worth tracking down.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali & Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Masakan Peranakan - luar biasa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Fantastic Masakan Peranakan Betawi style. The Soto Betawi Ayam (or Seafood), Laksa, Nasi Goreng Dok-Dok along with the traditional style buffet are all superb. a must visit to try excellent and well-cooked Indonesian food. Priced very cheaply, but still with quality ingredients. The family that owe this are lovely people and genuinely very friendly & helpful. A real pleasure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious and cheap!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stumbled by this place by accident on my honeymoon, truly the best value for your money!! Food is delicious and authentic!! Ate with my wife with fresh juices for under 6USD!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shatara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Level Contributor
107 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Chinese /Indonesian Good Quality and cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

The food is really excellent and the won ton soup very very good the juice was freshly squeezed and the coffee was high quality balinese style coffee. The service was good and the staff seem also to be the owners so there is a real interest in making sure everything is right. The is a budget restaurant but the quality is as good as many 2 and 3 times more expensive. i would go out of my way a long way out of my way to go back there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tonycBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waroeng Baba also viewed

 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing