We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reliable and Good Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thangka Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Thangka Hotel
Ranked #112 of 338 Hotels in Lhasa
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Reliable and Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

This is our second trip to Tibet and we wanted to stay close by to the Johkang Temple. The Thangka hotel exceeded our expectations in terms of value for the location and cleanness of the rooms. The American/Tibetan/Chinese style breakfast buffet was great in the morning before the start of the day. Although they only have wifi in the lobby, you are able to link your computer up to ethernet in the rooms themselves. Finally, we were very impressed with the friendliness of the staff who went out of their way to find us a humidifier for room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruolan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    34
    19
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
27
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

The Thangka is located just a block from Bharkor Square and the Jokhang Temple, the most revered of all destinations for Tibetan Buddhists. One of the best views of Lhasa is from the open roof of the temple, where one may see the famous Potala Palace some distance away, as well as the multitude of pilgrims circumambulating and pronating themselves below. The Thangka's rooms are quiet good sized doubles, with large shower/toilet room (hot water) and electronic safes for valuables. Wi-fi connections were free and reliable in the lobby where there were sofas. Breakfast was served buffett style with on the spot eggs preparation, hot and cold cereal, tea, coffee, milk and hot water.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAR1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
145 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hi, stayed 3 nts in Lhasa.
Thangka Hotel is a good choice:
central, hot water, nice shower, our room was quiet (3rd floor, window was not not to the inner courtyard!), free wifi (but only in lobby!) , brkfst acceptabel, safe in room, safe area,
western toilets

Lhasa is a wonderful city!!!
cheers

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Schlampi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stay for three nights at this extremely center hotel. The location is the best as the hotel is in the quiet size of the road but the famous street market was just 30 meter from the hotel. The Barkhor Square and Jokhang Temple is just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel's lobby is not attractive at all, small and dark. This hotel has only one lift and every floor they have different restaurants which make this hotel is not that safe as outside guests can dine in. The rooms is not quiet because there is no sound isolation and you can hear everything from outside. The air conditioner is worse as it is not working at all, and during summer time, I have to open the window during night time. The bathroom is a semi open system with no door. The floor is slippery and be careful especially while you are during the bathfoam. Room's size is adequate but unattractive, it is a bit dark. Free Wifi in the room and the signal is up and down. Breakfast is the worst, most of the time it is empty and the food seems to be not very fresh. Never have drinking water in the water dispenser during my four day stays and the staffs even don't care about that. Not recommend for family with children as the room window is quite low and kids will jump out if they open it.

Room Tip: Choose the room facing the mountain and you will have nice view but more noisy. Room at 4th floor ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HARTONO T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here as part of a package to visit Lhasa and tour Tibet. Hotel is right in the middle of the old town close to the Jokang Temple. Great way to feel the atmosphere of the place. There is a large street /tourist market right at the front of the Hotel if that is what you like. A good selection of other restaurants nearby for food. Hotel is old but is in OK condition. Make sure you ask for a room with air conditioning as some do not have it. The room was good for what you need. A place to sleep rest occasionally and have a shower. The Tibet people tell you not to shower for the first 2 days to avoid altitude sickness. We did that and it seemed to work? Room was clean, the beds were OKand the toilet and shower were clean with toiletries provided, but there was no door to the shower/toilet. Just a glass screen and shower curtain. Breakfast was fine with a sufficient choice of Chinese and Western food. Clean, good 3 star hotel by western standards. Internet worked fine. Went to the roof top 5th floor for evening drinks one night, watch your head on the door! No one else there. Simple table and chairs but the great view of temples and surrounding areas

Room Tip: 1.Make sure you get a room with air conditioning 2.Visit the roof top area for a quiet evening drin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colmanMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at Thangka hotel as part of a Travelsphere holiday. We asked for a change of room after one night as there was an all night disco on nearby (not in the hotel). There was no problem with this - another guest on the same holiday also asked to change rooms. The hotel was a bit tired. Reception and the dining rooms could have done with a freshen up. Our room was totally adequate - the beds were firm but we prefer this. Unfortunately we did not sleep particularly well as we suffered to an extent with alititude sickness. The shower room was good although the shower door was slightly off so we had a wet floor.
The meals were ok - breakfast probably the better of the meals we had in the hotel. We stayed for 4 nights. The hotel was well placed for the Joqhang temple and markets.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

One of the worst hotels I have ever visited thanks to. Vjv
Dirty ripped carpets very poor food
Scruffy
Disgrace

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
0.1 mi away
Jokhang Temple Cool Yak Hotel
0.3 mi away
Tashitakge Hotel
Tashitakge Hotel
#5 of 338 in Lhasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
InterContinental Lhasa Paradise
0.3 mi away
House Of Shambhala
House Of Shambhala
#3 of 338 in Lhasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
3.3 mi away
Jardin Secret Hotel
Jardin Secret Hotel
#13 of 338 in Lhasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thangka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thangka Hotel

Property: Thangka Hotel
Address: No. 38 Yutuo Road, Lhasa 510000, China
Location: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 338 Hotels in Lhasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thangka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Also Known As:
Thangka Hotel Lhasa, Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing