We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting but not for the faint hearted”
Review of Telaga Waja River

Telaga Waja River
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.00*
and up
Full-Day Telaga Waja River Rafting from Bali including Buffet Lunch
More Info
$45.00*
and up
White Water Rafting at Telaga Waja River
More Info
$63.53*
and up
Bali Telaga Waja Rafting Adventure with Buffet Lunch
Ranked #264 of 770 things to do in Bali
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Telaga waja river is the most challenging river in Bali. Telaga waja river rafting is located in Muncan village, Karangasem, which can be reach by any transportation
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had a great time on this attraction. Having rafted before in Nepal and also NZ this was quite different in as much as it was just full on the whole time -no time to relax and enjoy the scenery although the scenery was amazing with waterfalls along the way. My husband actually got thrown out of the raft twice. The first time quite uneventful but the second time could have been quite serious. However the staff were wonderful and after a few grazes he has recovered well. One needs to use their own discression at times as to when to just hang on and when to row. Our group ranged in age between 10 and 70 years.

Thank farm2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made G, Manager at Telaga Waja River, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2015

Dear Our Value Customer,

Thank you for the review, we really appreciate, this greatly helps us to maintain a standard of service that we have in the future so that our customers are satisfied with the services we have and we want to see you back in the future.

Regards,

Alam Amazing Adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Telaga Waja River
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 57 of 106 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had a fantastic rafting experience with Sobek on the Telaga Waja river. What an adventure! Our sons aged 9 & 7 absolutely loved it and the guides were very experienced and made sure the boys were safe. Our guide was a local and had 17 years experience, he knew every rock!! We were given excellent safety briefing before embarking on 14kms of rapids (takes about 2 hrs with short break and photo op half way) The water is very shallow and runs fast, mostly quite tame but with just enough thrills including a 4m drop towards end and plenty of drenching under waterfalls. My husband and I had rafted on Ayung River many years ago and Telaga Waja was a much more exciting and challenging trip. Scenery beautiful, loads of waterfalls, walk up steps at end not too bad. Clean showers and change rooms. Lovely lunch in beautiful surroundings overlooking rice fields. Water proof bag provided for valuables. Could not fault, very exciting and memorable day for our family!

Thank l0nd0ngypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made G, Manager at Telaga Waja River, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2015

Dear Value Customer,

Warmest Greeting From Alam Amazing Adventures
Thank you for the review, we really appreciate, this greatly helps us to maintain a standard of service that we have in the future so that our customers are satisfied with the services we have and we want to see you back in the future for your next trip.

Regards,


Alam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Just came back from Bmw rafting, wanted to check other reviews. I completely agree with familyfuninsun, there were too many boats and the instructors ("captain", as they call themselves) do not really care about safety. Boats are large and they get stuck in the rocks very often; we hit hard few others in front of us and others behind came along: paddles everywhere, boats on top of each other. I ended up in water after a bumpy spot, the boat dragged me for 50ms before I could get back on board. Thanks to a fellow tourist that pulled me in. The CAPTAIN did not move, he only yelled up up up! Other companies on the river were just the same. Balinese people think only about the money, safety and quality are optional. However, the river is good fun and the scenery amazing. Just hold on tight!

7  Thank kissmeketut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made G, Manager at Telaga Waja River, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2015

Dear Value Customer,

Warmest Greeting From Alam Amazing Adventures
Thank you for the review, we greatly appreciate, we are very sorry for what happened to you and frankly we never expected this to happen, you review this really helped us to improve our standards of service that our customers have in the future in order to provide better service and make our customers are satisfied with the services we provide and we still want to see you back in the future. Wait for your next trip with Alam

Regards,


Alam Amazing Adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We booked this tour through our hotel in Candi Dasa and it sounds like we would have got it cheaper elsewhere. We got it cheaper than the brochure so I thought we were doing well until I read some of the other reviews.
We are a family of 6 and the guide "Yus" was very careful to ensure our youngest had a safe and enjoyable trip. He is a very nice man and will make an excellent father as he is expecting his first child soon.
The river was perfect for our needs. Not extreme rapids by any means but enough to keep it exciting. The scenery was beautiful- lots of lush green plants, rice paddies and a beautiful valley.
The food at the lunch was great.
All in all a good day out for the whole family.

1  Thank cocky724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made G, Manager at Telaga Waja River, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2015

Dear Value Customer,

Warmest Greeting From Alam Amazing Adventures
Thank you for the review, we really appreciate, this greatly helps us to maintain a standard of service that we have in the future so that our customers are satisfied with the services we have and we want to see you back in the future for your next trip.

Regards,


Alam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We went in the early afternoon when it was less busy but also following a dry spell, so water levels were low (took us 2 hours!). We were told this was the most exciting river in Bali for WWR but it was my first time WWR, and even I found it easy and not at all scary (although I am sure it would be better following a rainfall, plus our guide and my husband are both very experienced). I would not hesitate bringing children along, as long as the raft wasn't crowded and he/she could be supervised closely by a guide. The steps at the end are a killer (the less fit will have to take frequent breaks that's all). They try and discourage you from bringing water along (saying there's no space etc) because there is a mid-way stop which includes a waterfall posing session plus vendors (their own relatives, family members) selling drinks at a still affordable premium of course. We declined to purchase any drinks, but gave our guide a decent tip at the end (IDR50k although I understand IDR10k would be enough).

1  Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made G, Manager at Telaga Waja River, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2015

Dear Value Customer,

Warmest Greeting From Alam Amazing Adventures
Thank you for the review, we really appreciate, this greatly helps us to maintain a standard of service that we have in the future so that our customers are satisfied with the services we have and we want to see you back in the future for your next trip.

Regards,


Alam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Telaga Waja River also viewed

 

Been to Telaga Waja River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing